Dfx16 6th Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 LATEST: Msian says Singapore's reason for the toll hike was unjustified..... JOHOR BARU: Malaysian government officials will meet with their Singaporean counterparts to clarify the reason behind the toll charge implementation at the Bangunan Sultan Iskandar Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) Complex. Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong said it was agreed in a recent Cabinet meeting that the Transport and Foreign Ministries would meet with Singaporean officials as soon as possible to convince the island republic to reconsider its decision to increase the toll by five-fold at its checkpoint from Oct 1. He said the meeting was to clear the air over the matter as Singapore's reason for the toll hike at its checkpoint, to match Malaysia's toll charge at the CIQ, was unjustified. "We have to meet them personally to rectify their perception that Malaysia introduced a new charge at the CIQ to pay the concessionaire and to upgrade the Eastern Dispersal Link (EDL) and it should not be an excuse for them (Singapore) to increase their toll charge," he said here Friday. Dr Wee, who is also MCA deputy president, was speaking to reporters after a meeting with the Johor Baru Tiong-Hua Association and Chinese community leaders for a dialogue session. Very funny leh, they can do it but when S'pore merely only follow suit they say S'pore should not made it an excuse Then they made it free loh, S'pore government also say liao, if they made it free S'pore will also follow suit ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Actually the have a problem with thinking straight... They collect toll for EDL, but ask themselves over and over again where are the toll are collected and did those that pay the toll actually uses the EDL? If not, SG side can also say collect toll for BKE, which we have been paying so much to maintain. Now wud b a good time fr SG officials to push for MY to reduce or remove even the tolls at the cway/2nd link. Then we see how they respond? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 no head no tail because no link to topic?? Ya I tried read but dun ustand whats the story???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 (edited) msia minister shoot (talk first) without substance one la i guess their argument probably that they build EDL and spore side build nothing so cannot raise toll Very funny leh, they can do it but when S'pore merely only follow suit they say S'pore should not made it an excuse Then they made it free loh, S'pore government also say liao, if they made it free S'pore will also follow suit Edited September 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 msia minister shoot (talk first) without substance one la i guess their argument probably that they build EDL and spore side build nothing so cannot raise toll Singapore got build Garden by the Bay and a very expensive MCE, now building NS expressway, so must raise toll soon. No logic. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fastnfaster 3rd Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Singapore got build Garden by the Bay and a very expensive MCE, now building NS expressway, so must raise toll soon. No logic. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alantan1978 1st Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Actually the have a problem with thinking straight... They collect toll for EDL, but ask themselves over and over again where are the toll are collected and did those that pay the toll actually uses the EDL? If not, SG side can also say collect toll for BKE, which we have been paying so much to maintain. Well said and fully agreed! Hope the dumb MY govt makes the correct change to move the toll to EDL since it is only right to charged those who use the road for the toll. After the change, the MY and SG toll at causeway should be lowered. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maskedrider 4th Gear September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Just pay and move on? This is not a 1 time charge! It's every trip, you will get it. Sure, you maybe don't have relatives or friends that you need to go up north and you can boycott. But there are lots of people out there need to travel daily/periodically for survival, for earning a living. Make sure you don't complain, when prices of vegetables or food increase here. There are many food are transported to us from up north, even shoes, plants the list goes on. really dislike yr comments :angry: yes, I don't have any relatives in Malaysia (JB) but I do own just one property (house) there and often go back to stay and I do have friends/ colleague over at JB too which, often have meals together so do have I the right to complaint and comment? so even prices of vegetables or food had increase in SG or MY, meaning I have to complaint and don't eat? what can I do even the government has to increase on both custom, please tell me what you going to do? just a personal comment for myself and you sooooo work out.... I do like to see what you are going to react for this coming increase since you don't like my comment please remember to share Eveei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged September 20, 2014 Share September 20, 2014 Well said and fully agreed! Hope the dumb MY govt makes the correct change to move the toll to EDL since it is only right to charged those who use the road for the toll. After the change, the MY and SG toll at causeway should be lowered. There is a toll plaza at the end of EDL, Kempas if I am not mistaken. But if they charge the toll there, knowing Stingyporean, everybody will exit to JB and jam up the JB street. Also, they want to avoid charging their own people who need to travel from Kempas to JB using EDL But somehow forgot Singapore has this standing policy to match the toll charges. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 21, 2014 Share September 21, 2014 (edited) anyway, msia minister had made a nice move come here to talk ... if can reduce/revoke toll raise ... they win if cannot ... then i'm sure their newspaper big big headline that spore being insensitive and ungracious to raise toll fees ... people come to work in spore contributing to spore economy are suffering bla bla bla it's like playing chess spore side said it's matching policy because msia raise toll push the blame to msia side now msia side try to push the blame back Edited September 21, 2014 by Wt_know 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
