IPPT may be made simpler, says Dr Ng Eng Hen

Vega

yup...........................and most of the time ppl do better in IPPT after combat training.............we have seen so many ppl (myself included) doing better in IPPT after siong siong combat trainings............

I would say ................to do well in IPPT...........train in SOC...........to do well in PT kits.............train in SBO........ [thumbsup]

Agree. After my fbo bashing thru vegetation, when doin pt kit or clean fatigue exercise or running, I feel like can fly, even oc said I improved.

yah.............the CB sand flies.......... [mad][laugh]

that place is a real test of topo..............how fast you can rest depends on how well you can topo your way ..................a few wrong turns and need to camp for the night at no know where liao.............. [laugh] [laugh]

we got lost in during topo exercise for 1 freaking day. Pc decided to lead the topo and we set of around 8 in the morning. 3 pm we reached the same place we had our morning breakfast.....how i know.....i had carved my name unit and our ROD date on the tree trunk.....pissed off when i saw the same tree with the engraved trunk.....ninaoya! Best was when he decided to bash through the vegetation....even went through knee deep stream just to get to the cp. In the end he lost his direction and we haf to spent an extra night in the bushes! The only thing was as he was our pc we didnt have to redo the topo exercise eventhough we had passed the time limit!

I kana a few leech and one leech had even dropped by itself after getting bloated with my blood. I squueze my mozzie repellant on it and burn the prick crisp......hahaha!

Edited by Eviilusion

2.4km or 240m??.............you can tahan 2.4km in that position meh???............ [laugh] [laugh]

Run and Walk 2.4km should be about 15mins [laugh] Walk all the way will take longer time [sly]

Timing is more important than the distance in this case.

Actually in my family, it isn't just me who have served military duties, my dad has also served military duties as a combat soldier.

Whenever I complain about how tough is it during my NS days, he would laugh it off and tell me his stories.

Those were the days when safety regulations were not well established and the training IS TOTALLY NUTS!

How about falling in with a cupboard when you stay on the 5th floor of the bunk? [crazy]

So.......we are indeed ELITE soldiers [thumbsup]

Carry on here.

Reported in ST.

http://bit.ly/1nzxza8

Skali they want you to do 50 sit ups and 50 push ups to pass [:/][laugh] [laugh]

If 50 sit-ups, I immediately declare fail and go home !! [sweatdrop]

No... ask you report for RT [sweatdrop]

IPPT to be reduced to 3 stations: 2.4km run, push-ups, sit-ups

SINGAPORE: The Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) for National Servicemen will be reduced from the current five stations to just three: A 2.4km run, sit-ups and push-ups. The aim of the changes: Getting more NSmen to keep healthy as a lifestyle, and helping them pass their test.

He did not mention when the changes will be implemented. Changes to the IPPT format were last made in 1982.

"This new format will make it simpler for NSmen to train for IPPT, and for more to pass. Many other militaries use 3-station tests to keep their forces fit," said Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen in a Facebook post on Wednesday (July 23).

The new test system will not require NSmen to meet a minimum passing mark for every station, Dr Ng said.

"We will also have more age bands and a new scoring system. Instead of a pass mark for each station, points will be awarded and the combined points from the 3 stations will be used. This way, soldiers can make up through more sit-ups, if they are weak in push-ups and running, or vice versa. There’s a limit to how much you can make up, but I like this counting system because it encourages NSmen to max out on each station and it plays to the individual’s strengths," he wrote on Facebook.

The overall passing mark will remain "about the same as before" for Full-Time NSmen, Regulars and Awards, while some adjustments will be made based on past data for NSmen, he said.

He added: "Even though the new IPPT is simpler to train for, it will still take effort and regular exercise to pass. And that’s the idea – keeping healthy and fit should be a lifestyle and it’s good for you. We expect more to pass the new IPPT, as a result. Look out for training apps and programmes to help you"

Chief of Army Perry Lim will provide more details on Thursday, he added.

- CNA/es

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ippt-to-be-reduced-to-3/1277982.html

US army and Israel army also follows the same standard

Edited by Shull

Jialat... IPPT no kick already lah....

The new generations will all be paper soldiers...lead by paper generals!!

This type of sub-standard IPPT is it to cater for NS for woman?

Edited by Ender

Standing broad jump, pull-ups and shuttle run will no longer be part of the test, Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen says.

ippt-file-photo.jpgFile photo of Operationally Ready National Servicemen taking the Individual Physical Proficiency Test. (Photo: MINDEF)

SINGAPORE: The Individual Physical Proficiency Test (IPPT) for National Servicemen will be reduced from the current five stations to just three: A 2.4km run, sit-ups and push-ups. The aim of the changes: Getting more NSmen to keep healthy as a lifestyle, and helping them pass their test.

He did not mention when the changes will be implemented. Changes to the IPPT format were last made in 1982.

"This new format will make it simpler for NSmen to train for IPPT, and for more to pass. Many other militaries use 3-station tests to keep their forces fit," said Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen in a Facebook post on Wednesday (July 23).

The new test system will not require NSmen to meet a minimum passing mark for every station, Dr Ng said.

"We will also have more age bands and a new scoring system. Instead of a pass mark for each station, points will be awarded and the combined points from the 3 stations will be used. This way, soldiers can make up through more sit-ups, if they are weak in push-ups and running, or vice versa. There’s a limit to how much you can make up, but I like this counting system because it encourages NSmen to max out on each station and it plays to the individual’s strengths," he wrote on Facebook.

The overall passing mark will remain "about the same as before" for Full-Time NSmen, Regulars and Awards, while some adjustments will be made based on past data for NSmen, he said.

He added: "Even though the new IPPT is simpler to train for, it will still take effort and regular exercise to pass. And that’s the idea – keeping healthy and fit should be a lifestyle and it’s good for you. We expect more to pass the new IPPT, as a result. Look out for training apps and programmes to help you"

Chief of Army Perry Lim will provide more details on Thursday, he added.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/ippt-to-be-reduced-to-3/1277982.html

No more SBJ and chin up

Wonder when it will be implemented. Haven't taken my IPPT for this window yet so I'll probably wait for the new system to kick in.

This one lagi hard [sweatdrop]

8035006_f520.jpg

Passing grade. 1 will get max points.

like this harder

diamond-push-up.jpg

i see the longkang I also hard............... [laugh] [laugh]