Atonchia Supersonic January 19, 2019 Share January 19, 2019 Why do such things? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic January 19, 2019 Share January 19, 2019 and these beasts managed to mate and come out with a 5 yr old daughter? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freeder Hypersonic January 19, 2019 Share January 19, 2019 Married couple convicted of abusing maid who was ordered to pour hot water on herself SINGAPORE - Tormented for months, a maid was forced to perform multiple acts of self-harm, including pouring scalding hot water on herself and drinking dirty water mixed with detergent. Ms Phyu Phyu Mar also did not receive her monthly salary of $700 throughout her employment with her abusers, and her weight plummeted from 50kg to 38kg because of a lack of food. On Friday (Jan 18), District Judge Olivia Low found Linda Seah Lei Sie, 39, and her husband Lim Toon Leng, 44, guilty of abusing the Myanmar national following a 15-day trial. Seah, who manages Anew Me Beauty Aesthetic salon at The Centrepoint shopping mall in Orchard Road, was convicted of five assault charges and one count of causing the maid to drink the tainted water. The judge found her interior designer husband guilty of one count of assault. The Singaporean couple, who have a five-year-old daughter, committed the offences in their Punggol Walk flat between August and October 2016. Deputy Public Prosecutors Sarah Shi and Jotham Tay said in their submissions that Seah employed Ms Phyu Phyu Mar from February to October that year. The DPPs added that the maid received her full salary only in November that year when the Ministry of Manpower intervened. Delivering her verdict on Friday, the district judge said: "Linda and Lim sought to portray themselves as considerate and concerned employers. But this could not be further from the truth." Ms Phyu Phyu Mar testified during the trial that Seah made her pour hot water on herself on two occasions - in August and September 2016. On Friday, Judge Low said that according to the prosecution, Seah was unhappy with the maid and boiled some water in a kettle before asking the Myanmar national to pour some on her own left shoulder. The maid complied. The second incident took place after Seah became angry as she felt that the maid was slow in completing her chores. The judge said: "Linda poured the hot water into a cup and threatened Phyu Phyu Mar by saying that if Phyu Phyu Mar did not do as Linda instructed, Linda would then pour the hot water on herself and inform the police that it was Phyu Phyu Mar who did it and Phyu Phyu Mar would be sent to jail." The maid suffered scald marks and blisters on her skin when she complied. Instead of taking her to a doctor, Seah gave her a needle and told her to puncture the blisters herself. Besides these incidents, Seah also ordered the maid to drink tainted water, made her hit her head against the floor, grabbed the Myanmar national's hair and used a mobile phone to repeatedly hit her. On Oct 13, 2016, Lim punched Ms Phyu Phyu Mar's forehead twice after he wrongly assumed that she had thrown away his spectacles. The court heard that the Myanmar national used to accompany Seah to her salon a few times a week and one of its workers alerted the police the next day. Police went to the couple's flat on Oct 15, 2016, and Ms Phyu Phyu Mar was taken to Khoo Teck Puat Hospital where she was warded for six days. Seah, who is represented by lawyer R.S. Bajwa, is out on bail of $10,000 while her husband's bail was set at $5,000. Lim is represented by lawyer Kertar Singh. The couple are expected to be sentenced on Feb 11. Black Widow cum Troubled family background..Tio boh @dach..?? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 19, 2019 Share January 19, 2019 seriously, how could a ânormalâ person be so cruel sick ..... very sick ... When you dehumanizes another group of human, cruelty is easy peasy, like what the Nazi did to the Jews. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Twincharged January 19, 2019 Share January 19, 2019 Yes must jail. +Rotan for the Man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 (edited) if can't even afford to buy a meal for the maid, please don't get maid if because of "halal" food, at least order a drink for the maid to sit inside ugly sinkies still think of modern slavery that maid is your slave ... https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/singapore/domestic-helper-waits-outside-restaurant-while-employers-dine-inside/ar-BBSBxi8?li=BBr8Cnr Edited January 24, 2019 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 if can't even afford to buy a meal for the maid, please don't get maid if because of "halal" food, at least order a drink for the maid to sit inside sinkies still think of modern slavery that maid is your slave ... https://www.msn.com/en-sg/news/singapore/domestic-helper-waits-outside-restaurant-while-employers-dine-inside/ar-BBSBxi8?li=BBr8Cnr The couple should burn in hell. How could they treat a human like this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 (edited) The couple should burn in hell. How could they treat a human like this? Need to be so harsh meh? when kuan yew has dinner with some other state leaders, will his body guard and pa be sitting beside him eating or also hiding in 1 corner? how come never ask him to burn in hell also? Personally I think a maid is an employee and I will never treat one like family. Edited January 24, 2019 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 that's why maid spit on the drink that serve to their "master" and use their toothbrush to wash toilet bowl what goes around, comes around The couple should burn in hell. How could they treat a human like this? fair statement ... it's up to individual employer how they want to treat their employee at least with some level of dignity and decency, right? Personally I think a maid is an employee and I will never treat one like family. