Aukang 6th Gear March 7, 2015 Share March 7, 2015 (edited) Read in today's papers C&C advert for Kia Sorento...indicated that 2.2 diesel available... they brought it in finally? But price not stated...if i m free later...will pop by the Kia showroom to look see look see and maybe test drive... Edited March 7, 2015 by Aukang ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bc75 1st Gear March 7, 2015 Share March 7, 2015 Saw the advert too today on the 2.2 diesel. Wondering what is the pricing and availability. Anyone visiting showroom this weekend do update here. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aukang 6th Gear March 7, 2015 Share March 7, 2015 (edited) I went for a test drive. Much better ride than the previous model which was already very good. Diesel by indent only... 10k more than the premium petrol model. A few months lead time for car to come in. This is an SUV with lots of bells and whistles so I guess it's value for money. If budget is a tad lower, Outlander would be a good compromise. SE who brought me for the test drive was not pushy. He was quite knowledgeable too. He also indicated that while price was not negotiable, there is room to discuss freebies. Edited March 7, 2015 by Aukang Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayoflight 5th Gear March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 Just weird that others are pricing diesel at a discount to petrol but Kia is doing otherwise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Docomospur 3rd Gear March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 There was some discussion earlier in this thread about the petrol variant using an older "clear stock" engine. Maybe that's why the diesel, if it's a more updated engine, ends up being more expensive (coupled with the fact that they're considering it an indent model). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 (edited) Read in today's papers C&C advert for Kia Sorento...indicated that 2.2 diesel available... they brought it in finally? But price not stated...if i m free later...will pop by the Kia showroom to look see look see and maybe test drive...Yes, for this car the Turbo diesel is the one to get....I am expecting it to be $10k more than the SX model base on the previous model pricing. Edited March 8, 2015 by Tohto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aukang 6th Gear March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 There was some discussion earlier in this thread about the petrol variant using an older "clear stock" engine. Maybe that's why the diesel, if it's a more updated engine, ends up being more expensive (coupled with the fact that they're considering it an indent model). The new engine is GDI. The clear stock one is MPI engine. Diesel costs more cos they are 4WD whereas the petrol versions are 2WD only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Docomospur 3rd Gear March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 The new engine is GDI. The clear stock one is MPI engine. Diesel costs more cos they are 4WD whereas the petrol versions are 2WD only. Thanks, didn't realise the petrol version was only 2WD. That would definitely result in a cost differential. Come to think of it, VW price the Sharan diesel higher than the Sharan petrol, so it's not necessarily the case that others price diesel below petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic March 8, 2015 Share March 8, 2015 Thanks, didn't realise the petrol version was only 2WD. That would definitely result in a cost differential. Come to think of it, VW price the Sharan diesel higher than the Sharan petrol, so it's not necessarily the case that others price diesel below petrol. The sorento diesel comes with AWD and a higher OMV and PARF. Also, dun forget the 2.2L CRDi pumps out over 430Nm of torque compared to the 240Nm for the petrol GDi. For a big SUV, torque grunt is king. If u dun believe, try driving the 2.4L petrol Outlander.....sibei constipated. Generally, turbo diesels cost more than petrol variants even in Europe. Because of the 'CEVS rebate' price distortion, small capacity turbodiesels "appears" cheaper than petrol versions in S'pore. But I say "appears" because PARF is also reduced and AD makan the rest. For >2.0L turbodiesels, they fall under the CEVS neutral band so there's no price distortion and that's why the diesel Sharan & Sorento cost more (which is rightfully so). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Banz86 5th Gear March 9, 2015 Share March 9, 2015 I didn't see the advert but I went down to the showroom on Sunday with my plus 1 to show her the Sorento. She was greatly impressed. But after factoring trade in for my current ride and all the promotion, still need to top up quite a fair bit.. But from my previous discussions on diesel engines, finally they are bringing that in.. Full size SUV definitely needs diesel for the torque.. 2.2 Diesel the torque sure shiok.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Echelon 3rd Gear March 11, 2015 Share March 11, 2015 I have been reading this thread with an evil eye, the new Sorento has a great update to it. Design wise i guess that is in the eye of the holder. The internal upgrades, improvements has really put the Kia SUV a notch up again and again. The previous generation is already an awesome beefy ride, the new model adds softer touches. Engine wise, I am driving the 2.2L CRDi version the turbo and torque was the only reason why I went for it. Underpowered engines is a crime, because to move this hefty beast you need torque, since in Singapore you cannot really speed here but you need to huff and puff. Now, engine wise there is supposed to be a turbo-petrol variant that is available in Korea, hope they bring it in so that it can compensate from torque part for the petrol variants. The CRDi engines are award winning and very powerful, I am not afraid of parts since it has similar engines to the CRDi taxis on the roads. :) KIa threw in a ton of features that other cars would not have at that price. I am happy with my ride, its already 67,000km after around 20 months. So it is worth it, plus for a SUV that can take me to KL+small surrounding towns and back to Singapore over a 3 day period on a single full tank is amazing! (most SUVs cant really do that) Anyways to any potential buyers out there, the KIA Sorento is probably one of the better SUVs out there. Happy Hunting! 