Legal question: anti competition clause

Little_prince

Of course I hv a learned opinion on this matter, but I seldom give free advice unfortunately.

You have 31 posts but only 28 points.

Its debatetable how much your learned opinion is valued here.

Of course I hv a learned opinion on this matter, but I seldom give free advice unfortunately.

Ya... I also have a learned opinion. That's why I haven't spoken yet too -_-

What's your opinion of my opinion? [grin]

I also have learned opinion. Learned people like us should just keep everything to ourselves and stay off all public forums. [thumbsup]

Perhaps I could put it across in another way..... public forums are great sharing platforms, and I hv learnt a lot from MCF, along with many others. However when we deal with more serious matters other than "what tyre should I buy" or "is XYZ a good groomer / mechanic", I really am of the view that professional advice should be sought.

Just my view, something as serious as potentially being brought to court should not be determined based on views shared on public forums.

Apologies if I crossed anyone here.

Perhaps I could put it across in another way..... public forums are great sharing platforms, and I hv learnt a lot from MCF, along with many others. However when we deal with more serious matters other than "what tyre should I buy" or "is XYZ a good groomer / mechanic", I really am of the view that professional advice should be sought.

Just my view, something as serious as potentially being brought to court should not be determined based on views shared on public forums.

Now you have 32 post and 28 points.

Its getting worse.

I doubt any of us will take forum information as gospel.

Just cos i read "ATBCBJHJ" doesn't mean i will try it just for the taste.

I'm sure we can separate general advice and specific advice both as people dispensing and people receiving.

Anyway if u're amused. Then at least say something why u think you're amused.

I doubt any of us will take forum information as gospel.

Just cos i read "ATBCBJHJ" doesn't mean i will try it just for the taste.

I'm sure we can separate general advice and specific advice both as people dispensing and people receiving.

i think i better not ask any medical opinion here to hear from you and radx, if not i die faster [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

@Little_prince. Do you have the link to the dentist case?

Can't find it

Lol who's the judge.

Lawyer i also not very sure.

lol. general advice also don't want to share then don't bother lor.

here you are bro.

http://www.singaporelaw.sg/sglaw/laws-of-singapore/case-law/free-law/court-of-appeal-judgments/14940-smile-inc-dental-surgeons-pte-ltd-v-lui-andrew-stewart-2012-sgca-39

don't worry. the doc won. =p

i think i better not ask any medical opinion here to hear from you and radx, if not i die faster [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

radx can probably advice on which coffin more comfortable. lol

Thanks for the feedback. Guess posts count and points matter much here, hence I better just keep to advising my paying clients. Hv a great day then.

Thanks. Cos i signed some anti-competition clause when i joined.

Which i thought was just plain silly unless i set up shop right beside my old clinic.

Though i don't think i will leave on bad terms.

Yeah i read about the initial lawsuit but didn't read about the conclusion!

Thanks. Cos i signed some anti-competition clause when i joined.

Which i thought was just plain silly unless i set up shop right beside my old clinic.

Though i don't think i will leave on bad terms.

Yeah i read about the initial lawsuit but didn't read about the conclusion!

for your type of specialised professions. very hard to enforce the clause.

lagi restraint of trade.

court don't expect you from being lok khoon to go to becoming an engineer mah. lol

Edited by Little_prince

Thanks for the feedback. Guess posts count and points matter much here, hence I better just keep to advising my paying clients. Hv a great day then.

not post counts. we all started from somewhere

ppl will respect good advice.

but your comment was uncalled for esp since you have nothing to contribute.

in short: you asked for it.

bro ... if everyone like you, then the world will not be a better place. if you are so worried about giving wrong advice, give a disclaimer that yours is a non-legal advice and that they take it with no liability on your part.

like that, all of the guys in the property thread will also die.

ultimately, this is just a discussion. what you choose to do with *any* advice you find on a forum is definitely your problem.

also - dont think anybody gives 2 hoots about the points. not say i can feed myself with that points. but sharing on the forums can lead to learning new things ... but i guess we are all different in the way we perceive participation ... :P

Just read through the seacad case ---

Seems the issue there was the senorority (arrgghh spelling) of the defendant - he was the GM of the company, and access to confidential information - so that seems to validate what most here have been saying...

You have 31 posts but only 28 points.

Its debatetable how much your learned opinion is valued here.

You on fire again la today.. =X Bad to be on the receiving end..

It's not about post count or points. It's about post quality. And so far, points are mostly given when posts are of a good quality. Hence, we can see from post count / points ratio of a forumer's quality (somewhat). It's not a be all and end all, but it does give a good indicator.

This is a public forum, people give advice based on what they know or heard. Some posters gave very good advise on their area of expertise, so you'll see sometimes when TF4 talks about medical, or Sp4wn talks about property management, or T2 talking about cigar or rolex or table wiping, other forumers do learn from them. At least, I know I do..

(@super7 and @tvt only talks about STiDOM stuff though [laugh] )

Edited by Hydrocarbon

You on fire again la today.. =X Bad to be on the receiving end..

It's not about post count or points. It's about post quality. And so far, points are mostly given when posts are of a good quality. Hence, we can see from post count / points ratio of a forumer's quality (somewhat). It's not a be all and end all, but it does give a good indicator.

This is a public forum, people give advice based on what they know or heard. Some posters gave very good advise on their area of expertise, so you'll see sometimes when TF4 talks about medical, or Sp4wn talks about property management, or T2 talking about cigar or rolex or table wiping, other forumers do learn from them. At least, I know I do..

(@super7 and @tvt only talks about STiDOM stuff though [laugh] )

You are a good student! [thumbsup] [thumbsup]

The old company already got problem paying salary liao where got money to sue him, also not sure can win or not.

sue him to pay the rest mah......... [laugh]

hi guys.

asking a question on behalf of a good friend of mind.

background.

- Sales manager in a coy dealing with IT products

- Company late with salary on several occasions in the last yr.

- was offered a role with a competitor with 30% up.

- current contract clause restrict employment with all direct and indirect competitors for 1 year.

Question

1. Is restraint of trade enforceable in singapore? MOM website very ambiguous.

2. Is late payment of salary/CPF considered a breach of contract? hence making the contract null and void?

thanks in advance

she sld let her new potential employer be aware of the clause.........I think the HR department can advice her better...........