Super7 Turbocharged August 21, 2014 Share August 21, 2014 Yes, generally HK vehicle owners need a special licence plate to drive in China, and this is generally limited to Guangdong (the vehicle with have a second licence plate below the HK one, which is black with white numbers and bears the Chinese character 粵, referring to Guangdong). Generally one needs to have a registered company in China with a net worth or capital over a certain amount to be eligible for a cross-border plate. Recently the government introduced self-drive holidays for HKers to drive in South China, but there's apparently a quota and only a small number of people can go in each day. But the scheme has been far less popular than expected. In this case my friends and I are fortunate to be able to drive from Thai border into China to 山东 now over the past 20 days. The inter cities highways are as good, sometimes better than, NSHW. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 No leh, I am awake in the day driving in tiongkokk, night in hotels and use their WiFi to surf. You are in tiongkok now !! No wonder lah...... Then have a safe trip, a safe ride and lastly a safe play (too). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 You are in tiongkok now !! No wonder lah...... Then have a safe trip, a safe ride and lastly a safe play (too). Very safe, 别但心, don't worry, I only play Chinese chess in China, no injuries one!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Very safe, 别但心, don't worry, I only play Chinese chess in China, no injuries one!! Are there any penalty for losers of the chess game, in China? And what doeS the winner gets? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged August 22, 2014 Share August 22, 2014 Are there any penalty for losers of the chess game, in China? And what doeS the winner gets? 您认为呢? what do you think / hope the reward will be? Winner gets to play Chinese 纯种 original chests? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 您认为呢? what do you think / hope the reward will be? Winner gets to play Chinese 纯种 original chests? It also depends on who you play the chess with.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 It also depends on who you play the chess with.... Play chests online, with 3D effects? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged August 25, 2014 Share August 25, 2014 Play chests online, with 3D effects? Yes, but on the 'chest' which has a cup size and 2x "mountainous" shape, each with a "strawberry" on the peak !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged August 26, 2014 Share August 26, 2014 Yes, but on the 'chest' which has a cup size and 2x "mountainous" shape, each with a "strawberry" on the peak !! You are a senior lecturer in geography and agriculture?! Maybe it's time to start your online classes!!! Give students discounts if they offer their body as demo in selfie photos they send you! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 21, 2014 Share November 21, 2014 Self drive breaks, one of my favourite pastimes! It is a pity it is so hard to do it in PRC. It is such a vast country and some of the roads are really nice. I tried it in Taiwan. Rented a car from Taipei and went down the interior and east coasts. It is really beautiful up inside the mountain roads and with lots of twisty bend action. Tried it in Mongolia (not inner PRC part) too. Outside of Ulaan Batar, it is just open steppes and with a 4wd, you can do all your Top Gear style nonsense drifts and sand clouds. I have to go back again. Scandinavia, Europe, UK, US of course have great roads but since this topic is Asia.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic November 21, 2014 Author Share November 21, 2014 China traffic siao one, I am as passengers in a taxi already feel annoyed, I cant imagine if I am behind the wheel haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ake109 6th Gear November 21, 2014 Share November 21, 2014 China traffic siao one, I am as passengers in a taxi already feel annoyed, I cant imagine if I am behind the wheel haha I am thinking of the more deserted areas. In big cities, yes it is crazy. On many of the highways near the big towns, the roads are smooth and wide but you really cant go too fast because big trucks, bigger trucks and MPVs and LGVs are all over all 5-6 lanes. It can be so inefficient because everyone is switching lanes and not giving way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic November 21, 2014 Author Share November 21, 2014 I am thinking of the more deserted areas. In big cities, yes it is crazy. On many of the highways near the big towns, the roads are smooth and wide but you really cant go too fast because big trucks, bigger trucks and MPVs and LGVs are all over all 5-6 lanes. It can be so inefficient because everyone is switching lanes and not giving way. Yah their highway no rule one no need signal also when change lane, but good thing its smooth and wide. Scenery also beautiful. My recent trip from guangzhou to hk, the xpressway very smooth and wide Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 21, 2014 Share November 21, 2014 I've driven in Indonesia countryside (those mountainous road). The trip report can be found here Then i've driving in Taiwan twice, both in the countryside and city area. In fact, I just came back from the 2nd trip 2 weeks ago. Still writing up my trip report. And i've driven in Vietnam, though for a short 30 minute from a makan place in town to my hotel in the outskirts of town. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged November 21, 2014 Share November 21, 2014 I've driven in Indonesia countryside (those mountainous road). The trip report can be found here Then i've driving in Taiwan twice, both in the countryside and city area. In fact, I just came back from the 2nd trip 2 weeks ago. Still writing up my trip report. And i've driven in Vietnam, though for a short 30 minute from a makan place in town to my hotel in the outskirts of town. You need to switch from LHD to RHD and back... in different countries, do you ever have a problem to get confuse to keep left/right on the different roads ?? Also gear level on left n right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged November 21, 2014 Share November 21, 2014 You need to switch from LHD to RHD and back... in different countries, do you ever have a problem to get confuse to keep left/right on the different roads ?? Also gear level on left n right.... Not really leh.. Either side feels natural to me.. One key thing to NOT getting confused is always remember, your sitting position is always nearer to the centre divider.. Though i always reach the wrong side for seat belts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 23, 2014 Share November 23, 2014 In asia, othe than Malaysia, I only drove in phuket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 23, 2014 Share November 23, 2014 You need to switch from LHD to RHD and back... in different countries, do you ever have a problem to get confuse to keep left/right on the different roads ?? Also gear level on left n right.... In LHD countries, we must remember to keep right after you make a turn. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...