IPPT may be made simpler, says Dr Ng Eng Hen

Vega

last time report sick, dare not use lausai as the reason.

worry MO tell medic to put on rubber gloves........ [sweatdrop]

"Go lie/bend down over there..."

As a parent, I am happy that the IPPT requirement seems to be " easier ", and my son when he is due for enlistment will have an easier time ( physically ).

As a citizen however, I am concern if this change lower the overall fitness requirement for our soldier?

It is fine to change to just 3 station, but requirement to pass seems like lower than current / old IPPT system.

just curious. why as a parent, you are happy with the "easier" standard for your son?

I presume you serve NS too and if you live thru it, I am sure you also want your son to experience what your experienced and do even better than what you have achieved.

"Go lie/bend down over there..."

过来人. [laugh]

just curious. why as a parent, you are happy with the "easier" standard for your son?

I presume you serve NS too and if you live thru it, I am sure you also want your son to experience what your experienced and do even better than what you have achieved.

过来人. [laugh]

Parents nowadays very protective over their precious children. :huh:

I had go thru the same shit that most bros here have gone thru, but hoping that he will do better than me does not means I want him to suffer the same shit that I had experience.

ok valid reason.

the reason why I ask is I find ippt is not really that shitty as compare to those nonsensical bo liao things that commanders put us thru.

For me, I would want my kid to excel, if not, do better than me in ippt.

But that's me and I respect your reasoning too. [:)]

Of the 3 stations, 2.4km run have to be standard; sit-up: elbow have to touch the knees, what abt push up?

Push up, can do half-f**k? Body straight?

Nevertheless, I really feel these 3 stations are really a breeze now as compared to last time.

We should be seeing a much much higher % of passing rate, if this is what the army wants...

Hmm, the army is really rich in giving out $ incentives :))

nothing wrong to collect more $$$, so nothing wrong to give out also. [:p]

It's good incentives, not so easy to get like everyone will get or not too difficult like only top 0.5% will get. This way, most people will get motivated. Too tough, you also sian 1/2 right?

Of the 3 stations, 2.4km run have to be standard; sit-up: elbow have to touch the knees, what abt push up?

Nevertheless, I really feel these 3 stations are really a breeze now as compared to last time.

We should be seeing a much much higher % of passing rate, if this is what the army wants...

Edited by Kangadrool

I suppose knees cannot touch the floor and ass in the air. Well, these are what PTI always shout when knocking people down. :ph34r:

my dad trained under isreali motar officer

he said siong like hell

but i guess he woundn't want me to go thru the same

my dad trained under isreali motar officer

he said siong like hell

but i guess he woundn't want me to go thru the same

Should look at the physical fitness test of those IDF (Israeli Defence Force) soldiers. [laugh][sweatdrop]

Lagi more siong.

I suppose knees cannot touch the floor and ass in the air. Well, these are what PTI always shout when knocking people down. :ph34r:

Remember when the PTI will say "You wait I ask them to lower standard for you to pass lor..." I think he suggestion really worked. Kudos to the PTI!! [bounce2][bounce2]

Yeah it took them so many years, wait until MR liao? :huh:

1560648_10152168410747115_33026496718035

35 sit ups, 10:41 in 2.4km run and 35 push-ups and you walk away with $400!

That's probably for Cat X. Not sure about others.

its stated for 34yo. yes the new IPPT is easier to pass.

in fact im 33yo i could have gotten gold if not for SBJ which is silver.

- - - 2 fitness 'experts' who don't dig the new IPPT - - -

Director of Genesis gym Jonathan Wong, who conducts IPPT training:

- while the new test was "significantly easier", it might undermine combat fitness standards."Some of these items like the chin-up train our soldiers' combat fitness. You need that upper body strength to pull yourself up a rope or a wall, or the speed and agility in shuttle run to run from cover to cover," he said.Training for the standing broad jump, which is the hardest item, also improves strength, flexibility and endurance.

Fitness consultant Rick Wong, 44:

- felt the new test was a response to popular demand and a "watering down" of standards.He noted that the change in the scoring format to let soldiers combine points earned from the stations, could lead to "lopsided and imbalanced" fitness levels."We might get soldiers who lack upper body strength but are good at cardio