What brake pad U choose for your car? Cheap? Good? Genuine ?

Ahbao999

On 7/3/2024 at 11:24 PM, Gnahp said:

wanted to ask you guys for opinion

this is the brake wear sensor

s-l1200.webp

it has two wires, a two-prong connector

this is how it worn on my previous W204, triggered the brake wear message

20210208_144035_resized.thumb.jpg.a54dfa1198817707f3e84a4f19916577.jpg

do you guys think:-

1. the two wire is a loop, the wear breaks the wire, causing open circuit, triggering the brake wear message

2. the two wire both connected to +12V, the wear grind away the plastic insulation on the tip, allowing the probe to touch the brake rotor (GND/ground) to form a close circuit, triggering the brake wear message

looking at the way it worn on my old W204, I am more incline to No.2

option 2 the reading will be more realistic right? If can touch the sensor, means the brake really botak liao. 

I wanted to follow the book by using mercedes pad grease

went to 3 merc stockists, all shake head wave hands

s-l400-1.jpg.7fead65dab9ea711a85a5b94c7061a3f.jpg

f84b32389046b3275bdcec48deb68209.gif

I made some measurements with digital caliper for those who might be interested

total friction material thickness = 11mm (100%)

thickness where brake wear message triggered = 3mm (27%)

for my driving pattern, it took 101,000km to wear 8mm (11-3)

meaning I can still drive for another 38,000km before metal grind metal 😁

plenty of buffer I would say, if I see brake pad wear warning message during a road trip less than 38,000km from home, still can make it back before it botak

PAD.thumb.jpg.13ab5f751dcf25c8a9367a129000c047.jpg

measuring the rear brake disk thickness 

new = 22.0mm

minimum thickness = 19.4mm

current thickness at 102,000km = 21.0mm

will hit minimum thickness at 265,000km, most likely change car already 😁

20240706_001049.thumb.jpg.ac52229c5b954cd921c94383a14846c6.jpg

if your brake disk has these dimples (they are not through holes) on the surface, they are disk thickness indicators

when they disappeared, meaning your brake disk is at the minimum thickness, time to change

20240706_001122.thumb.jpg.52ac394dfb566aa8f3b6f95c9488e48e.jpg

before start work, got to retract the electronic parking brake through the menu

can hear the sound of both electronic parking brake motors winding back

20240706_002646.thumb.jpg.21906be294da4e327c77c71e5a8a0b98.jpg

20240706_002823.thumb.jpg.af7a189da1874a68e12b8d7e4e53fd27.jpg

20240706_002852.thumb.jpg.313bb9d50fe60da49ed79e3876cf5f8a.jpg

spent a long time cleaning those recessed areas where the pad sits

20240706_005130.thumb.jpg.71f419c81cb665cfefa4e5fe6986446a.jpg

apply grease, sparingly

20240706_005701.thumb.jpg.ac3e17499be49b7c9d80ca6b5d7cef1f.jpg

new pads in

20240706_010257.thumb.jpg.b2072bcf5ea0f98c17d7da4c66e46aad.jpg

push the caliper piston back

20240706_010548.thumb.jpg.06f64b4ae7174c1009a78fc9f8e1bccf.jpg

clean the old grease on the sliding pins and apply fresh grease

20240706_003839.thumb.jpg.9022d304b43897037b885265d5f622a4.jpg

clean the mating surfaces where the wheel meets the brake rotor

20240706_012624.thumb.jpg.cb80bd65a7ef4a12ca1e7eb4e84f46bd.jpg

put everything back, torque them up with torque wrench, reset the electronic parking brake back to normal position, apply brake until getting a firm pedal, gao tim

On 7/3/2024 at 11:24 PM, Gnahp said:

wanted to ask you guys for opinion

this is the brake wear sensor

s-l1200.webp

it has two wires, a two-prong connector

this is how it worn on my previous W204, triggered the brake wear message

20210208_144035_resized.thumb.jpg.a54dfa1198817707f3e84a4f19916577.jpg

do you guys think:-

1. the two wire is a loop, the wear breaks the wire, causing open circuit, triggering the brake wear message

2. the two wire both connected to +12V, the wear grind away the plastic insulation on the tip, allowing the probe to touch the brake rotor (GND/ground) to form a close circuit, triggering the brake wear message

looking at the way it worn on my old W204, I am more incline to No.2

to answer my own question

after checking with multimeter, it's No. 1

20240706_015339.thumb.jpg.883e20a5215ca0d7e266a729e7c9973c.jpg

On 7/5/2024 at 4:02 PM, Gnahp said:

I wanted to follow the book by using mercedes pad grease

went to 3 merc stockists, all shake head wave hands

s-l400-1.jpg.7fead65dab9ea711a85a5b94c7061a3f.jpg

f84b32389046b3275bdcec48deb68209.gif

Order via min hoe? 
the rest of the useless stockist will reject. 

On 7/6/2024 at 5:27 AM, Gnahp said:

to answer my own question

after checking with multimeter, it's No. 1

20240706_015339.thumb.jpg.883e20a5215ca0d7e266a729e7c9973c.jpg

Funnily that Japanese makes and majority of car have no brake wear sensor. Except Ang mo chia…. I wonder why they bother. 

On 7/6/2024 at 7:34 AM, Beregond said:

I am guessing this is the front?

this is the rear brake

front brake pads also very near to the limit, the car will give message anytime 

On 7/6/2024 at 7:55 AM, Mkl22 said:

Order via min hoe? 
the rest of the useless stockist will reject. 

I will use other generic pad grease that I have at home, I am not that OCD lah 😁

On 7/6/2024 at 7:57 AM, Mkl22 said:

Funnily that Japanese makes and majority of car have no brake wear sensor. Except Ang mo chia…. I wonder why they bother. 

the rest of the cars have this, KISS (keep it simple stupid), I like

even my wife also won't ignore it and will tell me about it

the warning message on screen type, she will just press OK and ignore

Brake-Wear-Indicator.jpg

2-3mm is about the limit. Go any less and the pad material might drop off from the metal backing. 
if you see the construction of the brake pad you know what I mean. 

On 7/6/2024 at 4:13 PM, Mkl22 said:

2-3mm is about the limit. Go any less and the pad material might drop off from the metal backing. 
if you see the construction of the brake pad you know what I mean. 

you are right 👍

especially when the pads have tapered wear

taperedpads-ed.jpg

brake-pad-wear-1-521.jpg

On 7/6/2024 at 12:45 PM, Gnahp said:

this is the rear brake

front brake pads also very near to the limit, the car will give message anytime 

the rear brake, how u open the brake caplier??👍