frenchfly 5th Gear September 21, 2014 Share September 21, 2014 (edited) It is call wayang. even If they know the end result Is the same. need to action action abit so that can be accountable for during elections. If cannot change the situation then at least they can tell MY voters they try their best. Edited September 21, 2014 by frenchfly 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear September 21, 2014 Share September 21, 2014 anyway, msia minister had made a nice move come here to talk ... if can reduce/revoke toll raise ... they win if cannot ... then i'm sure their newspaper big big headline that spore being insensitive and ungracious to raise toll fees ... people come to work in spore contributing to spore economy are suffering bla bla bla it's like playing chess spore side said it's matching policy because msia raise toll push the blame to msia side now msia side try to push the blame back They also farker, sg side sent them official letter asking is it official that they increasing roll, what are the toll for, don't want to reply at all, when sg side increase, they say unjustified... Arse.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged September 21, 2014 Share September 21, 2014 There is a toll plaza at the end of EDL, Kempas if I am not mistaken. But if they charge the toll there, knowing Stingyporean, everybody will exit to JB and jam up the JB street. Also, they want to avoid charging their own people who need to travel from Kempas to JB using EDL But somehow forgot Singapore has this standing policy to match the toll charges. Is the toll at Kempas part of EDL? I tot the EDL ends at the Pandan junction, and beyond that is already the start of the NSH. anyway, msia minister had made a nice move come here to talk ... if can reduce/revoke toll raise ... they win if cannot ... then i'm sure their newspaper big big headline that spore being insensitive and ungracious to raise toll fees ... people come to work in spore contributing to spore economy are suffering bla bla bla it's like playing chess spore side said it's matching policy because msia raise toll push the blame to msia side now msia side try to push the blame back Exactly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 yes, I don't have any relatives in Malaysia (JB) but I do own just one property (house) there and often go back to stay and I do have friends/ colleague over at JB too which, often have meals together so do have I the right to complaint and comment? so even prices of vegetables or food had increase in SG or MY, meaning I have to complaint and don't eat? what can I do even the government has to increase on both custom, please tell me what you going to do? just a personal comment for myself and you sooooo work out.... I do like to see what you are going to react for this coming increase since you don't like my comment please remember to share Eveei Bro, when you come in.........please jio me for a MU 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic September 22, 2014 Share September 22, 2014 (edited) Another reason why I will not go in jb liao... Cigarette price increase yet again!!! http://news.asiaone.com/news/malaysia/cigarette-maker-raise-prices-malaysia Bro Nicole Ronleo, KNN....Your cheeky nick damn blardee long man I have a little breaking good news for you , I'd just came back from my KTV drinking session at the time stated above posted, KTV mummy told me a good news for 23rd.Sept 2014. Tomorrow, by now is today............"Mr.Najib, revised Cigarette Price back to RM.12 per packet" Tun Razak Najib welcome you back to JB for Beers Happy Hour's and Smoking our Singapore greed gahment for never once revise price down When are you coming and calling me to cheering boleh land beers .............HAR Edited September 22, 2014 by Fongmy 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleo 6th Gear September 23, 2014 Share September 23, 2014 Bro Nicole Ronleo, KNN....Your cheeky nick damn blardee long man I have a little breaking good news for you , I'd just came back from my KTV drinking session at the time stated above posted, KTV mummy told me a good news for 23rd.Sept 2014. Tomorrow, by now is today............"Mr.Najib, revised Cigarette Price back to RM.12 per packet" Tun Razak Najib welcome you back to JB for Beers Happy Hour's and Smoking our Singapore greed gahment for never once revise price down When are you coming and calling me to cheering boleh land beers .............HAR Hahaha... Only u address me as Nicole Ronleo loh... The rest either call me Nicole, else Ronleo ;) Genting got KTV meh??? Or u already left GH liao? Tks for the info! Be assured tat I will call u if opportunity allows me... Read before somewhere tat your drinking hole is at zon regency hotel, tio bo??