IPPT may be made simpler, says Dr Ng Eng Hen

Vega

Hahaha.....Individual Philandering and Piaking Test........must complete minimum 3 position!

LOL.... many volunteers flooding the stations!!!

It will take a battalion of them to tame you lor.... what warfare you call it? [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

The "comforting" warfare ?? [:/]

This test also got 5 stations huh ? Eg. In bed, in water, in open air, in ..... [grin][lipsrsealed]

Navy one best: underwater station!! [thumbsup]

Underwater got no gravity leh, .... eg. trying to hold a position may not be easy.

Like that I declare fail better, cos difficult to pass lah. [sweatdrop]

i also never trained for my ippt and i smokes.....but still run faster than the non-smokers.....hahaha! Maybe its in the genes...! my best timing for 2.4 during ns was 9.42 mins and soc was 8.05 mins. And usually those that smokes will try to challenge each others timing! Dont ask me to run now har......later scared kana heart attack!

U got do other sports right??

Ur time sportsman like to smoke one. Lol.

U got do other sports right??

Ur time sportsman like to smoke one. Lol.

yes.....i play football, badminton, bowling, snooker, billiards, table-tennis, i tried tennis though but i dont like it!

Yes my time even national players smoke ciggies......hahaha! Teachers are even allowed to smoke while i was in pri school but later owhen in secondary school only allowed in Teachers room or yhe school's field.....hahaha!

Just run SOC. If you can do SOC, you are good enough.

SOC = combat fitness

IPPT = physical fitness

Both are different thing bro........ i am from 5sir mono intake so outfield exercise is very common and it's basically on regular basis. I've seen many cases whereby those " fit zai" aka muscleman can score very well in their ippt but when it comes to SOC test, these ippt gold medalist seriously can't make it.

For my case, I've to admit that my ippt is damn cui, I can only secure a pass grade (sometimes incentive award if lucky) but if MINDEF were to demolish ippt n implement SOC, I will be very happy lol.....

FYI , I've been through lots of exercise, be it company exercise, battalion exercise, division exercise, ATEC stage 1&2 etc...... My combat load plus my personal weapon cao cao can clock up to 30kg. I've no prob chionging n bashing the forest with my heavy load and I NEVER ONCE FALL OUT but when it comes to IPPT, ......... Lol......

yes.....i play football, badminton, bowling, snooker, billiards, table-tennis, i tried tennis though but i dont like it!

Yes my time even national players smoke ciggies......hahaha! Teachers are even allowed to smoke while i was in pri school but later owhen in secondary school only allowed in Teachers room or yhe school's field.....hahaha!

your time non smoker usually very homely one.. or you call nerdy.. lol....

sigh, i reiterate my point:

real-life nobody will be SBJing to cross gaps, so the test is sibeh unrealistic.

you do not do it does not mean in real life no body will SBJ a gap..........we did it before and we know both legs are better than 1................

min to pass a SBJ is above 215cm and 245cm gets you 5 points if i remember correctly..........can you jump more than 215cm one legged??.........can you jump that same distance in SBO helmet rifle?...........

the test is the max distance you can jump (the explosive distance you can reach with both legs in PT kits)..........the distance will be discounted when you are jumping on one leg................and further discounted when you are in battle order with weapon..............and do you know why we need to lean forward when we land when doing SBJ?.....lean back and you drop into the longkang.....simple as that.........

is the mind that is playing the trick................go try out jumping over a longkang with 1 leg and try again with both............you think 1 leg is better is because you can control better....doesnt mean you can jump further............

leap, jump leading with one leg............why didnt they test us long jump or triple jump for that matter .......

your time non smoker usually very homely one.. or you call nerdy.. lol....

hahaha...u are right. My time the smokers all gungho type....Marlboro man comes to mind! Lucky my son didnt pick up the habit. Hopefully he wont while serving! He likes to say all the negatives about smoking. I used to play oni soccer but on and off. After marriage i picked up more sports to occupy myself. I even picked up surf casting.....the biggest fish i caught was a 7.4 kg sea bass .....shared with my colleague as i was using his tackle and rod. The fight with the seabass was shiok!

I am (was?) one of the odd balls... as a cadet my SOC timing was top 5 in my platoon but 2.4 is in last 5... end up I was the only one that cannot do 2.4 below 9:45... sibei sian

also struggled with SBJ... didn't improve significantly even after intense extra training.

related to SBJ... once, we were in oil palm plantation area and we had to cross a flooded longkang... one dude tried to jump over in FBO but instead landed in the middle of the longkang, splashing the muddy water all over us. But we couldn't help but LOL at him. In the end we threw our full packs over before attempting the jump.

I was as odd as you.......just that I wasn't the top in SOC............but always the last few in 2.4km..........I was never good in running but i do have better upper body strength..........so as a guardsman i would always finish SOC in under 9 min..........but never done better than 10 min in 2.4km.........best I ever had was i think almost 10 flat...........sibei jialat.... [laugh]

i figure out that the only stations that can be trained and improve very fast are pull ups and 2.4km run................SBJ....SR and sit ups are more or less there.................you have it or you dont have it...........improvement sure have when tio tekan but result wouldnt last and improvement not really alot..........

yah...........we encounter flooded longkang often in training that's for sure..........so from real life experience we know that no way we can jump more than 1.5m in our battle gears............anything more than that go find some wood or walk along the bank to find a shallow area to cross........... [cool]

we always get the 2 best jumpers to jump over without gears............. than throw their gears over to them...........after that one by one throw gears over than jump ..................so that the 2 can catch the arms before drop back into longkang..........of course we learn this after some hardship lah................including what had happened to you guys........... [:p]

btw..........i am dry for the day.............owe you 5.............jump to you tomorrow......... [:p]

Edited by Tianmo

Did a google search and found it here : http://garinmahal.com/index.php/getting-started/idf-fitness-test

Got push-up, sit-up and 2km run.

So these guys have just push-ups, sit-ups and a 2km run. And weakness in one station can be compensated with strength in the others. I think this is a simpler system and makes more sense. Just build the upper body strength, abs strength and stamina. That's it.

not for you to choose due to detailing, but of course we normally try to keng to do our favourite station first.

I noticed many people even those w/o problem with sit-ups will also avoid this station first unless the PTIs there are no siao on type.

So, normally cluster fark at other stations leaving this station empty. In the end, kena fiak.... [laugh]

this is because sit up takes 60 secs for 1 person to finish. rather than queue to wait for ppl to finish 1 min, might as well go other stations first. quite fast for pull up cos many cant do more than 3.

For me ok. I can run but cannot jump [:/]

I can get 5 points for everything but SBJ... <_<

I get 5 points for all stations.............. cannot run.............but road march i very good.............. [laugh][laugh]

replace chin up to push up. min to pass, 1 min 30 standard push up.

remove sit up and shuttle run.

if I am not wrong, our ippt is bench marked after the Israeli arm forces.

malaysian 's IPPT also the same ... it was once benchmark with British's which Burma, India and Israel also benchmark on.

Edited by Cavver

Now can ask you do the other type of IPPT --- Inter Personal Physical Tenderness? Dont be shy... :wub:

ok... just change for you .. -_-