Najib Announce VEP for Spore cars!

Ticklish8

I used to drive weekly to JB for petrol, makan, carwash. Now no longer. Probably once a month now. $13 (in & out) of JB is certainly not worth the savings at all. Like I said many times, the main reason ppl go JB is because it's cheap. If it's not cheap, then not worth going.

Unless JB is Paris, London, Miami or Gold Coast, got chio bu, got branded designer stuff, got fancy restaurants, got nice hotels, got world class attractions, got nice beaches - then paying $13 is worth it, but it's NOT.

Those people suka suka drive in everyday for lunch will stop going in so often, for dinner and grocery shopping will still be feasible, the saving will offset the $13, the shiokness from cheap shopping is more than $13.

为社么你这么 CHEAP 的 ... 😂

More MY cars allowed on our roads will mean more congestion which could potentially translate into further cuts in COE quota if trend is allowed to continue (did anyone notice there are more MY vehicles on our roads in recent years prior to the imposition of the higher VEP?). To be fair, MY cars should pay same cost, COE, ERP, parking, etc, as SG drivers when driving on SG roads (a limited resource). ie. we are not asking MY drivers to pay more than locals, just pay same as locals. This will discourage more MY cars from clogging up our roads.

The occasional tourists/visitors are already taken care of by the 10 free VEP days and waivers granted for entries during off peak period. Correct me if I am wrong, but my COE is still depreciating as I sleep at night, no discount.

MY imposing VEP on SG car is however without justifications as it is openly discriminating against SG drivers, they have no COE, no ERP, nothing.... So it is an eye for an eye and purely to grab money from SG drivers.

R u smoking pot....

Sinkie charge 35 sing to get my cars in each time for vep.

But only my govt foolishly charge their own locals to drive into sinkie.

The dumbest part n most arsed is now sinkieland also increase again.

The poor malaysians r worse pawned.. screwed left right center.

And pls lar what right does sinkie cars enjoy no vep rates at all

R u smoking pot....

Sinkie charge 35 sing to get my cars in each time for vep.

But only my govt foolishly charge their own locals to drive into sinkie.

The dumbest part n most arsed is now sinkieland also increase again.

The poor malaysians r worse pawned.. screwed left right center.

And pls lar what right does sinkie cars enjoy no vep rates at all

It looks like you are smoking, ranting on and on....

I hope MY charges RM50 VEP on SG car soon, if they think it will benefit them, it is their country, their economy, their rule. We can choose to stop going to MY just like MY cars can choose not to come in during peak hours.

So what is the justification to charge VEP on SG cars only? An eye for an eye?

Edited by Voodooman

I hope MY charges RM50 VEP on SG car soon, if they think it will benefit them, it is their country, their economy, their rule. We can choose to stop going to MY just like MY cars can choose not to come in during peak hours.

If you look at the bigger picture, only time will tell that the daily goods on the supermarket shelves will increase accordingly. Who's going to stop the inflation?

I hope MY charges VEP on SG car soon, if they think it will benefit them, it is their country, their economy, their rule. We can choose to stop going to MY just like MY cars can choose not to come in during peak hours.

Justification ? its their country they do as they like. if anyone so decide that anyone who smokes does not enter his house, we have to respect that. No matter whether the man is gonna give him a million dollars if he can step into his house.

An eye for an eye? if there was no action from Sg, whats the likelihood of reaction from MY ?

SG did something stupid and doesnt work ( coe - high and depleting its people from more savings, causing business cost to increase ) and then try to cover up by increasing the Vep. thats so agonizing just by thinking about it.

As i said before, i shudders everything they try to come up with changes or new rules "for the better" and "for our future".

Justification ? its their country they do as they like. if anyone so decide that anyone who smokes does not enter his house, we have to respect that. No matter whether the man is gonna give him a million dollars if he can step into his house.

An eye for an eye? if there was no action from Sg, whats the likelihood of reaction from MY ?

SG did something stupid and doesnt work ( coe - high and depleting its people from more savings, causing business cost to increase ) and then try to cover up by increasing the Vep. thats so agonizing just by thinking about it.

As i said before, i shudders everything they try to come up with changes or new rules "for the better" and "for our future".

Do you know that most MY that drives in are not affected by the VEP? Do you know even if they are affected, they have multiple cars to avoid paying? And even best, they still can ride bike into sg for free?

I used to have ex colleagues driving their M5 and other flashy cars into sg daily. One car used up 10 days, drive another car in, all his 5 cars used up 50 days, drive his relatives cars in. Are they affected? Not very much, MY side decided to suck fron both side, you ask me affected or not? Yes very much, and they kill their own business as well.

I think what he meant is the PRICE of the COE does not affect the car population. It is the QUOTA or number of COEs released that is important.

If I have 100 COEs released

Everyone pays $1, the car population increases by 100 only

Everyone pays $ 1,000,000, the car population increases by 100 only

So what you pay does not matter. It is the quota that matters. The govt could have chosen to fix the price of the COE at $1 and used other means to disseminate the COEs but they chose the path that earns them the most money.

