Baal Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 6:15 AM, F355 said: I dont know how to drift ; plus I like doing b roads up north so a tail happy car is not my choice. Roc 2.0 for me . But if want to pick up chicks , I think 86 is a better choice. Roc too common on the roads . The flat torque from 2500 to 6500 rpm is very impressive for a NA 86 ; but I find it strange for it to dip between 3500 to 4500 rpm . This will affect my city driving as I like to change gears at this rpm. The torque curve can be found at 3:06 of this video. Could it be due to the pre-conditions set by regulators for emissions ratings? Understand that mid to large cc bikes have this issue (~5.5-6k rpm) as well since Euro 3 requirement. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 7:33 AM, Ryu said: Then get the GT86 lor. Also gotta be careful cos its mostly FWD in the Toyota family Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ryu 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 7:49 AM, F355 said: Also gotta be careful cos its mostly FWD in the Toyota family At least they have some experience with RWD cars lor, i.e. Supra, MR2, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 29, 2014 Author Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 7:57 AM, Ryu said: At least they have some experience with RWD cars lor, i.e. Supra, MR2, etc. Those were the golden years at Toyota! Till they turned beige n decided that what car buyers really wanted was shiny, plastic, fake wood vulgarity plastered all over....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivanpaseo 2nd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 my vote goes to FT86! NA, manual and RWD and bonus is japanese reliability. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 7:48 AM, Baal said: Could it be due to the pre-conditions set by regulators for emissions ratings? Understand that mid to large cc bikes have this issue (~5.5-6k rpm) as well since Euro 3 requirement. I dont see how by dipping the torque between 3500 to 4500 , only to have it rise again after 4500 , can give you better emission control figures. And I dont think it is a natural characteristic of a NA engine ; or even a turbo for that matter ; to have a flat/ dip / rise/ flat torgue curve. It has to be specifically tuned. Only reason I can think of is that the manufacturers does not want the car to fishtail below 4500 rpm ; as this rpm is frequently reached during city driving . Just my guess though. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 8:22 AM, F355 said: I dont see how by dipping the torque between 3500 to 4500 , only to have it rise again after 4500 , can give you better emission control figures. And I dont think it is a natural characteristic of a NA engine ; or even a turbo for that matter ; to have a flat/ dip / rise/ flat torgue curve. It has to be specifically tuned. Only reason I can think of is that the manufacturers does not want the car to fishtail below 4500 rpm ; as this rpm is frequently reached during city driving . Just my guess though. - unsure for cars, but for bikes, i think certain measurements are taken at certain rpm ranges. Hence, since the euro thingy, most larger bikes all have this "dip" in the mid range and then recover & kawabunga... - agree on point 2. - Possible. Or if taken positively, its to encourage better driver behavior. On the freeway....go ahead....in the city stay within 4k rpm ... Hence the dip is to tell u, 'ok...enough liao, pls back off pedal and drive less agressively'..... - btw, ever saw a bro post that Subaru regretted sharing their engine with Toyota. Heard anything? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 5:26 AM, Soya said: Juz curious, if you're looking for a used, affordable 2-door for some occasional flings and dirty weekends, which would u choose? base on your requirement, it got to be the BRZ or the 86 but for the price point, the Roc is better equipped. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holdenutessv Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Toyobaru Twins. Haven't driven it before but would definitely take it over the Roc. Oh, in Manual please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dfx16 6th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 (edited) On 7/29/2014 at 5:56 AM, F355 said: Dont tell your wife hor. Hahaha this video is epic My wife also turned off big time when I drove into subaru showroom to view this car quite some time ago But now she's all fine with whatever car I wanted to get because I had save hard enough to buy her a mpv to shut her out, lol Edited July 29, 2014 by Dfx16 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 If Road tax & insurance are not a problem,Nissan 370z is a good car,owned it for 5 years 3 months,love every moment behind its wheel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastfive1 5th Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 5:56 AM, F355 said: Dont tell your wife hor. If the wife doesn't like it, too bad for her lor! She doesn't like the car, she can f**k off and take the bus. Haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 5:56 AM, F355 said: Dont tell your wife hor. Every time I watch this ad, it brings a slight tear to my eye. Cos I know how the guys feel and how I am now restricted to only 150bhp. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 3:18 PM, StefanK said: Every time I watch this ad, it brings a slight tear to my eye. Cos I know how the guys feel and how I am now restricted to only 150bhp. 150 bhp not bad la ; most 2L NA engines around there. Heng she dont work for LTA , else restrict you to 130 bhp catA . Another option is get 150 bhp superbike lor . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 My vote goes to the 86/brz since I drive one... Don't wait. Subaru clearing brz stock at 130+k right now if still available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ezfaun 3rd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 Have read on the scion forums that the design of the intake manifold has a problem where the flow isn't optimal at a certain rpm range. (3-4.5k) Around 5200rpm, the engine switches from direct injection to port injection so that the fuel can atomize better going to the cc. But it's not to say that the injection process was at fault. During tuning, my 02 sensor showed a near stoichiometric a/f ratio of 14.5:1. Which means that the injection process was sufficient for the air intake. Showing that the air flow wasn't quite optimized at that range. and hence the dip in torque. But other than that, the car should be much more fun than the rocky but as a word of caution, the interior is functional to say the most. Some might be bothered and some might not. So maybe not fun for those kinds of people. But as for driver, quite shiok esp manual. The car feels very balanced even during hard cornering. But nonetheless, always invest in better rubber no matter what car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamomatt 2nd Gear July 29, 2014 Share July 29, 2014 (edited) On 7/29/2014 at 10:32 PM, Ezfaun said: Have read on the scion forums that the design of the intake manifold has a problem where the flow isn't optimal at a certain rpm range. (3-4.5k) Around 5200rpm, the engine switches from direct injection to port injection so that the fuel can atomize better going to the cc. But it's not to say that the injection process was at fault. During tuning, my 02 sensor showed a near stoichiometric a/f ratio of 14.5:1. Which means that the injection process was sufficient for the air intake. Showing that the air flow wasn't quite optimized at that range. and hence the dip in torque. But other than that, the car should be much more fun than the rocky but as a word of caution, the interior is functional to say the most. Some might be bothered and some might not. So maybe not fun for those kinds of people. But as for driver, quite shiok esp manual. The car feels very balanced even during hard cornering. But nonetheless, always invest in better rubber no matter what car. Better rubber is a must. Even for drift or gymkhana events I'm running better rubbers than stock... For track no need to say. Torque does become an issue on street when you need to suddenly pull from below 4k... But when you go track or even spirited driving... 1st gear will go pass that in no time and you will always be above the dip thereafter. Who tuned yours? We have a small group on WhatsApp for 86/brz where we do the usual poisoning, group buys, track events etc if you are interested to join in... Unless I already know you? Edited July 29, 2014 by Jamomatt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged July 30, 2014 Share July 30, 2014 On 7/29/2014 at 3:39 PM, F355 said: 150 bhp not bad la ; most 2L NA engines around there. Heng she dont work for LTA , else restrict you to 130 bhp catA . Another option is get 150 bhp superbike lor . If she work for LTA, she would have kantong my license already! I tak balance on bicycle already not to mention bikes. Cannot pass the balance on the plank lesson. Gave up liao. Still got a 230bhp SUV, but let her drive. Been trying to convince her for a few years on the beauty of the BRZ but to no avail. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...