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastsapphire 1st Gear March 13, 2015 Share March 13, 2015 How many km per litre did u get driving in sg? I have been reading this thread with an evil eye, the new Sorento has a great update to it. Design wise i guess that is in the eye of the holder. The internal upgrades, improvements has really put the Kia SUV a notch up again and again. The previous generation is already an awesome beefy ride, the new model adds softer touches. Engine wise, I am driving the 2.2L CRDi version the turbo and torque was the only reason why I went for it. Underpowered engines is a crime, because to move this hefty beast you need torque, since in Singapore you cannot really speed here but you need to huff and puff. Now, engine wise there is supposed to be a turbo-petrol variant that is available in Korea, hope they bring it in so that it can compensate from torque part for the petrol variants. The CRDi engines are award winning and very powerful, I am not afraid of parts since it has similar engines to the CRDi taxis on the roads. :) KIa threw in a ton of features that other cars would not have at that price. I am happy with my ride, its already 67,000km after around 20 months. So it is worth it, plus for a SUV that can take me to KL+small surrounding towns and back to Singapore over a 3 day period on a single full tank is amazing! (most SUVs cant really do that) Anyways to any potential buyers out there, the KIA Sorento is probably one of the better SUVs out there. Happy Hunting! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Echelon 3rd Gear March 14, 2015 Share March 14, 2015 i usually get around 8.6 - 9 as per the instruments. But the trip to KL it went down to 8.4. There is a sweet spot when you cruise on 6th gear at around 82km/h I can't recall exactly. There is this optimum drive. Anyways I used a lot of the cruise control, very enjoyable drive. In the past 1 week, I have seen more Kia Sorento 2014 version on the road that I ever did previously. Such a handsome ride...I would think out loud! :) Love the car, power is there and today, I just found out that I can stream music from my android smartphone via bluetooth to the car! WooHoo - I can play Spotify now! Its nice to get such surprises once in awhile! Yes! Smartphone = HTC One M8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MQX87511 5th Gear March 14, 2015 Share March 14, 2015 Car debuts later in Paris. Korean automaker KIA has updated its mid-size SUV model, the Sorento. The nameplate is a stalwat among leasing customers because of versatile seatings and a high-riding stance. Engines lined up for the new car are expected to include two gasoline lumps, a 2.4-liter 4-cylinder and a 3.3 V6. China launched 2015 Sorento also, 2.0 NA 162PS/240Nm and 2.0T 240PS/350Nm , w/o 2.4L version, much better than Singapore one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
enjoycar Clutched March 15, 2015 Share March 15, 2015 Can anyone advise what is the petrol consumption for the new 2.4 litre gdi sorento in km per litre, pls? What kind of freebies can one get from c&c upon ordering? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hondafanodyseey 2nd Gear March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 i usually get around 8.6 - 9 as per the instruments. But the trip to KL it went down to 8.4. There is a sweet spot when you cruise on 6th gear at around 82km/h I can't recall exactly. There is this optimum drive. Anyways I used a lot of the cruise control, very enjoyable drive. In the past 1 week, I have seen more Kia Sorento 2014 version on the road that I ever did previously. Such a handsome ride...I would think out loud! :) Love the car, power is there and today, I just found out that I can stream music from my android smartphone via bluetooth to the car! WooHoo - I can play Spotify now! Its nice to get such surprises once in awhile! Yes! Smartphone = HTC One M8 Yo bro. Mine is a 2014 version. Sibei solid stable suv. 9+ km/ l consumption Specs wise very good. No regrets 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebird Clutched March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 Yes, for this car the Turbo diesel is the one to get.... I am expecting it to be $10k more than the SX model base on the previous model pricing. Hi Even if diesel one is $10k more, the diesel price is about 30% cheaper than petrol price. So if your monthly petrol cost is $400, you can "recoup" about $120 each month. In one year that's $1440! Are there additional costs for owning a diesel car besides the $10k upfront payment? Are there any issues with driving a diesel car compared to petrol? Some people tell me the taxis have the smell inside cos they use diesel. Hope that is not the case for the Sorento! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic March 16, 2015 Share March 16, 2015 Hi Even if diesel one is $10k more, the diesel price is about 30% cheaper than petrol price. So if your monthly petrol cost is $400, you can "recoup" about $120 each month. In one year that's $1440! Are there additional costs for owning a diesel car besides the $10k upfront payment? Are there any issues with driving a diesel car compared to petrol? Some people tell me the taxis have the smell inside cos they use diesel. Hope that is not the case for the Sorento! Don't forget with the special diesel tax, total road tax will be almost double of petrol. Taxi because driver carry all type (smell) of passenger, and maybe they did not keep it clean enough. I drove those rental diesel car in Germany, the huge torque is always good for our city traffic. I am actually looking at a diesel replacement car when my car reach 10yrs next year. But currently it that there is still not a lot of choice. Only PSA group bring in full range of diesel car. Now C & C had stop bringing in the diesel Sportage.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...