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 fair statement ... it's up to individual employer how they want to treat their employee at least with some level of dignity and decency, right? Yes of course with dignity and decency. But in this case, was there really a lack of dignity and decency? The maid was just sitting by the side of the road but the ang mo blogger write until she is being forced to crouch like a dog. I would personally sit by the side of the road as well if I had to wait for someone for an extended period (e.g. waiting for a late friend at the MRT station) - doesn't make me a dog right? I also mentioned that the PAs of VIPs also have to mull around while their employers eat. They can't even sit on the floor because it will be considered unsightly. In this sense, the maid has more dignity than the PA because she can CHOOSE whether she wants to sit or stand. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 Need to be so harsh meh? when kuan yew has dinner with some other state leaders, will his body guard and pa be sitting beside him eating or also hiding in 1 corner? how come never ask him to burn in hell also? Personally I think a maid is an employee and I will never treat one like family. The maid is not the bodyguard lah. Very simple, put yourself in the helper's position and as an employee, would you like to be treated in that manner. Agree they don't deserve to burn in hell but they certainly lack basic human decency. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 24, 2019 Author Share January 24, 2019 quite a common sight, nothing to shout about. post news that maid travel with employer to holiday with all flight and hotel paid, maybe a room to herself too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 (edited) The maid is not the bodyguard lah. Very simple, put yourself in the helper's position and as an employee, would you like to be treated in that manner. Agree they don't deserve to burn in hell but they certainly lack basic human decency. Ignore the bodyguard, what about the PA? If the maid isn't being abused and is being fed properly, I don't see the issue. Edited January 24, 2019 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 Need to be so harsh meh? when kuan yew has dinner with some other state leaders, will his body guard and pa be sitting beside him eating or also hiding in 1 corner? how come never ask him to burn in hell also? Personally I think a maid is an employee and I will never treat one like family. For state dinner, only invited guest is allowed on the same table. For PA, I believe they have a separate table. Even though PA may not eat or drink while waiting. For bodyguard, they can’t eat, drink & pee while on duty. Their protectee can’t be too far away from them. On the hand, maid is no different from you being a stuff working for someone else. When you bring your stuff out for meal with client, do you ask your staff to wait outside? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 (edited) yeah ... i ask the staff squat at one corner and wait for my whistle ... lol . . . seriously, i will treat maid better than staff staff ... company pay salary ... relationship is at professional level ... you did not perform ... out you go maid ... ownself pay salary ... there is more emotion & compassion attachment to what the maid do and dont the maid live in your home, take care your kids or aged parents, cook your food .... clean your house ... and underwears staff after work ... i don't even know where they go and what they do during the weekend ... come to work on time and leave obviously i wont fly the maid out together on vacation but definitely treat the maid as a member of the family ... not your father/mother/sibling family member but she is a helper in the family When you bring your stuff out for meal with client, do you ask your staff to wait outside? Edited January 24, 2019 by Wt_know 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 Actually if you see a lot of this foreign workers and maids when they are free or walking dogs they will just sit on kerbs of roads and footpath and gleefully surfing their HP’s ..... of course this situation is a little different but the Ang Mo’s can really “goreng” or sensationalize/spin things to their fancy and human rights this and that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 For state dinner, only invited guest is allowed on the same table. For PA, I believe they have a separate table. Even though PA may not eat or drink while waiting. For bodyguard, they can’t eat, drink & pee while on duty. Their protectee can’t be too far away from them. On the hand, maid is no different from you being a stuff working for someone else. When you bring your stuff out for meal with client, do you ask your staff to wait outside? I don't have staff working for me. But if my boss eats with a client and I am not involved, then I will just walk outside until he calls me. What's wrong with that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 24, 2019 Share January 24, 2019 yeah ... i ask the staff squat at one corner and wait for my whistle ... lol . . . seriously, i will treat maid better than staff staff ... company pay salary ... relationship is at professional level ... you did not perform ... out you go maid ... ownself pay salary ... there is more emotion & compassion attachment to what the maid do and dont the maid live in your home, take care your kids or aged parents, cook your food .... clean your house ... and underwears staff after work ... i don't even know where they go and what they do during the weekend ... come to work on time and leave obviously i wont fly the maid out together on vacation but definitely treat the maid as a member of the family ... not your father/mother/sibling family member but she is a helper in the family Agreed. Why would u want to exclude your helper. If u are going to a wedding dinner/lunch, u can always bring her to your relatives/parents place etc to squat. If u are going out, u can always order her a lower cost item on the menu if you really wish to do so. If u don't have any of these, u could just always leave her at home for a few hours just to take a break. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...