Fewer vehicles on Singapore roads

Darthrevan

You have to build 70,000 car park lots for these extra vehicle, build more road to contain the 70,000 more vehicle, and 70,000 more traffic jams happen

between 2007 to 2013 vehicle population grew by 100K+ (19%)

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/MVP01-1_MVP_by_type.pdf

Total Roads build increase by 130km only (5%)

http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/Road%20Length-km.pdf

Road taxes and others taxes generated from the car industry will easily pay for this.

Traffic Jams use ERP so more revenue for LTA

Satellite ERP will be implemented in the future so gantries cost not an issue.

Insufficient carparks is an on-going problem anyway especially in matured estates

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/cars-outnumber-parking-spots-hdb-estates-160000858.html

Total carparks by HDB = 580K

Total car population = 620K

http://www10.hdb.gov.sg/eBook/AR2013/keystatistics.html

And the distribution of carparks is not even i.e. places like queenstown, redhill etc have lower

Maybe also increase cost of parking? That will increase more revenue for URA/HDB.

Hmmm.....LTA requirement for residents = 1 car space per resident unit

(http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/Industry/files/VPCOP2011.pdf) See Appendix A

Total HDB dwelling units = 924,729

LTA pawned HDB?

haha.

Edited by Cwong2910

even hdb got car park ... office no car park

govt also impose new rule the max space allowed to be used for car park in "new" office building

all buy car can only park in hdb and cannot drive to work because no car park

if more car park need to be built in office ... season parking is extremely high because the land is made of gold

same old same old story of the low coe to raise car ownership

after that

a. more and more erp is built ... since GPS ERP is coming ... every km count

b. higher and higher erp ... speed drop to 60kmph ... raise raise raise

c. higher and higher parking ... 1st come 1st serve ... some even need to wait few months for season parking and ballot

d. drive to shopping mall ... jam jam jam at car park entry

milk milk milk ... nipple ngor cheh cheh

just like MRT ... open immigrant floodgate ... MRT cannot handle the transport capacity

open low coe floodgate ... the infrastructure cannot handle the capacity

both scenarios already proven

Not Due to de-registered of cars,

due to less Malaysia car enter after higher VEP

between 2016-2018 LTA will be happy, no need to headache to build new road, build new carpark, etc :D

So refer to total numbers of cars on sg road, regardless sg or foreign cars ar?!

Insufficient carparks is an on-going problem anyway especially in matured estates

https://sg.news.yahoo.com/cars-outnumber-parking-spots-hdb-estates-160000858.html

Total carparks by HDB = 580K

Total car population = 620K

http://www10.hdb.gov.sg/eBook/AR2013/keystatistics.html

And the distribution of carparks is not even i.e. places like queenstown, redhill etc have lower

Maybe also increase cost of parking? That will increase more revenue for URA/HDB.

Hmmm.....LTA requirement for residents = 1 car space per resident unit

(http://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/Industry/files/VPCOP2011.pdf) See Appendix A

Total HDB dwelling units = 924,729

LTA pawned HDB?

haha.

Is there any figures for parking lots in condos and apartments and landed properties? Think about 20% to 30% of the population lives in private estates and most of them have more than 1 car. So I do not think there is a shortage of HDB parking lots base on figures you provided. But there will be some who die die must park within 10m of their block, that would be asking too much..

Not Due to de-registered of cars,

due to less Malaysia car enter after higher VEP

between 2016-2018 LTA will be happy, no need to headache to build new road, build new carpark, etc :D

err, I m not a heavy road user, but feel MY vehicles not in great numbers?

But I do notice, lots of commercial vehicles around me when I m on the roads.

Their total numbers are not high but they spend more time on the roads.

and they way they command the lanes, slows down traffic.

My take is, if we are not parents, no way I will drive even with freak coe at ~15k as its other factors that also slow boil me.

Motorcycle is the way for me. Or private fix route bus to town & back, MRT.

On PT, I agree on the basis that w/o fam commit, can OTOT and space out......rejuvenate on board. Even if must wait 2 trains to board, no prob, its OTOT....even more time to space out.

even hdb got car park ... office no car park

govt also impose new rule the max space allowed to be used for car park in "new" office building

all buy car can only park in hdb and cannot drive to work because no car park

if more car park need to be built in office ... season parking is extremely high because the land is made of gold

same old same old story of the low coe to raise car ownership

after that

Mcst huat !!

a. more and more erp is built ... since GPS ERP is coming ... every km count

b. higher and higher erp ... speed drop to 60kmph ... raise raise raise

c. higher and higher parking ... 1st come 1st serve ... some even need to wait few months for season parking and ballot

d. drive to shopping mall ... jam jam jam at car park entry

lta huat and mcst increase the rate hiong hiong

milk milk milk ... nipple ngor cheh cheh

just like MRT ... open immigrant floodgate ... MRT cannot handle the transport capacity

open low coe floodgate ... the infrastructure cannot handle the capacity

This one I fully agree. Hence it was not a mistake in wrong forecasting...

both scenarios already proven

err, I m not a heavy road user, but feel MY vehicles not in great numbers?

But I do notice, lots of commercial vehicles around me when I m on the roads.

Their total numbers are not high but they spend more time on the roads.

and they way they command the lanes, slows down traffic.

