Vid Hypersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 i always get silver....except for the year after i finished studying. That wan got 100 nia! If not for 2.4 i will get gold every year! My 2.4 sucked as i never train for anything but i still get 200. Some guys in my company all the way get gold.....smoke like dragon but 2.4 sibei fast! It sometimes make you think life's unfair isn't it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 Hahahaha........ I think too lean, bo lat. Don't have fats to resonate and give it some momentum. Sit up is all about speed. Must do fast. The moment slow down. Gone case. No more power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 It sometimes make you think life's unfair isn't it cannot put it that way lar bro....usually those who are fit but heckcare their health will suffer in their later years! By then u will think how lucky you are! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 i used to have this reservist platoon mate who will fail the sit up station every time. he is thin (no belly whatsoever) but he can only manage less 20 sit ups per minute. he struggles with every single sit up. i know he is not keng as he will go on to pass the other stations. i just cannot understand why this is so. actually the IPPT stations were each conceived for the so called perfect soldier in all regards to the operational needs.. jumping or upper body strength. My take is that 80-90% of the takers can borderline pass all stations. there are a few like Kxbc's platoon mate and others we know of that only fails in one station. The crux of the issue is should we do away with that one station? and which one is it? because we all will have different stations we want to axe. I think that we should retain all stations but allow a lower threshold to pass at the lowest minimum, but keep a total score high enough that you must still do well for 4 of the other stations to make the IPPT still a good filter for fit soldiers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 Sit up is all about speed. Must do fast. The moment slow down. Gone case. No more power if you do fast, likely that you will be "snapping" (I got this term from the PTI) your back and i think this is what will hurt your back. best is do all stations with good form, esp during training, so that we will reap max benefits from each session. Quality over quantity. 3 proper pull ups better than 5 kicking ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 I also find this very funny. many of my friends who do extreme sports like triathlon also smoke like dragon. wonder why? Becos hoonkee sibei gwee lah brudder. Need that $400. Sit up is all about speed. Must do fast. The moment slow down. Gone case. No more power And creative counting... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 cannot put it that way lar bro....usually those who are fit but heckcare their health will suffer in their later years! By then u will think how lucky you are! Ya... think it's time for me to start exercise again soon.... belly growing even though I don't smoke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 And creative counting... Now automatic already. No more manual Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 actually the IPPT stations were each conceived for the so called perfect soldier in all regards to the operational needs.. jumping or upper body strength. My take is that 80-90% of the takers can borderline pass all stations. there are a few like Kxbc's platoon mate and others we know of that only fails in one station. The crux of the issue is should we do away with that one station? and which one is it? because we all will have different stations we want to axe. I think that we should retain all stations but allow a lower threshold to pass at the lowest minimum, but keep a total score high enough that you must still do well for 4 of the other stations to make the IPPT still a good filter for fit soldiers. i have to disagree with the suggestion of lowering the standard. I think we should keep all the stations and existing point system. If cut off is too low, then there is no point to train and test. Silver is to encourage those who are mediorce to train harder for a Gold. Incentivise. Gold should remain. I for one will never get Gold as my 2.4 always misses the mark by, from NS till end of reservist. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 IPPT shd only test push-ups. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 i have to disagree with the suggestion of lowering the standard. I think we should keep all the stations and existing point system. If cut off is too low, then there is no point to train and test. Silver is to encourage those who are mediorce to train harder for a Gold. Incentivise. Gold should remain. I for one will never get Gold as my 2.4 always misses the mark by, from NS till end of reservist. everybody has the same weakness........2.4km run.......hahahaha! Dont care what timing u ran....it's everybody's Archilles Heel! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 i always get silver....except for the year after i finished studying. That wan got 100 nia! If not for 2.4 i will get gold every year! My 2.4 sucked as i never train for anything but i still get 200. Some guys in my company all the way get gold.....smoke like dragon but 2.4 sibei fast! Envious leh :) I never ever get any ippt $ incentive, cos just managed to pass niah. At most, whole platoon get some time off if all pass :) Smokers? I also noticed too Maybe stimulants ba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eyke Supercharged July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 if both legs cannot clear..........forget about one leg........... sigh, i reiterate my point: real-life nobody will be SBJing to cross gaps, so the test is sibeh unrealistic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 i have to disagree with the suggestion of lowering the standard. I think we should keep all the stations and existing point system. If cut off is too low, then there is no point to train and test. Silver is to encourage those who are mediorce to train harder for a Gold. Incentivise. Gold should remain. I for one will never get Gold as my 2.4 always misses the mark by, from NS till end of reservist. Most probably tio complain by Elite mother......if not they wont even think of change wan! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Author Share July 1, 2014 No beer belly, but stomach cramp every time do sit-ups. Worse is when it's the first station, then rest stations sure up lorry. for me, I always do the station that is my weakest first (chin ups). If you ask me to do chin up right after shuttle run or sit-ups, I will run out of breath for chip-ups. so maybe, you should start with sit-ups last. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 Envious leh :) I never ever get any ippt $ incentive, cos just managed to pass niah. At most, whole platoon get some time off if all pass :) Smokers? I also noticed too Maybe stimulants ba pass should be happy lar.....the money is a bonus! If i fail my 2.4 i think my platoon mates will suan me for the remainder of the ict siak! They only dont laugh at those who have a history of failures since recruit days! The rest are all game. Dont ask me why! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Author Share July 1, 2014 Becos hoonkee sibei gwee lah brudder. Need that $400. or hang a stack of cash or hoonkee in front of you when you do 2.4km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 1, 2014 Share July 1, 2014 (edited) i have to disagree with the suggestion of lowering the standard. I think we should keep all the stations and existing point system. If cut off is too low, then there is no point to train and test. Silver is to encourage those who are mediorce to train harder for a Gold. Incentivise. Gold should remain. I for one will never get Gold as my 2.4 always misses the mark by, from NS till end of reservist. I agree. if you read carefully my post, I implied that the other stations need to do well enough to maintain standards. I feel the monetary award standard should remain at the same levels for points needed and the dumb 2.4 timing. but for pure borderline pass, there is room to lower the lowest level a bit more, but to earn 2 points, the standard can remain the same. i.e. the standards for 1 point can be lower. but from point 2 and up remain the same. if the standard for 1 point is lowered, then to make the soldier work harder for other stations, maybe put a minimum of 4 points for the rest of the stations in order to get a Pass. Edited July 1, 2014 by Nolicense ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...