Kangadrool Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Even in good times, they already can't find decent jobs in their own countries, the more they need Singapore during bad times. singapore is an open economy. If a downturn happens here, chances are that most countries are also in contraction or slowing down. hence it is true that most PR do not leave during downturn in SG. I would suspect that even during a downturn, their prospect in SG is better than anywhere else they can go ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Wah...there's a very arrogant "we are special" attitude here that smacks of the theme of "American Exceptionalism" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 (edited) It is not arrogance , but it is plain Singapore self confidence and naivety. Singapore isn't Singapore if there isn't any one serving NS , Singapore isn't Singapore if LKY and gang didn't go out to the world to sell Singapore. I wonder at times , if Singapore isn't good why are you here? It is self explanatory , if you can't take it , you can take your shit else where. Edited June 20, 2014 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 (edited) To be honest...I don't really blame the PRs for exploiting the system. It's not their fault our systems allow them to waltz in, make their money and cash out at the end of the day. If there's anyone to blame it would be the people who are responsible for creating this system and allowing it to exist (for apparently economic reasons). When it comes to exploiting loopholes, we Singaporeans have proven that we can hold their own against the best in the world. So it's kinda hypocritical for us to be bitching about other people exploiting the loopholes that exist in our system. For course foreigners/FTs/PRs/new citizens brining their bad behaviour and habits here is a totally different thing. Edited June 20, 2014 by Myxilplix 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 It is not arrogance , but it is plain Singapore self confidence and naivety. Singapore isn't Singapore if there isn't any one serving NS , Singapore isn't Singapore if LKY and gang didn't go out to the world to sell Singapore. I wonder at times , if Singapore isn't good why are you here? It is self explanatory , if you can't take it , you can take your shit else where. No One is saying that Singapore isn't "good" Is it the Nirvana that some of the posts here seem to imply? No. Is it a good place to work and live? Pretty much Are there other places that offer things, and a lifestyle that SIngapore doesn't? Also pretty much To proselytise the way some here are I think does the debate a disservice. To claim that everybody wants to come here, and will stay here at all costs and all circumstances because its "better" than wherever I think also does a disservice to reasoned debate 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Wah...there's a very arrogant "we are special" attitude here that smacks of the theme of "American Exceptionalism" we have been brainwashed by our leaders that we are special special in ASEAN context anytime we can go back into a 3rd world status 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 ok..as sop....can only unbutton uniform! Seargent Lee Chee Tiang always say wan but he didnt say about trousers! Can still play naynay! Wa lau, admin just say don't have hentai stuff leh..Haha.. To be honest...I don't really blame the PRs for exploiting the system. It's not their fault our systems allow them to waltz in, make their money and cash out at the end of the day. If there's anyone to blame it would be the people who are responsible for creating this system and allowing it to exist (for apparently economic reasons). When it comes to exploiting loopholes, we Singaporeans have proven that we can hold their own against the best in the world. So it's kinda hypocritical for us to be bitching about other people exploiting the loopholes that exist in our system. For course foreigners/FTs/PRs/new citizens brining their bad behaviour and habits here is a totally different thing. Good perspective! Thanks for sharing.. A few fast and furious posts above.. The thread becoming angry liao! Funny how Singaporeans will complain about how Singapore is lousy and all (sometimes) and yet when other people come in, we'd say it's too good for others.. Haha.. Not entirely true, but looking at forums, this is how I feel at times.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Wa lau, admin just say don't have hentai stuff leh..Haha.. Good perspective! Thanks for sharing.. A few fast and furious posts above.. The thread becoming angry liao! Funny how Singaporeans will complain about how Singapore is lousy and all (sometimes) and yet when other people come in, we'd say it's too good for others.. Haha.. Not entirely true, but looking at forums, this is how I feel at times.. nay is the same as no.....so naynay actually is nono......errrr....maciam malay bad language.......sorry! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda2gal 5th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 PRs were competing with Singaporeans for resale flats until they announced that new PRs are not eligible to buy flats. Singaporeans who wanted to get resale flats faced strong competition from PRs who were cash loaded and able to pay higher cov. Of course flat owners who are looking to sell would be happy but not for locals looking to buy. A friend and her husband wanted to buy a resale flat in sembawang after many failed attempts at balloting for BTO. They were looking at the north area, when they went flat viewing, they met groups and groups of PRs who were ready to offer high cov, and they were priced out. They finally gave up and eventually got their BTO. At age 35 then they get the keys to their first home and start to have children. Maybe they are plain unlucky, but I am sure they are not the only homebuyers who were affected by the flat supply crunch and influx of foreigners. Since HDB are meant to provide affordable housing for the locals, should PRs be allowed to compete with locals for resale flats and pushing up the prices? Not to say that they should not be allowed to buy at all since some of them have been here for very long but not taking up citizenship for various reasons. But perhaps some sort of taxation on PR flat purchase to reduce demand and increase SG coffer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Si4dr 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 LOL just let SG citizen cash out CPF when retire I think nobody kpkb liao....(don't drag PR can buy HDB or not blah blah blah....) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 (edited) i wonder what your friend feel when he/she sell the BTO after 5 year MOP making $200k-$300k profit ... or 10 years later at 45 ... when your friend turn from buyer to seller and upgrade to condo PRs were competing with Singaporeans for resale flats until they announced that new PRs are not eligible to buy flats. Singaporeans who wanted to get resale flats faced strong competition from PRs who were cash loaded and able to pay higher cov. Of course flat owners who are looking to sell would be happy but not for locals looking to buy. A friend and her husband wanted to buy a resale flat in sembawang after many failed attempts at balloting for BTO. They were looking at the north area, when they went flat viewing, they met groups and groups of PRs who were ready to offer high cov, and they were priced out. They finally gave up and eventually got their BTO. At age 35 then they get the keys to their first home and start to have children. Maybe they are plain unlucky, but I am sure they are not the only homebuyers who were affected by the flat supply crunch and influx of foreigners.Since HDB are meant to provide affordable housing for the locals, should PRs be allowed to compete with locals for resale flats and pushing up the prices? Not to say that they should not be allowed to buy at all since some of them have been here for very long but not taking up citizenship for various reasons. But perhaps some sort of taxation on PR flat purchase to reduce demand and increase SG coffer. Edited June 20, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Janling3 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 To be honest...I don't really blame the PRs for exploiting the system. It's not their fault our systems allow them to waltz in, make their money and cash out at the end of the day. If there's anyone to blame it would be the people who are responsible for creating this system and allowing it to exist (for apparently economic reasons). When it comes to exploiting loopholes, we Singaporeans have proven that we can hold their own against the best in the world. So it's kinda hypocritical for us to be bitching about other people exploiting the loopholes that exist in our system. For course foreigners/FTs/PRs/new citizens brining their bad behaviour and habits here is a totally different thing. bro, you got it right. The pioneer team under LKY was the one to make this tiny island prosper from scratch. They run this country very well. Those days, PRs approval was not that easy, that's why the benefits were equal to citizen except they can't buy directly from HDB. Yes, it was a totally different environment all together, global market, work force, western countries were doing well. LKY and his teams made it happen. But the subsequent team was not as good as its predecessor which in the span of 20 years, everything gradually becomes out of hand. Look at the HDB, MRT, etc. SGP is a melting pot, LKY make it the centre of SEA, that's why we have the best infrastructure where MNCs can tap the regional market from SGP. Former foreign talent who loves this place would definitely become citizens one day, look at our forefathers. The issue is our government with its best team has to make correct policy to attract them to come, live and work for SGP. The exploitation of the policy by anyone is a proof it is has so many loopholes. You can't blame the exploiters. This is applicable to other '1st world' countries, but SGP is unique compared with the rest as it has not land mass, natural resource, etc. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 21, 2014 Share June 21, 2014 (edited) yeah ... instead of blaming exploiters ... blame the policies You can't blame the exploiters. This is applicable to other '1st world' countries, but SGP is unique compared with the rest as it has not land mass, natural resource, etc. Edited June 21, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgbenni Clutched June 21, 2014 Share June 21, 2014 I have a colleague decided to sell his HDB and went back to India. Of course, he gave up his PR and withdraw all his saving and cpf. With the money, he had started a bussiness in a small town of India. However after a year he wanted to come back to work in my company again. My company had accepted him but the problem was he need to top up the cpf with interest in order to work in Singapore. The reason why he don't want to continue with his bussiness, i 'm not very sure. I only knew he had lost some money in the bussiness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic June 21, 2014 Share June 21, 2014 (edited) i'm surprise govt allow him to return to work (EP or PR again) if he can top up CPF means he gets PR again automatically because only PR/SC got CPF, right .... walao ... like that shiok leh ... give up PR take money ... go do business if made it and want to return to spore ... just top up CPF with interest ... regain PR ... and use CPF to buy property (made money go again) I have a colleague decided to sell his HDB and went back to India. Of course, he gave up his PR and withdraw all his saving and cpf. With the money, he had started a bussiness in a small town of India. However after a year he wanted to come back to work in my company again. My company had accepted him but the problem was he need to top up the cpf with interest in order to work in Singapore. The reason why he don't want to continue with his bussiness, i 'm not very sure. I only knew he had lost some money in the bussiness. Edited June 21, 2014 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Janling3 6th Gear June 21, 2014 Share June 21, 2014 (edited) yeah ... instead of blaming exploiters ... blame the policies the below case is what I meant, the policy/policy maker that makes our country unique, hahaha... I have a colleague decided to sell his HDB and went back to India. Of course, he gave up his PR and withdraw all his saving and cpf. With the money, he had started a bussiness in a small town of India. However after a year he wanted to come back to work in my company again. My company had accepted him but the problem was he need to top up the cpf with interest in order to work in Singapore. The reason why he don't want to continue with his bussiness, i 'm not very sure. I only knew he had lost some money in the bussiness. this is just a relevant example....the core of the problem boils down to the one/department (leader and/or its staff) who approves the PR application.... Edited June 21, 2014 by Janling3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 21, 2014 Share June 21, 2014 PRs were competing with Singaporeans for resale flats until they announced that new PRs are not eligible to buy flats. Singaporeans who wanted to get resale flats faced strong competition from PRs who were cash loaded and able to pay higher cov. Of course flat owners who are looking to sell would be happy but not for locals looking to buy. A friend and her husband wanted to buy a resale flat in sembawang after many failed attempts at balloting for BTO. They were looking at the north area, when they went flat viewing, they met groups and groups of PRs who were ready to offer high cov, and they were priced out. They finally gave up and eventually got their BTO. At age 35 then they get the keys to their first home and start to have children. Maybe they are plain unlucky, but I am sure they are not the only homebuyers who were affected by the flat supply crunch and influx of foreigners. Since HDB are meant to provide affordable housing for the locals, should PRs be allowed to compete with locals for resale flats and pushing up the prices? Not to say that they should not be allowed to buy at all since some of them have been here for very long but not taking up citizenship for various reasons. But perhaps some sort of taxation on PR flat purchase to reduce demand and increase SG coffer. Good suggestion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear June 21, 2014 Share June 21, 2014 i'm surprise govt allow him to return to work (EP or PR again) if he can top up CPF means he gets PR again automatically because only PR/SC got CPF, right .... walao ... like that shiok leh ... give up PR take money ... go do business if made it and want to return to spore ... just top up CPF with interest ... regain PR ... and use CPF to buy property (made money go again) This flexible policy for foreigner is really no horse run. It runs like PR can be bought. It would be great if this can be extended to citizen. 18 yo sell citizenship to pinoy; buy back at 35 when too old to carry arms. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...