Boy hurt by fallen glass door at Westgate mall

Darthrevan

I'm not very sure what the insurance entails but correct me if Im wrong, it should cover all the medical expenditures and/or damages to the property. But the parents can still sue this building management for many other things like future medical expenses and blah blah blah( which I dun intend to put in here)

This boils down to the failure in their risk assessment framework... lol if Im the parent of the monkey, i will first go to BCA for a chat [:p] . Can win one lah.. whether u want or dun wan... muahahaha. Any lawyer can advice..

U see the video, a FOUR year old kid ABUSE the door or not... Common sense prevail.. [:p]

well i really hope you can advice the parents of the boy to do so though, dun just talk here :D

Just like driving. Even if the pedestrian never look and cross the road to kenna bang, fault still lies with the driver.

yes but pedestrian die liao. who the bigger loser?

Just wondering out loud, if parents sue and the building management proves their doors meet or even exceed current safety requirements, what will the ruling be like?

Edited by Mockngbrd

Same with the kid loh. He is very lucky only minor injury.

The problem with the door is that if it cannot be hyper extended then there must be a stopper somewhere to prevent that. This in itself is a design flaw.

Just wondering out loud, if parents sue and the building management proves their doors meet or even exceed current safety requirements, what will the ruling be like?

Depending how much they are asking. It is all about the quantum.

$5,000. pay without prejudice.

$5,000,000. Talk roti-prata and banana

Edited by Bavarian

Its West Wall ?....... [sly]

I think I know why, maybe it has to do with the tightening of FW...

..a secured glass door is nicely fit into a frame and the chances of the door dislodging is almost zero..

unless the length of glass(shorter length) door does not fully sit inside the frame.

Very common in all the shopping mall. I have seen a little boy playing at the escalator at Tampines mall sometime ago. His monther was there, but never stop him. As I am about to take the escalator to the next level, he was blocking my way. So I told him not to play with the escalator, and when his mother heard it, she stare at me. [hur]

bottomline for me, it is the boy and parents fault. nothing to do with the door. Its like bring a toyota vios to the track and then having an accident and then wanting to claim insurance and sue toyota.

Toughened or tempered glass is a type of safety glass processed by controlled thermal or chemical treatments to increase its strength compared with normal glass. Tempering puts the outer surfaces into compression and the inner surfaces into tension. Such stresses cause the glass, when broken, to crumble into small granular chunks instead of splintering into jagged shards as plate glass (aka: annealed glass) create. The granular chunks are less likely to cause injury.

- - - - those that will not shatter : call what?

The problem with the door is that if it cannot be hyper extended then there must be a stopper somewhere to prevent that. This in itself is a design flaw.

Cannot praise you liao, but u read my mind bro.. GGMU

The problem is the boy but the root cause is the one taking care of him.

i say the root cause is the up-bringing. children should be taught to behave and not be a nuisance.

i know a friend whose first response when such an incident happens is to tick off his kid. [sly]

Cannot praise you liao, but u read my mind bro.. GGMU

If I'm the judge, I will have very stern words for the parents.

I will never allow my children to play with doors. Wooden or glass. No playing on escalators or lifts. Some things are just not meant to be toys.

Toughened or tempered glass is a type of safety glass processed by controlled thermal or chemical treatments to increase its strength compared with normal glass. Tempering puts the outer surfaces into compression and the inner surfaces into tension. Such stresses cause the glass, when broken, to crumble into small granular chunks instead of splintering into jagged shards as plate glass (aka: annealed glass) create. The granular chunks are less likely to cause injury.

Call shatter proof glass.

Laminated glass...

See here for a description of the differences between laminated glass and tempered glass

Also got heat treated glass which makes it stronger still

Heat Soak is a strengthening process that can be applied to both tempered and laminated glass. Under the heat-soak process,glass is heated, and then cooled under pressure – glass that is treated like this can be 5-15 times as strong as untreated glass.

The Glass Processing Line in our Changi factory is certified for the heatsoak process which means that Carlton Glass has a wider range of customisations we are able to offer and can deliver to a shorter timeline than most of our competitors.

Heat Soak glass is most commonly used where strength is a must – such applications can include areas such as shelving, large exterior display windows, glass flooring, glass conference table or glass stairways and balustrades.

..a secured glass door is nicely fit into a frame and the chances of the door dislodging is almost zero..

unless the length of glass(shorter length) door does not fully sit inside the frame.

For doors, most people will use laminated glass so that if broken, the glass is still inside the frame - tempered glass (that kind that breaks into small pieces) the glass will break and fall out, leaving a big big hole where the window used to be.

Bro, the keyword here is "abuse". When it is abused, how much protection is enough? Put paddings everywhere? Office here also got a lot of full glass panel walls also. If anybody is stupid enough to jump at the wall, lets see how much it will hold.

The question to be asked would be - is it reasonably foreseeable that something like this will happen?

Given the general state of parenting, and how stupid some people are, I think it's reasonably foreseeable that at some point some stupid moron will play with the door, push it too far, too hard or too something else - so the mall should take precautions.

Which they obviously have by fitting tempered and laminated glass. The door should NOT have fallen - but is that a fault of design or a fault of installation?

If I'm the judge, I will have very stern words for the parents.

I will never allow my children to play with doors. Wooden or glass. No playing on escalators or lifts. Some things are just not meant to be toys.

Same here, I have a four yr old son too, and i know they can misbehave, but something like dis, shouldn't be ignored. If that was me, he will be crying on the floor with five finger marks on his leg before he can even touch the door...

Edited by Getzsfv

I agree, but being a shopping mall and/or public area, should they have extra mechanism like pressured hinges alike..

Like i mentioned, parenting in this instance is equal to ZERO but the management should NOT be exempted from any liability for this incident. I say SUE the contractors... wahahaha

perhaps there was already extra pressured hinges in place?

maybe the parent see the little boy like glass door so much bring him there for him to play until spoil??

we can put so many extras in place for safety but it always take one innovative idiot to discredit all before that?