Little_prince Supersonic June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 I agree with u. But do note that the one they are protecting is not office staff like me and u. But those lower on the ground doing hard work one. Age is a factor in how fast and well do their workz I am but a poor kopi kia. I am afraid my boss hire an ah tiong replace me when I get old. Who will care for me then? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 I am but a poor kopi kia. I am afraid my boss hire an ah tiong replace me when I get old. Who will care for me then? That's the problem lor... No one can care...😭😭😭 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 Unfortunately he's still alive. Why unfortunate? He's a great man that have done alot for this country. I may not agree with everything that he ha e done or his methods. But I respect him for what he has achieved with Singapore 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 some companies cut the salary of staff past 55. Personally I find it damm ridiculous. U r still working the same hours performing to the same level. Why should the pay be cut just because you're older? Same goes for cpf. As for retirement age. Why should there be a mandatory retirement age? Ppl should be free to work as long as they wish. And retire as long as they feel comfortable financially. If the argument is to protect older workers then my retort is 1Govt say we are not not having enough babies. Hence need to bring in Foreign trash to replace us. So in this case are we having manpower issues? If yes then why do we need to be protected? Employer will be begging us to work. If no, then is the govt bringing in so many ft that our jobs are marginalized? this one, you gotta ask a certain old man. cos at >90, he still drawing enormous amount of pay. whether got work or not, i dun know unless his KPI and appraisal reports are made public. The remove estate taxes because they forsee lau lee dying soon. really?!? wow... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 Why unfortunate? He's a great man that have done alot for this country. I may not agree with everything that he ha e done or his methods. But I respect him for what he has achieved with Singapore Unfortunat becaus he is still suffering from old age?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 That's the problem lor... No one can care...😭😭😭 i know you mean to say "no one will care". 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 Unfortunat becaus he is still suffering from old age?? missing his wife too much bah. Can see him being v haggard since she died. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 i know you mean to say "no one will care". I really mean no one can care... We all so poor.. How to care.😭😭😭😭 Okay u are right.... missing his wife too much bah. Can see him being v haggard since she died. Yeah... People who speak bad about him didn't realise they can speak bad about him is because of all the things (both dirty and clean) he had done for Singapore. While not perfect... Which no one is, should still be respected. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 like i said, it is a paradigm shift. you think the incumbent G will do it now that so many people have bought the flats at such high prices?!? i said the idea is not a bad one. it requires a HUGE paradigm shift to re-implement it. and even if it were to be introduced, it has to be a tapered implementation to deal with the scenario that you described. it will be a much more effective cooling measure than all the current duties that is slapped on the buyer when a housing transaction takes place. no? good thing no come cheap. cheap thing may not come good. want good thing to come cheap? intial high price to pay. again, all i am saying is the idea may not be a bad one. it is the implementation that needs to be discussed. good idea but hardly implementable in current or short term of 10 years, UNLESS there is a hard reset in global circumstances eg 3rd world war. I rather pay for high priced housing than have a hard reset. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 Few years ago, prices were so high, but we have no choice but to buy a small unit, and we still have to use CPF. If housing is cheap, I will use less when I buy HDB flat lor. If housing so expensive, damned it, I have no choice but to use more lor. They askin u to pay housing loan in cash. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged June 25, 2014 Share June 25, 2014 the govt and scholars live in their little ivory towers where they dont need to compete with global talents. As long as they stay in civil service their rice bowl up to 65 is secured. Unlike us in the outside world. To them annual 5-10% increments and 3-6mths bnus are the norm. But we know better. Thats the reality of the world. Even wo inc n bonus their remuneration can withstd many yrs of inflation knn. can be used for investment purpose. But not your investment hor, it is the government's investment! i don't understand... LSS say don't use CPF when we are young... how to not use CPF when HDB compulsorily wipe out all my OA account when i purchase a flat? And HDB purposely let our asset price shoot up so my OA becomes zero no matter how much i try to accumulate over the past decade of my working life Having said all that, i do love the advice that govt gives to ordinary singaporeans best way for Singaporeans to prepare for retirement is to use less of their Central Provident Fund (CPF) money when they are young best way to reduce medical cost is to stay healthy best way to not be affected by high cost of living is to have lower aspirations in life U forgot smthg - best way to reach a destination is by public tpt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgbenni Clutched June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 Evevyone in singapore can retire early if he has a HDB flat. How? rent out the whole HDB flat and stay at Low cost living country, eg Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philipine, India and etc...NO need to work already....Eg Rent out HDB for S$ 2000, if u stay in Malaysia will be RM5000 which is enough for u to survive. Only worry HDB may come out new ruling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 (edited) provided we continue to import FT ... if not who rent your HDB? and FT also become PR and can buy HDB liao then PR also rent out HDB and live happily ever after in China and India collecting HDB rental ... lagi shiok 6.9M > 10M > 12M population? Evevyone in singapore can retire early if he has a HDB flat. How? rent out the whole HDB flat and stay at Low cost living country, eg Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philipine, India and etc...NO need to work already....Eg Rent out HDB for S$ 2000, if u stay in Malaysia will be RM5000 which is enough for u to survive. Only worry HDB may come out new ruling. Edited June 26, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 Evevyone in singapore can retire early if he has a HDB flat. How? rent out the whole HDB flat and stay at Low cost living country, eg Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philipine, India and etc...NO need to work already....Eg Rent out HDB for S$ 2000, if u stay in Malaysia will be RM5000 which is enough for u to survive. Only worry HDB may come out new ruling. if everyone cleared hdb easy, retired etc then i also quite worried for next gen liao maybe by that time, we reset back to 70s liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 They askin u to pay housing loan in cash. haven't reach the stage of ask yet. now only hinting. hinting nia. ... U forgot smthg - best way to reach a destination is by public tpt. still not the cheapest. you forgot options like walking and cycling. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 Why unfortunate? He's a great man that have done alot for this country. I may not agree with everything that he ha e done or his methods. But I respect him for what he has achieved with Singapore He is. And nothing anybody can say can take that away from him. I don't agree with him still being in the government or what some of the policies enacted by his party in recent years, but I still have a great amount of respect for him for what he's done for Singapore. Without him, we'd probably not be complaining about COE / ERP / PARF / CPF, but rather, complain about being taken over by our neighbours or any of the other concerns we had in the 40s-60s.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 Evevyone in singapore can retire early if he has a HDB flat. How? rent out the whole HDB flat and stay at Low cost living country, eg Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philipine, India and etc...NO need to work already....Eg Rent out HDB for S$ 2000, if u stay in Malaysia will be RM5000 which is enough for u to survive. Only worry HDB may come out new ruling. If everyone does that, you think you will still be able to find someone to rent your flat at $2000? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged June 26, 2014 Share June 26, 2014 haven't reach the stage of ask yet. now only hinting. hinting nia. still not the cheapest. you forgot options like walking and cycling. whatever, as long as u don't use car lol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...