SG retail getting affected....

Donut

in hk ... tsim sha tsui or causeway bay ... the rental is like SGD$100K for a small shop ... selling food sure cannot tahan

so ... close shop ... then suddenly pop up a cosmetic shop or drug store selling all items that desired by PRC tourists

without PRC tourists ... all these costmetic and drug store with SGD$100k rental probably close shop too

Depends lah. If you go to cheap restro, confirm need to book because everyone flocks there. Want to eat, then go to the better ones. Weekdays will be ok. Weekends may need to book.

Rental as always will kill off a lot of businesses. No choice when landlords suck them dry. Increase prices too much and patrons disappear from stores. Nothing they can do but to close shop. A lot of trades are gone because of that. Now a lot of retail shops in HK also feeling the heat with less mainland chinese nowadays. I think it's good cos a lot of them were so cocky [laugh] [laugh]

Recently I had dinner at Lei Garden at Shatin Plaza with my customers after meeting

The food is good and the prices are cheaper than Sgp Lei Garden.

I was told the rental in Shatin Plaza is higher than TST or HKG island now is it true?

I also like the Fairwood Steamboat Shabu shabu meal value for money too and hope someone bring it to Sgp

Edited by Tigerwoods

Recently I had dinner at Lei Garden at Shatin Plaza with my customers after meeting

I was told the rental in Shatin Plaza is higher than TST or HKG island now is it true?

I also like the Fairwood Steamboat Shabu shabu meal value for money too and hope someone bring it to Sgp

Lei Garden at Shatin is not so good. Go to the one at Mongkok better but more crowded there and tables a bit more crammed.

Shatin one is actually at New Town Plaza and it's under Sun Hung Kai so rental is expensive. There was a revamp a few years back so that pushed up rental even more. With the explosion of mainland chinese tourists in HK the past few years, you can imagine what landlords will do.

Same thing with the tim sum.... so much more ex here.

Someore, wages in HKG are higher than SGP.

Pui.....

Same thing with the tim sum.... so much more ex here.

Someore, wages in HKG are higher than SGP.

Pui.....

My first TimHoWan experience is in Olympic city and no Qs. Prices are cheaper and the PAO taste better then the Bedok Point store

Lei Garden at Shatin is not so good. Go to the one at Mongkok better but more crowded there and tables a bit more crammed.

Shatin one is actually at New Town Plaza and it's under Sun Hung Kai so rental is expensive. There was a revamp a few years back so that pushed up rental even more. With the explosion of mainland chinese tourists in HK the past few years, you can imagine what landlords will do.

Maybe the next time I go my biz trip rounds in HKG we go eat Lei Garden at Mongkok? Hahahahaaaaaa

Unker @Fongmy pay........

My first TimHoWan experience is in Olympic city and no Qs. Prices are cheaper and the PAO taste better then the Bedok Point store

Maybe the next time I go my biz trip rounds in HKG we go eat Lei Garden at Mongkok? Hahahahaaaaaa

Unker @Fongmy pay........

[laugh] [laugh] Ok... He pays. :D

Been to a few malls in town recently. GSS is not bringing in the customers.

One of worse is Marina Square, many empty retail space.

GSS now? Didnt see much sales really with low price le?

modus operandi for most shops same same - discounts given on selected or dated items only.

But if you happen find something you really like has, say 50% discount, then its GSS for you lp :D

Edited by Toothiewabbit

GSS? like very quiet n dead.

not much hoohaa on GSS anymore.

we can get discounts all yr round.

Today, went to Watson, supposed to have member discount gala. Went to ask how much does this Cetaphil cream cost. They told me $14+ is already discounted price. Watson thinks I am stupid? $14+ is the usual price.

Welcome to the most expensive city in the world!

Going to do my shopping elsewhere....Bye Singapore!

To the gahment...oh, so sad that you can't earn my GST. Not!

LoL...

frankly I can't imagine myself coming to Sgp to shop.

Our prices are so high it makes better sense for a tourist to go elsewhere .

Our Hotel rates are more expensive than Hkg.

What happened ?

1 word : Landlord.

Land of LANDLORDS ! FTW

They will kill every business and entrepreneurship eventually.

Knee jerk effect.

All started because of MBS.

@ Orchard Road - When my next door neighbor (MBS) have such good returns on rental, i will try to market 75% of theirs.

So everyone follow the same and when everything stable abit, MBS upped price further more as they are the market leader.

Rounds after rounds, it wasn't peaked but due to a political shift (which we didn't expect & relied so much on tourism trade) in China, everyone fall.

Shop owners, if one just signed a new 2 years rental contract, prepare to close shop either after GSS or try to hold on till CNY.

actually MBS many store also look nice nia but not many customers leh

yes ... only TOURIST buy ... lol

By this rate, once interest rate increase, we will hit by inflation followed by economy crisis, then deflation.

By then, cash would be king.

Those with loans, be prepared.

The idea of shops in Singapore is not to make many sales, but make the most profit out from a single sale. Too many customers no good for shops 'cos not enough manpower to cope. [laugh]

employees will think in this way......but employers will want every sales to be max......... :D

是吗, 我不懂英文。 在国内讲普话:p

"话" 是什么玩意儿?

您是说"只"讲普"通"话吧?

这才对呗!

在国内都是这么说的.

Edited by Albeniz

Welcome to the most expensive city in the world!

Going to do my shopping elsewhere....Bye Singapore!

To the gahment...oh, so sad that you can't earn my GST. Not!

LoL...

ya man tell them to take all the money and shaft it up their ....