MAS Crashes in Ukraine - MH17

Porker

It's on the great circle route lah. Shortest distance

When it comes to lives and safety of passangers,

MAS should not try to save money.

Nowadays travel very hard, need to see the country dangerous or not and also on the way got pass dangerous neighborhood or not and that is on top of terrorist, hijacks n influenza, mers.

That is right.

The sky is so big, why they must fly

directly above the conflict zone?

They should have never even go near it.

Don't even need the civil aviation to declare it

a no fly zone. Got war in that country,

don't even go near there.

It was noted that just the day before, a russian military aircraft supposedly intruded into the airspace and shot down ukrainian military aircraft. So I guess everybody was quite jumpy already.

Airlines will always fly the most optimal, shortest route to get from origin to destination, if not limited by availability of suitable diversion airports and high terrain.

Notice that the route also passes over afghanistan. I remember in the opening days of the war in iraq and afghanistan, airline flights from singapore - europe were re-routed to fly a longer southern route through saudi arabia airspace... have to carry more fuel and sacrifice some payload.

Well.... some ppls wants cheap tickets. So in order to save fuel cost to cover the cheap tickets, fly a shorter routes lor ... :ph34r:

Did you miss the bit where an SIA plane was minutes behind and an Air India plane on a reciprocal heading was using the same route?

Airliners fly routes in the sky just like cars drive routes on expressways. If a car has an accident on a particular bit of expressway, do you stop using it because its "dangerous"?

Russian Jet Shoots Down Ukrainian Warplane Over Ukraine - Kiev Military
World | Reuters | Updated: July 17, 2014 15:57 IST
Kiev: A Russian jet shot down a Ukrainian SU-25 fighter plane that was on military operations over the east of Ukraine, where government forces are fighting to quell a pro-Russian separatist rebellion, a military spokesman said on Thursday.
The plane was brought down on Wednesday night by a rocket strike and the pilot safely ejected,Andriy Lysenko, a spokesman for Ukraine's national Defence and Security Council, told journalists.
© Thomson Reuters 2014

given the tension in their airspace, the aviation authority should stop all plane from flying across those area [sweatdrop]

If we see 2 neighbours throwing stones at each other

and we go and walk directly between then and got

hit by a stone, is there any point finding

out who threw the stone and trying to blame them?

Should have walked far far away from them.

And do we really need someone to tell us

cannot walk near there?

We cannot think for ourselves?

Edited by Jamesc

Yeah sorry James that was for Tigerwoods but I typed on mobile device. Agree fully with you [laugh]

these people are crazy :blink::blink:

In the final phone call, a rebel checks in with his commander:
Militant: Regarding the plane shot down in the area of Snizhne-Torez. It's a civilian one. Fell down near Grabove. There are lots of corpses of women and children. The Cossacks are out there looking at all this.
They say on TV it's AN-26 transport plane, but they say it's written Malaysia Airlines on the plane. What was it doing on Ukraine's territory?
Nikolay Kozitsin: That means they were carrying spies. They shouldn't be f***ing flying. There is a war going on.
It must be noted that the video has not been verified by other media.

Nowadays travel very hard, need to see the country dangerous or not and also on the way got pass dangerous neighborhood or not and that is on top of terrorist, hijacks n influenza, mers.

If its your time to go, its your time to go.

We can stay at home and the roof falls in on us.

why were the children on this flight?

Was having dinner with my Dutch friend on Wed night. Holland summer holiday just started , He flew back last night n going holiday with family.

Now its easy to say which route to take and all that BS. The fact of the matter is, it was deemed not to be a no fly zone and thats the "normal" route many airlines took. Usually, after event review is much more easier than real time process. Just saying...

See any similarities? May not be separatists after all.

Ukraine has a history of denial for shooting plane down.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/europe/ukraine/1359353/Ukraine-admits-it-shot-down-Russian-airliner.html

Russian Flag Colors

Flag_of_Russia.png

Malaysian Airlines Colors

7fcFd0X.jpg

The plane is flying at 30000ft, that's almost 10km vertical distance. Unless you're a fighter jockey, no way you can see the colour of the plane