Singapore is very strange city, it's allow commerical vehicles have the same road usage right as private carsin all the roads, other countries like China commerical vehicles enter city center need particular permit,

in Singapore most goods vehicle drivers everyday drive their vehicle back home, park at HDB carpark, and even if use their goods vehicle to school pick kids and weekend family outing, so many slow big rough goods vehicles fighting limited resource with private cars, how can not jam,

Singapore is very strange city, it's allow commerical vehicles have the same road usage right as private carsin all the roads, other countries like China commerical vehicles enter city center need particular permit,

in Singapore most goods vehicle drivers everyday drive their vehicle back home, park at HDB carpark, and even if use their goods vehicle to school pick kids and weekend family outing, so many slow big rough goods vehicles fighting limited resource with private cars, how can not jam,

I think they should be more stringent on preventing commercial vehicle to be abused by personal needs without increasing the cost of owning a commercial vehicle, many small companies' expense are largely coontributed by the cost of the vehicle.

My take is, if we are not parents, no way I will drive even with freak coe at ~15k as its other factors that also slow boil me.

Motorcycle is the way for me. Or private fix route bus to town & back, MRT.

On PT, I agree on the basis that w/o fam commit, can OTOT and space out......rejuvenate on board. Even if must wait 2 trains to board, no prob, its OTOT....even more time to space out.

Yup, if it was not for :

1. The kids, primarily

2. OC

3. My ageing parents

4. (Jamesc's fav) ILs

5. Fxxking hard time getting a taxi, with the herd in tow.

a few weeks back, the cat c plunge untul 30 something k

garmen thng kor

quickly squeeze cat c quota, then the cat c cheong until 50 something k

i bet if any other cat big drop, they straight away go the squeeze the quota one

so those who beo cheap coe, bery hard

yeah, they got that special backdoor built in to the bidding system.

if less than $x, send in the bots to bump up the numbers.

motorbike already proven. $1 until last second jump to $4000.

How can real world scenario make this happen ?

I really don't understand the need to float COE prices based on bidding... why need to have a moving goal-post manipulated by LTA, AD, and who have you...

I know the need to control car popu. but please set a fixed sum and review on a fixed schedule. why make life of peeps and the whole setup like a cruel joke?

car ownership is not only the most expensive but the most complex on the planet... not-out-to-make-money, my foot!

fixed sum? 2 person go to buy car ... who should get coe?

ballot? walao eh ... don't even suggest this please

or tell grand pa grand ma story why one need a car more than another?

I really don't understand the need to float COE prices based on bidding... why need to have a moving goal-post manipulated by LTA, AD, and who have you...

I know the need to control car popu. but please set a fixed sum and review on a fixed schedule. why make life of peeps and the whole setup like a cruel joke?

car ownership is not only the most expensive but the most complex on the planet... not-out-to-make-money, my foot!

fixed sum? 2 person go to buy car ... who should get coe?

ballot? walao eh ... don't even suggest this please

or tell grand pa grand ma story why one need a car more than another?

fixed amount... be it 60k or 120k

whoever can afford, just get at fixed price, reviewed at fixed schedule, bi-weekly, monthly or annually.

nothing to do with grandma story

probably..he already mentioned that some of the COEs might be kept for 2019-2022

Wrong timing. He trying to you all off the the scent.

Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew had said that he would prefer to keep some COEs for the next "dry spell" in 2019-2022 2015-2017. GE in between lah.

probably..he already mentioned that some of the COEs might be kept for 2019-2022

Wrong timing. He trying to throw you all off the the scent.

Transport Minister Lui Tuck Yew had said that he would prefer to keep some COEs for the next "dry spell" in 2019-2022 2015-2017. GE in between lah.

apart from express bus, i believe the way to go is an extensive mobile phone application that can match commutters with drivers

until now, i havent seen a very solid one

Actually - this one don't even need mobile phone app...

Imagine if it could build by word of mouth -

For example, many in Punggol word in Shenton area - say if two bus stops could be "pick up points" - driver turn in, pick up whoever there, turn out. Customary fare is $4. Can build very quickly. If driver gets 3 passengers, $12 for driving in when going anyway, and not tied to a schedule then shiok.

Passengers shiok as also not tied to a bus schedule and same as bus fare but still smooth ride.

All benefit.

But I bet govt wouldn't allow - they cannot tax.

Better still - if they could get a car pool lane on the highway - so traffic is faster

So it sounds like the clawback of the flood years is pretty much a done deal to even out supply. I don't like it, because I pay a higher price for COE, but I think it is better for the industry that way - the current flood and drought cycle can't be healthy for the industry.

I just wonder how many they will pull back - or if they won't bother to make everybody happy for the election.

It also sounds like the COE is going to be high for the foreseeable future - I don't like the sound of "backlog of orders" - there will be many many people bidding for the time being, which is going to push the price high for a while.

If they do have a clawback next year and 2016 - there will be a lot of people that have to give up driving - that will cause lots of unhappiness, and the COE will go sky high.

Remembering that COE is INELASTIC demand

A situation in which the demand for a product does not increase or decrease correspondingly with a fall or rise in its price. From the supplier's viewpoint, this is a highly desirable situation because price and total revenue are directly related; an increase in price increases total revenue despite a fall in the quantity demanded. An example of a product with inelastic demand is gasoline.

Read more: http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/inelastic-demand.html#ixzz39mdppuIL

post-148474-0-96096100-1407483401.jpg

Edited by ExigeTan

I will take B.

- I can squeeze from ARF....

- Insurance huat...

- Petrol Tax Huat.....

- Parking huat......

- ERP huat......

- Engine Levy huat.......

- more working class happy with me......

- Bank huat...

GDP Huat.....

u cheng hu lang ah? [sly]