frenchfly 5th Gear June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 (edited) On 6/18/2014 at 9:25 AM, Darryn said: I'll ask you back - In what other country a) Do you have racial quota for housing precincts? b) Does public housing make up approx 75% of the market? c) Home owners that bought houses on the "open" market cannot rent them? d) Can an upgrading fee be imposed on homeowners when they don't get a vote in the upgrading? bundek, i am just asking a question, and i just want to know it would be good if you can tell me, if you got issues with yourself. go find a psychiatrist Edited June 18, 2014 by frenchfly ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 On 6/18/2014 at 8:44 AM, Icedbs said: I feel the whole argument very one dimensional. PR has to also leave heir homeland, sacrifices their comfort zone for a better life in Singapore. And while here, they too contribute to the economy and taxes which share a part of nation building for Singapore. Agreed! Most PRs contribute to our economy by working here, or even if they're the spouse of another PR working here or a Singaporean working here, they are still contributing to the economy. Besides, they bought their HDBs at market rate, they should be allowed to sell at market rate and keep the proceeds. On 6/18/2014 at 9:13 AM, Kar_lover said: Sigh, this argument is founded on green eye syndrome. The perpetrators, having served NS (or for whatever other reason), are not happy that PRs who did not serve NS (or whatever other reason) are enjoying the perks (eg. allowed to buy HDB flat) just like Singaporeans. It doesn't matter that it is not ALL of the perks that are enjoyed by PRs - the fact that there are some is enough to rile them. Being able to withdraw all their CPF when they return home (which Singaporeans can't) is another green eye issue. Logic and rationale are substituted by envy. It's the same as the another thread where people were saying Malaysians should not be allowed to drive Malaysian registered cars into Singapore at all cos they didn't pay for COE which Singaporeans paid in order to enjoy the privilege of driving. They forget that over the course of 10 years, the amount paid comes quite close to that of a COE. Next thing you know, they will be unhappy that the Malaysian cars can fill up with cheap petrol in Malaysia which is a benefit Singapore cars are not able to enjoy. Agreed too.. Anyway, some PRs do serve NS. I stay in the north, and studied with a lot of Malaysians during my secondary school days. The guys who stayed on, and became PRs, have all served in NS. A few went to OCS, one or two in Guards and other xiong units. And yet, when they are sick, they still pay PR rates at polyclinics. I'm in favour of the current level of subsidy for Citizens and PRs. There is enough of a distinction between Citizens and PRs, while not demoralising the PRs working here. PRs couples (both PRs), should never be allowed to buy HDBs straight from HDB, subsidised or not, but they should be allowed to buy resale, and keep the proceeds when they sell it. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 On 6/18/2014 at 7:19 AM, Vid said: We are the "privileged" few who can do NS [:/] If the standing Army is 280,000 strong, total population is 5.6mil. It's really the "privileged few" at 5% of population 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 18, 2014 Share June 18, 2014 On 6/18/2014 at 9:45 AM, Qpik said: Serve NS isn't it local liao? Local doesn't mean serve NS: new citizen Eg: 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/18/2014 at 11:52 PM, Mustank said: Local doesn't mean serve NS: new citizen Eg: On the other hand, foreigner doesn't mean didn't serve NS wor: pr For example: 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:23 AM, Mustank said: On the other hand, foreigner doesn't mean didn't serve NS wor: pr For example: Isnt this guy the one old man tried to discredit? :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:23 AM, Mustank said: On the other hand, foreigner doesn't mean didn't serve NS wor: pr For example: this one must gibe credit.....not like some who gibe excuses and lame reasons! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:49 AM, Eviilusion said: this one must gibe credit.....not like some who gibe excuses and lame reasons! by now this one is the target of fixing, fixers are waiting for the slightest chance to fix him good!! [sweatdrop] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:23 AM, Mustank said: On the other hand, foreigner doesn't mean didn't serve NS wor: pr For example: I notice the MRT shuttle bus in the back ground is super wide... new model?