July 2014 COE Biding

Passim

Surprisingly this round coe not much changes from the last round of coe, even though the last round of coe was 3 weeks ago?! Thinking what does this imply?

Demand seems weak. Generally 3 weeks collection will see a spike in premium. I think COE dropping to 50k and below will be a reality soon.

Yea, many contis seem to adopt TD for Cat A & TC/NA (Petrol) for Cat B.

In Germany more than 50% of new car sale are diesel.

Demand seems weak. Generally 3 weeks collection will see a spike in premium. I think COE dropping to 50k and below will be a reality soon.

Below 50k? Dont know can achieve by sep this year? Lol. Maybe must look at the announcement on the new coe quota for next quarter. If more quota then maybe coe can drop further.

Don't forget..when it open up for public biding by remove the agent..a lots of people will move in..thinking that i got chance to get low COE..but in fact there are kiasu people that know this and bid higher such that they make sure they get the car

That's why a 'pay as you bid' will make these kiasu people pay what they want to. ...High value COE.

Yes, very strange indeed.

For a large chunk of bids to push the Open Cat COE from $1 to $63K within 10 mins is not a simple task. Looks like the invincible hand is at play again! [lipsrsealed]

Its almost certain that the next few rounds of COE bids will continue its downtrend pattern :D

Think there is ' minimum sum ' for COE bid like our CPF... this will ensure we have enough for ' our

retirement '.... Oh oops it's for ' our government ' :)

All stakeholders (car dealers, car buyers, public, motoring experts) said the 130hp was destined to fail since day one. Only LTA said it was a success [hur]

Because 3 over million people didn't feedback thus they agree with lta and lta has to follow the majority ?.. Hehehe

Below 50k? Dont know can achieve by sep this year? Lol. Maybe must look at the announcement on the new coe quota for next quarter. If more quota then maybe coe can drop further.

I believe by end of this year can reach 50k. 1st Q next yr may go as low as 45k or so.

I don't think it's the demand side, it's more on the supply side. The ADs playing the waiting game (in view that Aug-Nov quota gonna be more).... CAT A Total BIDs more than doubled Quota, yet price remain stagnant, this probably means that AD are not wiling to bid higher. They are not worried that COE will go higher and they can't fulfil their orders. On the other hand, when COE drops; these ADs will add to their profit when they secure a lower COE for their customers

Edited by Notsogoodman

In Germany more than 50% of new car sale are diesel.

That's what I read also. But I also read (was it from a bro here?) that the trend is reversing dunno how true. Claims that Euro5 isn't as clean as its made out to be as it only considers CO2 but theres a whole lot of other toxic stuff (diesel) that still makes petrol cleaner.

Think there is ' minimum sum ' for COE bid like our CPF... this will ensure we have enough for ' our

retirement '.... Oh oops it's for ' our government ' :)

If so, its probably tied to the financial institutions they have guan xi with ......with 'terms & conditions'...

11 Apr 2014

1. The Certificate of Entitlement (COE) quota for May to July 2014 will be 12,060. Details of the quota for each vehicle category are in Annex A. Bidding under this quota will start with the first COE bidding exercise in May 2014.

2. The COE quota consists of the following components:

a. Provision for 0.5% per annum vehicle growth based on the vehicle population as at 31 December 2013;

b. Replacement COEs for vehicles de-registered from January to March 2014;

c. Adjustments for changes in the taxi population, expired COEs and over-projection of vehicle de-registrations in 2008/2009.

3. The next quota announcement for the bidding period of August to October 2014 will be made in July 2014.

I believe by end of this year can reach 50k. 1st Q next yr may go as low as 45k or so.

I hope so!

11 Apr 2014

1. The Certificate of Entitlement (COE) quota for May to July 2014 will be 12,060. Details of the quota for each vehicle category are in Annex A. Bidding under this quota will start with the first COE bidding exercise in May 2014.

2. The COE quota consists of the following components:

a. Provision for 0.5% per annum vehicle growth based on the vehicle population as at 31 December 2013;

b. Replacement COEs for vehicles de-registered from January to March 2014;

c. Adjustments for changes in the taxi population, expired COEs and over-projection of vehicle de-registrations in 2008/2009.

3. The next quota announcement for the bidding period of August to October 2014 will be made in July 2014.

Err... bro, is this news come 3 months late?

We are looking forward to the new quota announcement liao leh..

$50k could come earlier than that...

If COE goes south, I wonder what will happen to high COE cars held by used car dealers? Write off or write down?

recently didnt get my coe looks like will wait for it to get lower I hope

If COE goes south, I wonder what will happen to high COE cars held by used car dealers? Write off or write down?

they buy in low to buffer against the coe i guess

The COE quota for Aug - Oct 2014 will be announced by LTA this week. Let's hope to hear some good news [bounce1]

ya, still waiting anxiously...

based on 2 mths' dereg data (Apr n May) n educated guesses, these r my figures:

Cat A: up 17%

Cat B: up 6%

Cat D: down 13% for bike!!

Open Cat: up 2%