Super7 Turbocharged June 28, 2014 Share June 28, 2014 Whatever changes scholars at LTA make, the objective is to keep the COE high! I think they are consistent in this and have never deviated from making more money through COE. If COE does help reduce road congestion, it's a coincidental, unintended byproduct. [sweatdrop] ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 28, 2014 Share June 28, 2014 sorry, it is only hare-brained, not popular True!! - Most car makers base it at the crank to dish out nice numbers. - Using dyno, means power at the wheel. - can artificially suppress whp by using +2/3 sizes, semi or even mineral oil. Use basic/budget s/plugs. - there will also be diff in whp between AT & MT. My impression all this while of is that they meant crank. So if what they meant by 130 is 130whp, then it likely means those 140hp/1.6 GDI NA cars with higher comp would qualify. Eg, SSS & Elantra 1.6 GDI. Bearing in mind that these models have Torque >160nm, its going blur the lines with Cat B cars, esp the 1.8L. Wish & Stream at 140ps/170nm at the crank ? So it means that the Cruze 1.4 Turbo with 138hp/200nm is king (assumimg its at the crank). - No mentioned of addressing Torque since TD is catching on? Since they so insist on basing it on engine performance. - Agree with Kangadrool that size is relevant iin Sin. Since Sin has grossly limited land space. Afterall, isnt housing prices based on psf due to similar constraints? Since most manufacturers measure by crank (factor that measuring whp is so muddy), why create more trouble. Or is it job creation? Since cars is categorized at traveling 1st class & is a luxury regardless, I would say omv + physical size (we are sin) is argueably the best. Support [thumbsup] It's also not difficult to identify luxury marques coz these brands promote their models as lux models openly. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Supersonic June 28, 2014 Author Share June 28, 2014 Best is still cat by physical size. Sounds like I am playing old record. We will all be driving this CAT A car: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged June 28, 2014 Share June 28, 2014 We will all be driving this CAT A car: vespa-prostrt1.jpg Well, if that is the only kind of car allowed to be imported, then gotta llst too. Rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear June 28, 2014 Share June 28, 2014 It's getting more and more communistic ruling on way of car ownership...will they dictate wat color of car we own next? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flyerking 3rd Gear June 28, 2014 Share June 28, 2014 My impression of "scholars" or straight As students in uni really isn't that good when I entered the workforce. They are seriously 0ver-hyped. I really wonder why my mummy used to tell force me to study hard and become a "scholar" when those richest old men around me who owned multiple properties are sam-seng who spoke halting English but fluent hokkien Who the hell voted in these smart scholars whose brains are in their ass? Please raise your hands. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 Lta Sibeh Loser 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 (edited) lta dyno check car? walao ... the inspection queue is just getting longer and longer Edited June 29, 2014 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alheych 6th Gear June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 C'mon, let's be fair. Waddaya expect from a populist, hare-brained scheme to begin wif?........ I actually don't think the COE changes were populist. In fact, this government is very afraid to be seen as populist, and will do things that avoid being so. What would have been really populist would have been to peg COE categories to OMV, thus making it obvious that they're targeting the rich. They zealously wanted to avoid sending this message to the rich, that's how they came up with this dumb 130bhp rule. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 I actually don't think the COE changes were populist. In fact, this government is very afraid to be seen as populist, and will do things that avoid being so. What would have been really populist would have been to peg COE categories to OMV, thus making it obvious that they're targeting the rich. They zealously wanted to avoid sending this message to the rich, that's how they came up with this dumb 130bhp rule. maybe this was how they came up wif this hare-brained policy....... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach23 2nd Gear June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 True!! Support [thumbsup] It's also not difficult to identify luxury marques coz these brands promote their models as lux models openly. If that happens most cars would not promote themselves as 'luxury' cars. Filter sgcarmart resale cars by luxury sedan to see what I mean. If loan quantum is determined by the cars OMV why can't they use the same yardstick to determine CAT? IMO there shld be a Cat A, B and C for the super luxury cars (think 7 series, S class and XJ category) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 (edited) lta dyno check car? walao ... the inspection queue is just getting longer and longer The way to carry out such check is probably only on the Type Approval Model.AD has to bring in one unit for testing and approval. The test is carried out a a special lab dynamometer which is different in design as compare to those used in service and repair workshop. Such dyn labs are usually used for third party certification for export documentation. Edited June 29, 2014 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jokerd 2nd Gear June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 Will this affect the break in of the car engine if they run it at full power right at the start? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic June 29, 2014 Share June 29, 2014 It's getting more and more communistic ruling on way of car ownership...will they dictate wat color of car we own next? actually, a guy I know from insurance told me that red car's premium usually slightly higher.... dictate color ? White color car ARF 50% disc. Blue color car +50% ARF If that happens most cars would not promote themselves as 'luxury' cars. Filter sgcarmart resale cars by luxury sedan to see what I mean. If loan quantum is determined by the cars OMV why can't they use the same yardstick to determine CAT? IMO there shld be a Cat A, B and C for the super luxury cars (think 7 series, S class and XJ category) Not just loan Q, the ARF is 3 tiered too. Looking at the price diff between A, B, E, might as well just merge all 3 & cut the wayang (esp since ARF is the real deal). 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 30, 2014 Share June 30, 2014 I cum in see see rook rook Arm Chio at Zheng hoo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 30, 2014 Share June 30, 2014 When I saw the thread title in General Car Discussion, I was thinking: "I know it's LTA-related, but you're gonna have to be more specific than that!". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear June 30, 2014 Share June 30, 2014 Hope the cost of the testing equipment and labor and maintenance would be passed to AD. And slowly but surely find a way to the consumers. LTA can't lose. Anyway, every single car tested or random sample a few from each model? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Furrynadz 5th Gear June 30, 2014 Share June 30, 2014 (edited) if u look at the type of dogs working inside, u have 2 kinds 1) the first up there, want everything to benefit them, including stealing a free lambo if u can...aka the elite gang 2) the bottom scum, who compete for petty cash doing "WITS" project like this and hope to implement their suggestion and get out of their lowly ranks in summary Edited June 30, 2014 by Furrynadz ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...