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:49 AM, Eviilusion said: this one must gibe credit.....not like some who gibe excuses and lame reasons! in war, would you trust a guy who is a fellow citizen but didnt serve ns or a guy who is not a citizen but served ns? or how about a guy who served ns as a defence scientist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/18/2014 at 11:52 PM, Mustank said: Local doesn't mean serve NS: new citizen Eg: Oic, local but CK nvr serve NS is what? The case i heard is not mental issue w the offspring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 1:06 AM, Qpik said: Oic, local but CK nvr serve NS is what? The case i heard is not mental issue w the offspring. sorry, dont understand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:59 AM, Mustank said: in war, would you trust a guy who is a fellow citizen but didnt serve ns or a guy who is not a citizen but served ns? or how about a guy who served ns as a defence scientist? I only trust the guy who is defending the country at that moment in time. I boh takchek, dono what defence scientist do so cannot give credit. On 6/19/2014 at 1:08 AM, Mustank said: sorry, dont understand I heard got one chaokeng (CK) mental issue lies not w him... maybe w the enlistment dept on how to deal w him cos this CK got Bai Ma Shan behind him. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 12:59 AM, Mustank said: in war, would you trust a guy who is a fellow citizen but didnt serve ns or a guy who is not a citizen but served ns? or how about a guy who served ns as a defence scientist? in war i will trust anybody who will be in my foxhole....pr or citizen! As long they are there when sheet hits the fan my trust will be with him/her because those that i wont trust will probably be out of this country. As long we are fighting the common foe i will trust him/her. But i prefer its a she......for the long cold nights.......hahaha! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 Last time hear say is liddat one. They will invite you to take up citizenship for at least 3 times. After that, no renewal of PR if you don't take up. My fren panicked, ran away and back to MY. But then, lifestyle there suits her better too. On 6/18/2014 at 7:07 AM, Jman888 said: as if so easy to convert, if cannot convert must leave singapore? Actually, can just implement capital/asset gain tax for non-citizen. Sounds more politically correct also rather than say "disallowing PRs leaving SG to keep HDB sale proceed". On 6/18/2014 at 3:45 PM, Hydrocarbon said: Agreed! Most PRs contribute to our economy by working here, or even if they're the spouse of another PR working here or a Singaporean working here, they are still contributing to the economy. Besides, they bought their HDBs at market rate, they should be allowed to sell at market rate and keep the proceeds. Agreed too..Anyway, some PRs do serve NS. I stay in the north, and studied with a lot of Malaysians during my secondary school days. The guys who stayed on, and became PRs, have all served in NS. A few went to OCS, one or two in Guards and other xiong units. And yet, when they are sick, they still pay PR rates at polyclinics. I'm in favour of the current level of subsidy for Citizens and PRs. There is enough of a distinction between Citizens and PRs, while not demoralising the PRs working here. PRs couples (both PRs), should never be allowed to buy HDBs straight from HDB, subsidised or not, but they should be allowed to buy resale, and keep the proceeds when they sell it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 Back to topic, I think root is allowing them to withdraw cpf monies. Maybe spore shd hv diff cpf minimum level :- $155K for non-mp w no dtorship. $155K for non-mp w $1k for every dtorship he/she holds. $5M for mp w no dtorship. $10M base n add $1M for every dtorship he/she holds. I propose these cos higher income earners tend to spend more. N most importantly $155k is an insult to them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 Aiya....since we have an endless flow of ppl pouring into our tiny island. Whatever new restrictions our govt imposes......they will still pour in. The reasons are so bloody obvious....strong SG dollar, safe environment, political stability, roti prata hdb flats......the pull factors is so overwhelming strong. I say impose more restrictions lar!!!! The more the better. Especially at their pockets......hehehe. And channel the benefits back to SG citizens. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged June 19, 2014 Share June 19, 2014 On 6/19/2014 at 1:22 AM, Kangadrool said: Last time hear say is liddat one. They will invite you to take up citizenship for at least 3 times. After that, no renewal of PR if you don't take up. My fren panicked, ran away and back to MY. But then, lifestyle there suits her better too. ... Still got "invitation"? Maybe only for selected ones these days, e.g. high-flyers. But if a person applies for it, the application may be granted even if seemingly no clear benefit (other than securing vote?) to the country. Example, some "new citizens" are actually already retiree-age and at the end of working (tax-paying) life, but still considered. Maybe for past contribution as PR; I wouldn't know. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...