Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 The headline sounds as if this is something to celebrate about. The fact remains that population still grow, and we are still marching towards the big goal of 6.9M, nothing has changed. So what is the big whoohaa about? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 i also step into work 10 years ago. but my pay still raising and in recent year increase is more than what i had in the first 5 years i work. I think you need to step out and look for new job if the pay really so bad. with your 12/3 experience you should be very marketable. You are right, sometimes a person needs to step out of their present job to look for new job, there are sure to have many jobs out there pay much better than the current one. I have ex-colleague who step out of their current company and the salary they are getting is at least $1K more than what they got previously. So in the first place if they continue to stay on, think their salary will never increase much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 i can't help to... i have gone from optimistic to pessimistic still remember 12/3 years ago, when i first step into the society after graduation, i was full of hope wasn't the type who aimed for 5C, but now... flat getting smaller and more expensive car? not sure can afford to buy after my current ride expires stagnant salary in job jialat lah... is this mid-life crisis? When u start looking for a job, it will look like doom day is coming. Wage suppression, competition with FT, job erosion to cheaper countries. U can't help but feel so hopeless. When u walk into condo showroom and car showroom, u will feel like ppl are spending like it is their last day on earth. Queuing up to throw cheques. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 When u start looking for a job, it will look like doom day is coming. Wage suppression, competition with FT, job erosion to cheaper countries. U can't help but feel so hopeless. When u walk into condo showroom and car showroom, u will feel like ppl are spending like it is their last day on earth. Queuing up to throw cheques. ha ha ha ..yeah.. very true.. when you have young children to feed and no safety net.. you cant help but feel helpless. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 i also step into work 10 years ago. but my pay still raising and in recent year increase is more than what i had in the first 5 years i work. I think you need to step out and look for new job if the pay really so bad. with your 12/3 experience you should be very marketable. That's bcos u are still at your prime age. Wait till u reach 40s and beyond, the situation will be different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 When u start looking for a job, it will look like doom day is coming. Wage suppression, competition with FT, job erosion to cheaper countries. U can't help but feel so hopeless. already feeling helpless now expectation also going down every year last time dreamt of driving a convertible if got struck rich now got a car to drive very happy liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 ha ha ha ..yeah.. very true.. when you have young children to feed and no safety net.. you cant help but feel helpless. When u have young children to feed, old parents to take care, million dollar debt on shoulder, car loan to pay, tuition, enrichment classes, maid. But only one or dual income. Your boss keep comparing u with younger, more dynamic, yet cheaper FT worker. Give u pathetic pay rise, risk of getting retrenched, risk of job erosion to China or cheaper nations. This is life of Sg men. Agree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 already feeling helpless now expectation also going down every year last time dreamt of driving a convertible if got struck rich now got a car to drive very happy liao As u grow older, your dream of striking rich is only one place. That is your weekly queue at Singapore Pool outlet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 When u have young children to feed, old parents to take care, million dollar debt on shoulder, car loan to pay, tuition, enrichment classes, maid. But only one or dual income. Your boss keep comparing u with younger, more dynamic, yet cheaper FT worker. Give u pathetic pay rise, risk of getting retrenched, risk of job erosion to China or cheaper nations. This is life of Sg men. Agree? agree especially the debt part i'm actually quite happy with myself that i have little debts which is mostly my HDB debt... even so it's not astronomical as I have bought my flat at almost its lowest point, in around 2003/4 that's the best financial decision i've made in my life some of my friends look good on the surface but have huge debts (incurred from second properties, flashy cars, gambling, etc)... quite jialat too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 (edited) As u grow older, your dream of striking rich is only one place. That is your weekly queue at Singapore Pool outlet. Lol, no wonder everytime i see so many people queuing at s'pore pool and everytime they spend at least $50 and above on TOTO/4D! Edited September 27, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 Bro.. you know how much is pre-natal consultance , 1 delivery ,1 confinement lady and setup cost for getting the house ready for a child? 6k where got enuff.. but like i say. it's all abt expectation.. if you dun think you need to give so good things for your children.. you can have alot more children. Children vaccination and medical bills..dun think that the 6k is alot.. U ask me where got enough?? I have 2 kids. 3rd one coming out soon. When I say its enough, obviously I know the calculation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 U ask me where got enough?? I have 2 kids. 3rd one coming out soon. When I say its enough, obviously I know the calculation. Wah 3rd one coming. Congrats! Nin xin ku le! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 That's bcos u are still at your prime age. Wait till u reach 40s and beyond, the situation will be different. I reply to scion Leh. He is about the same age as me that is why I tell him to step out. Read in context bro. He work 12/3 years. I work 10/1 years. 2 years different nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 Lol, no wonder everytime i see so many people queuing at s'pore pool and everytime they spend at least $50 and above on TOTO/4D! Every week, one millionaire is created. U just hope u will join the club one day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 When u have young children to feed, old parents to take care, million dollar debt on shoulder, car loan to pay, tuition, enrichment classes, maid. But only one or dual income. Your boss keep comparing u with younger, more dynamic, yet cheaper FT worker. Give u pathetic pay rise, risk of getting retrenched, risk of job erosion to China or cheaper nations. This is life of Sg men. Agree? you realli sum up the plight of the sandwiched class. imo, for the sandwiched class, the key is to work towards being debt-free as soon as possible...I know its easier said than done but it would at least remove some financial burdens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 Wah 3rd one coming. Congrats! Nin xin ku le! Thank you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Extremesour Clutched September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 U ask me where got enough?? I have 2 kids. 3rd one coming out soon. When I say its enough, obviously I know the calculation. You have 3rd kid coming out soon? Congrats! I have 3 kids already. But I say it's not enough. You see it really is depending on situation so what could be enough for you by your calculation may not be enough for others. My 3rd kid is not yet 2 and the money are already empty soon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xlentlow Clutched September 27, 2013 Share September 27, 2013 When u have young children to feed, old parents to take care, million dollar debt on shoulder, car loan to pay, tuition, enrichment classes, maid. But only one or dual income. Your boss keep comparing u with younger, more dynamic, yet cheaper FT worker. Give u pathetic pay rise, risk of getting retrenched, risk of job erosion to China or cheaper nations. This is life of Sg men. Agree? this is so true.. luckily I don't own a house and so I have lesser debt burden on me. I don't have credit card, I spend what we are able to with much consideration. I think mindset is very important. when one starts to think, he will eventually find his way out. I quit school young. not because I can't study, but I repulse studies. after some errors made, I eventually start to think of my future. I know if going back to school, get certs, it will be a further route to take. so I think and think, finally figured out that if i step into chef career, I will be better off that getting certs where almost everyone has. if I put enough effort and hardwork in. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...