Drink and drive? No insurance cover!

Tripleh

If I see the other driver in accident with me looks drunk I WIL NOT call police. If they find him drunk, his Insurance Co wil not honour my claim against him. I wil b the big loser cos then I end up claim my own insurance or sue him direct. [sweatdrop]

But for this case very funny the guy PASSED the Breathalyser so in the eyes of the law he was NOT drunk n broke no law. How can the DA refuse to honour his cover?????

Having a couple of drinks is OK as long as u dun exceed the legal alcohol limit.

Still can get charged for drink driving even if below the legal limit. I know some friends personally that have been charged with drink driving after getting into an accident but alcohol level below the limit. Cuz the TP said they were too intoxicated to control their car properly resulting in an accident. The only difference is that if you exceed the legal limit sure get charged for drink driving even if you were driving normally and not reckless or involved in an accident.

Like that now ty saying u CANNOT DRINK AT ALL if u drive? [gossip]

Then what is the "Legal Limit" for?

If you drink and drive but below the legal limit then make sure you don't get into any accident then you'll not get in trouble.

All these talks abt driver who drink.

Those encountering one will siam like crazy.

It wld b informative if someone cld shed some light esp the authority shd driver get involved w a drunk cyclist

wah... jialat leh.

that cyclist also damn b**tard.

so, how did his case go? :wacko:

really gotta compensate 70k ah? :blink:

As at now TP never charged him as he is under the legal limits.But insurance have settled the injures claims with nego to 25k. And issue lawyer letter to claims against driver.

All these talks abt driver who drink.

Those encountering one will siam like crazy.

It wld b informative if someone cld shed some light esp the authority shd driver get involved w a drunk cyclist

This is the part that I feel is unfair regarding laws about cyclists. Cyclists are supposed to cycle on the roads but then when they are involved in an accident with another vehicle, TP will consider the cyclists as pedestrians. I guess that is why knocking down a drunk cyclist is the same as knocking down a drunk pedestrian.

Experienced this personally when I was cycling and got knocked down by a car. No injuries and only my bicycle was damaged. Since the driver was willing to exchange particulars and wrote down in black and white that he will compensate me for the damages, a TP that passed by informed me that police report got to be made even if no injury cuz its considered as vehicle knocking down pedestrian. Driver got charged with reckless driving but then given a warning in the end because I told the IO I am not going to pursue the case.

As at now TP never charged him as he is under the legal limits.But insurance have settled the injures claims with nego to 25k. And issue lawyer letter to claims against driver.

to claim against driver or against cyclist?

now i am confused.

wah... knn... liddat also can. [speechless]

insurance pay up to cyclist and claim the amount against driver.

say, planning to drink one bottle of red and go cycling liow.

anyone want to join me~?!? [laugh]

This is the part that I feel is unfair regarding laws about cyclists. Cyclists are supposed to cycle on the roads but then when they are involved in an accident with another vehicle, TP will consider the cyclists as pedestrians. I guess that is why knocking down a drunk cyclist is the same as knocking down a drunk pedestrian.

Experienced this personally when I was cycling and got knocked down by a car. No injuries and only my bicycle was damaged. Since the driver was willing to exchange particulars and wrote down in black and white that he will compensate me for the damages, a TP that passed by informed me that police report got to be made even if no injury cuz its considered as vehicle knocking down pedestrian. Driver got charged with reckless driving but then given a warning in the end because I told the IO I am not going to pursue the case.

That how I feel abt laws regarding cyclist. They are neither here nor there. Very ambiguous.

They get involved w pedestrian or driver, they get away scot free.

What if, a drunkard cyclist gets involved w a patrol car as there's no laws against cycling after drinking.

Though I don't drink, I am against zero tolerance level. You need to be practical..... Maybe humans do produce some alcohol internally from some food we eat. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh] How about eating zhichar where the cook dose some wine in it? Liddat also cannot drive?

Yes U r right. [thumbsup]

Some drivers just might consume alcohol unknowingly as its hidden in other foods/drinks they might have consumed. [blush]

Living in a first world country with laws of the third's.

Some countries have laws that one cannot even ride a horse while being drunk.

Why was the horse drunk? Maybe it was his birthday? [sly][laugh]

the reason was that the damage done to my car was in excess of $100,000 and the medical claim was *only* $1k ++ (iirc). so they said since they were going to repudiate on the repair cost, they might as well go all out and repudiate everything.

I am surprised they can get away with it even though it is a small amount. Did you claim on your own policy, did it affect your NCD given this is not your fault and did they load up your premium for next renewal?

wah... knn... liddat also can. [speechless]

say, planning to drink one bottle of red and go cycling liow.

anyone want to join me~?!? [laugh]

Ya sucks to get involved in this. Careful when driving at geylang n little india area. U expect a lot of FT cyclings pulling this stunts. And the best of all which I heard from my friend, this cyclist ABNN which is drink cycling. Its not the first time that drunk cyclist get into accident on the road. So guys careful when driving in Chinatown area. His clown cyclist always cycle there DRUNK.

Who knows he is a full time scam which earn a living through this. 25k can easily get him by one year.

That how I feel abt laws regarding cyclist. They are neither here nor there. Very ambiguous.

What if, a drunkard cyclist gets involved w a patrol car as there's no laws against cycling after drinking.

Ya as at now there is no laws against cyclist. Anything happens the car driver always get this " failing to keep a proper look out or careless driving " So I always keep away far far from cyclist.

I am surprised they can get away with it even though it is a small amount. Did you claim on your own policy, did it affect your NCD given this is not your fault and did they load up your premium for next renewal?

yup self claim. it would have affected my NCD, but i had the NCD protection insurance ...

renewal was increased the next year, then maintained, and this year i changed insurer (got a better price and the new insurer actually took the time to find out the facts of the case and understood everything, hence the lower premium)

Yes U r right. [thumbsup]

Some drivers just might consume alcohol unknowingly as its hidden in other foods/drinks they might have consumed. [blush]

One fine day they come up with super sensitive breath sensor in the steering wheel which can pick up alcoho smell from the driver and demobilise the engine then you know!! [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

the reason was that the damage done to my car was in excess of $100,000 and the medical claim was *only* $1k ++ (iirc). so they said since they were going to repudiate on the repair cost, they might as well go all out and repudiate everything.

Of course when they choose to repudiate they have to repudiate everything... no partial repudiation

but that does not mean you close case... u have to get a lawyer to sue for your damages.

For your car, the insurer will not bother since it is their client who have to deal with it personally but for your medical expenses & injury, the insurer CANNOT escape their liability to pay first on behalf of their insured.

Time to bring back registration plate for bicycles, just like the old days!!! [thumbsup]

Of course when they choose to repudiate they have to repudiate everything... no partial repudiation

but that does not mean you close case... u have to get a lawyer to sue for your damages.

For your car, the insurer will not bother since it is their client who have to deal with it personally but for your medical expenses & injury, the insurer CANNOT escape their liability to pay first on behalf of their insured.

lawyer fees would have started at 30k btw. of which, you can only claim back about 40-50% depending on the judge.

this is part of the email i sent them:

"Please advise if XXXXXX is also walking away from their liability for my medical bills?"

and here's the one line email they replied to me

"We regret to inform you that XXXXXX is not able to consider your Medical Expenses."

after that, they didnt bother to respond when queried as to why. (contrary to the law and what GIA states)

Time to bring back registration plate for bicycles, just like the old days!!! [thumbsup]

Oh so u also one of those who remembered abt registration plate for bicycles ah.

I agree but administratively difficult to implement.