Singapore should plan for population of 10m

Wind30

different time implement different policy

during the 70/80s, on hindsight i would support stop at 2 policy too.

no one has a "scientific formula" to prove that due to stop at 2 policy that make people don't want to make baby now

besides, time has change. during the 70/80s there is no internet, people are less well off, less educated, etc ... putting food on the table is what people worry when they wake up

now ... the world has changed to a lightning speed ... everything is chop chop lolipop, people travel around the world like every 1-2 months

there is so much to achieve ... so many ambitions ... making baby had become the least priority where we set our life target and ambition as the highest priority

i would certainly don't blame the stop at 2 policy. there could be some effect but such effect is so small until negligible compare to what the world had changed tremendously that change people mindset and priorities

those who are late 20s and mid 30s now did not experience the stop at 2 policy. so, what do they know about stop at 2 and why they are not making baby?

Sorry, seems like garment already forgotten about their stop at 2 policy back in the 70s/80s. As a result our population is declining now due to the successfully stop at 2 policy. And yet garment is now "blaming" that people now dont give birth and that's why they need to open their gate to influx of foreigners here.

Now you see ATs at the swimming pools standing talking blocking the way, and stadium you know they are increasing..........

I live near geylang also find it difficult to find a true blue local there....titi hear lots of different kinds of slangs and languages.

On Today papers wrote, the target is at 2.1% growth rate. or was that birth rate.

anyway, the importance is not this. Govt mentioned that our SC population are growing old with sufficient young adults to replace the working sector. judging by the age of young adults should be at 21yo to 29yo.

if anyone remember, at 1980s, govt implement a rule saying that each family should at most give birth to 2child. 3rd onwards there would be a fine (or something similar). at that point of time they was saying that Singapore is too small and if every family was to give birth to 4child, Singapore would be over populated.

that was the policy at that time, and this is the consequences now. once you start a policy, it would be difficult to revert that policy. I'm sorry I'm in my late 20s, so I don't really know the details of the child birth curb back in 1980s.

Few of my sibling are born within that period of 2 is enough.... My parents have 5 children in total... I only know that each of my sibling born after 2, my parents were "or gong" (aka fine) for hundren to few hundren dollar (they have basically fined for having more than 2 children and fined for not having sterilization and no sudsidized rate)

.... and every children my parents bore after 2, were THREATENED by the ministry that no schooling priority, no subsidy on this and that, no this and no that...and those were the day...

and now they no choice to open legs big big...

After reading the report. i notice a few things.

1) the forigner coming had already 1/2from yearly 7.1% to current 3.5%. its a improvement.

2) We know our employment rate is high. but there are still so many Forigner coming in. This mean there are still slot that need to fill up. meaning that things will continue to grow this way as jobs are still alot, but employable singaporean is not increasing very fast

3) all it take is one crisis to hit the world and retrenchment start for singapore population to go back to 3mil plus. but what is the impact.

I find it amusing when people say that the stop at 2 policy is the thing that cuase the low BR........ that is the past. we talk about present. Youngster nowadays wants freedom, luxury and a kid sort of tie them down. This is the main reason. Add on the stress from work, where is there time to make babies.

everyone like to blame gahment. so its convenient to blame gahmen since they come out with this stop at 2 mah :D

After reading the report. i notice a few things.

1) the forigner coming had already 1/2from yearly 7.1% to current 3.5%. its a improvement.

2) We know our employment rate is high. but there are still so many Forigner coming in. This mean there are still slot that need to fill up. meaning that things will continue to grow this way as jobs are still alot, but employable singaporean is not increasing very fast

3) all it take is one crisis to hit the world and retrenchment start for singapore population to go back to 3mil plus. but what is the impact.

Do you know why half? Just look at the economy outlook now. In the previous months it's already slow moving, coming ones are still quite uncertain. Bringing in so many foreigners might not have enough jobs to go around. You say it's improvement, I dun see it that way. All it takes is for the economy to recover & improve and we will see the floodgates open again. It's not difficult to see. And for those for a moment thought that gahment is giving in, I say that's too early to say...like what I mentioned earlier.

thats another way to look at it.

Few of my sibling are born within that period of 2 is enough.... My parents have 5 children in total... I only know that each of my sibling born after 2, my parents were "or gong" (aka fine) for hundren to few hundren dollar (they have basically fined for having more than 2 children and fined for not having sterilization and no sudsidized rate)

.... and every children my parents bore after 2, were THREATENED by the ministry that no schooling priority, no subsidy on this and that, no this and no that...and those were the day...

and now they no choice to open legs big big...

yes, my little bro almost didn;t make it to this world but luckily my dad and mum decide to keep him despite all those s--t from the then govt......

now they want us to make more BBs... foolish and shortsighted morons.

yes, my little bro almost didn;t make it to this world but luckily my dad and mum decide to keep him despite all those s--t from the then govt......

now they want us to make more BBs... foolish and shortsighted morons.

If there is no stop at 2 policy, singapore would not have enuff resources to provide good education and other stuff that your silbing or the generation enjoyed.

think that the government is right then. When there is shortage of resource, def need to ration meh ?!

Cannot be 1 family hogged all the resource because they have 10 kids..

Now government got $$ liao.. you want to have 10 kids , they can also provide them with free pri/sec education. Somemore they can pay you. Give birth is easy, to educate and provide is not. Government also need to provide jobs when these babies mature.. not enough job may means more unrest.

Big picture ... big picture.. mai be short-sighted.

Edited by ShepherdPie

I don't want tapping on the brakes. I want coming to a complete stop. Then push lever to reverse & start reversing slowly.

maybe condons should be re classified as "Controlled Items" and we need a license to buy them.

To apply for the license, one must prove:-

either he or she is single

or if married, already have more than 2 children

yes, there will be loopholes, not to worry, the scholars will come up with the plugs :D

I don't want tapping on the brakes. I want coming to a complete stop. Then push lever to reverse & start reversing slowly.

same here

i'm ok if population does not decline, but i'm not ok if population keeps increasing

the current 5.3-4m is enough... more than enough

another thing is the quality of new citizens

i'm ok with Malaysians, Hong Kongers and Taiwanese, not PRC (especially the northern ones) and Pinoys (cannot understand the logic of importing pinoys... are they going to create a 5th major race here??)

If there is no stop at 2 policy, singapore would not have enuff resources to provide good education and other stuff that your silbing or the generation enjoyed.

think that the government is right then. When there is shortage of resource, def need to ration meh ?!

Cannot be 1 family hogged all the resource because they have 10 kids..

Now government got $$ liao.. you want to have 10 kids , they can also provide them with free pri/sec education. Somemore they can pay you. Give birth is easy, to educate and provide is not. Government also need to provide jobs when these babies mature.. not enough job may means more unrest.

Big picture ... big picture.. mai be short-sighted.

i beg to diff

the Stop at 2 policy was implemented in 70s/80s, when Singapore was rapidly developing

we are not talking about 50s or 60s when the country was at the crossroads... dealing with self-rule, independence, riots, chaos, lots of uncertainty and instability

during the early 80s, Singapore GDP was increasing by double digits

manufacturing and the Jurong industries were booming, and that time Singapore needed lots of blue collar workers

this policy was extremely short sighted to be honest

Maybe the stop at 2 policy doesnt really cause much to the current low population. But i think no matter what type of policy that the garment implemented sure have effect in longterm run.

so is 1.6% a year a good number? or we want our population to grow more slowly??

I personally think around 1.5% is not too bad.

1.6% has no meaning unless we know what is the real growth rate for true blue Singaporean.