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic September 23, 2014 Share September 23, 2014 Hahaha... Only u address me as Nicole Ronleo loh... The rest either call me Nicole, else Ronleo ;) Genting got KTV meh??? Or u already left GH liao? Tks for the info! Be assured tat I will call u if opportunity allows me... Read before somewhere tat your drinking hole is at zon regency hotel, tio bo??? Much easier to remember you by Ron 95 because najib subsidised petrol is worth driving dinosaur car, I and wife left GHR after BF on Sunday 10am. arrived sinkapor 2:30pm. just in time for lunch at home. Returned JB for monday blue day in day out errands and drank with sg. friends at Impian Emas pub, next time when you want to come in for drinking, I'll buy 2 tower of beers for you at duty free zone, before forgetting to tell you the cigarettes is RM8.00 here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ticklish8 3rd Gear September 24, 2014 Author Share September 24, 2014 LATEST from the STAR JOHOR BARU- It has only been over a month since Malaysia introduced the new toll rates and businesses are starting to feel the pinch. Malaysian Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) association chairman Teh Kee Sin said there had been complaints from members that they had suffered a 20 per cent to 30 per cent drop in business, mainly in the logistics, advertising, entertainment, retail sectors and those involved in the hairstyling business. "The full extent of the situation will be known after Singapore also increases its toll rates beginning Oct 1," he said, adding that this would have a snowball effect on all businesses in Johor. He added that the SMEs were appealing to leaders in Singapore and Malaysia to sit down and resolve this issue. "The impact is already being felt. I used to charter private cars to and from Changi airport, which cost me RM200 ($78). Now the price has doubled," Teh told reporters at a press conference here yesterday. He added that the association was collecting signatures and would be sending a letter to the leaders, including Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Mohamed Khaled, to look into this issue. He added that besides SMEs, the toll hikes would also affect the middle income group and those working in Singapore. "We are against any barriers that will impede the movement of people and goods between both countries," Teh said, adding that the hikes would also hurt the country's business competitiveness as the increased prices would be passed on to consumers. Businessman K. Nakanathan, 54, who has eight outlets selling spices in hypermarkets and wet markets, has recorded a drop of at least 50 per cent in Singaporean customers. "My customers used to come at least four times a month. Now they come only once," he said. Tee Yen Chong, who is involved in the forwarding business, said that the cost of sending goods between the countries had increased by about 30 per cent. "Transport charges for lorries plying the Johor Baru and Singapore routes have increased from RM500 to about RM630. We expect it to go up by another RM50 when Singapore starts imposing new charges on Oct 1," he added. Singapore's Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced its new toll rates after Malaysia imposed its new toll rates at the Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) Complex in Bangunan Sultan Iskandar on Aug 1. The rates are RM9.70 and RM6.80 for inbound and outbound cars respectively. Singapore's new toll rate for cars will see an increase from S$1.20 to S$3.80 (RM3.03 to RM9.62). - See more at: http://business.asiaone.com/news/jb-smes-hit-new-toll-rates#sthash.Ka3tv5lE.dpuf JOHOR BARU- It has only been over a month since Malaysia introduced the new toll rates and businesses are starting to feel the pinch.Malaysian Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) association chairman Teh Kee Sin said there had been complaints from members that they had suffered a 20 per cent to 30 per cent drop in business, mainly in the logistics, advertising, entertainment, retail sectors and those involved in the hairstyling business."The full extent of the situation will be known after Singapore also increases its toll rates beginning Oct 1," he said, adding that this would have a snowball effect on all businesses in Johor. He added that the SMEs were appealing to leaders in Singapore and Malaysia to sit down and resolve this issue."The impact is already being felt. I used to charter private cars to and from Changi airport, which cost me RM200 ($78). Now the price has doubled," Teh told reporters at a press conference here yesterday.He added that the association was collecting signatures and would be sending a letter to the leaders, including Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak and Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Mohamed Khaled, to look into this issue.He added that besides SMEs, the toll hikes would also affect the middle income group and those working in Singapore."We are against any barriers that will impede the movement of people and goods between both countries," Teh said, adding that the hikes would also hurt the country's business competitiveness as the increased prices would be passed on to consumers.Businessman K. Nakanathan, 54, who has eight outlets selling spices in hypermarkets and wet markets, has recorded a drop of at least 50 per cent in Singaporean customers."My customers used to come at least four times a month. Now they come only once," he said.Tee Yen Chong, who is involved in the forwarding business, said that the cost of sending goods between the countries had increased by about 30 per cent."Transport charges for lorries plying the Johor Baru and Singapore routes have increased from RM500 to about RM630. We expect it to go up by another RM50 when Singapore starts imposing new charges on Oct 1," he added.Singapore's Land Transport Authority (LTA) announced its new toll rates after Malaysia imposed its new toll rates at the Customs, Immigration and Quarantine (CIQ) Complex in Bangunan Sultan Iskandar on Aug 1.The rates are RM9.70 and RM6.80 for inbound and outbound cars respectively. Singapore's new toll rate for cars will see an increase from S$1.20 to S$3.80 (RM3.03 to RM9.62). ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...