With COEs at such high prices, anyone from Malaysia can drive in with their car. Even if they pay the VEP of $35 a day, it is $3500 for every hundred days. For ease of calaulation, minusing the weekends and the public holidays, they will spend $7000 a year on VEPs or $70,000 for 10 years (which is close to our current COE) and that is assuming they consistently come in to Singapore during peak hours at a rate of 200 trips a year.

So the COE does not control the car population in Singapore also, just the number of people who can own cars and it is the quota that matters, not the money you pay. If you are willing to pay more, it still depends if there are more people willing to pay more than you. If you pay $1,000,000 for a COE and everyone is willing to pay $1,000,001, you still have no car.

Hope it clarifies.

There's no equitable means of distributing the coe that pleases everyone.

We're a capitalist economy. Fact of life: money talks. Even in socialist countries like China ñ Russia.

Edited by Glyuen

our government will have the last laugh.. more sporeans to stay in sg to spend.. better for sg economy..

msia government = bad guy

sg government = good guy with the winnings

Good isnt it? If someone dont appreciate our business, so be it.

our government will have the last laugh.. more sporeans to stay in sg to spend.. better for sg economy..

msia government = bad guy

sg government = good guy with the winnings

Our government have the last laugh but we are wallowing in pain... We are denied the most convenient place to de stress ourselves so what's there to laugh about???!!!

Denied? Just pay slighty more only, dont say till they trap you in SG leh, you can also take bus in if you like.

• Dislike 1

Do you know that most MY that drives in are not affected by the VEP? Do you know even if they are affected, they have multiple cars to avoid paying? And even best, they still can ride bike into sg for free?

I used to have ex colleagues driving their M5 and other flashy cars into sg daily. One car used up 10 days, drive another car in, all his 5 cars used up 50 days, drive his relatives cars in. Are they affected? Not very much, MY side decided to suck fron both side, you ask me affected or not? Yes very much, and they kill their own business as well.

honestly i dont know that. everytime i see a My car at the customs, 90 out of 100 are BnB cars. how many of them have 5 cars to rotate ?

if what you said is true, then you have proved that Sg has tried to cover COE scheme by the VEP which still failed. They are still coming in.

My point was for malaysians who drive in , in carpool, to Sg to work every single day. Contributing to our economy.

You sound like i am trying to defend My. I am really not.

If you dont poke the hornets' nest, will the hornets sting you? well maybe you will get stung regardless but the chances are far lesser.

I posted before somewhere: With two governments like we have, who needs enemies?

We were miserable enough, and now it feels we are numb already.

JOHOR BARU - The Johor state government wants Keretapi Tanah Melayu Bhd (KTMB) to increase its rail service across the Causeway to hourly trips, as an alternative for commuters burdened by new toll fares at the Singapore checkpoint.

State Domestic Trade, Consumerism and Tourism committee chairman Datuk Tee Siew Kiong said this would also give Malaysians driving into Singapore daily for work a chance to switch to public transport.

"This could also have a positive impact on the traffic congestion at the Causeway as there will be fewer cars on the road," he said in a press conference here on Saturday.

He was commenting on a statement released by Singapore's Land Transport Authority (LTA) that toll charges at the republic's side of the Causeway would be increased five-fold from Oct 1.

- See more at: http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/causeway-toll-hike-johor-wants-hourly-rail-service-singapore#sthash.dOStj7hY.dpuf

This is one possible good thing that comes out of the toll price war. Public transport is a more efficient means to move the masses.

Let me give an observation, especially for someone who frequently drive to JB. This is some of the effect of the toll.

1) More are car pooling. If you observe JB car now coming in to Singapore, usually there is more than 1 driver. More often than not, usually there is 4 per car.

2) More are switching to motorcyle. My motor kaki says the wait at the Causeway have now increase at least half an hour more because there is more motorcyclist.

3) More are taking public transport. Since public transport can't cope with the surge, you see more Malaysian WALKING at the Causeway expecially during peak hours.

4) School buses ferrying Msian and Spore kids to schools in Singapore have increase their monthly fare on average RM50 per month.

5) For Singaporean who frequently go to JB, they have reduce their trip substantially or totally stop going to JB. For those who still go there to top up petrol or shopping, you will see their boots filled to the brim..... To make it worthwhile

6) JB businesses as reported is affected.

7) With reduce workloads, ICA booth at most 3-5 are open... Usually during peak period or busy period, they open up more booth.

honestly i dont know that. everytime i see a My car at the customs, 90 out of 100 are BnB cars. how many of them have 5 cars to rotate ?

if what you said is true, then you have proved that Sg has tried to cover COE scheme by the VEP which still failed. They are still coming in.

My point was for malaysians who drive in , in carpool, to Sg to work every single day. Contributing to our economy.

You sound like i am trying to defend My. I am really not.

If you dont poke the hornets' nest, will the hornets sting you? well maybe you will get stung regardless but the chances are far lesser.

I posted before somewhere: With two governments like we have, who needs enemies?

We were miserable enough, and now it feels we are numb already.

You sound like you are badly affected by these increase, are you staying in JB and travel to Singapore to work everyday? :huh: