Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 This is the fundamental question, singapore is singapore because of the Singaporean , did the foreign imports mold singapore? There are plenty in MNC which I know are crap , if I am an elite why would I need to "leave" my home to a smaller island in SEA , mind you they have hard ship allowance for doing that. Personally having work with many I will have to say 60-80% of those so called foreign talents are leeches which come here for money they claim they have the skillset to do plenty but when the shit hits the wall, they usually be the first to bail out. So if there are any foreigners here, saying that we do not have a appropriate skill is crap , it is the lack of foresight and bussiness acumen from the garmen which leads to this shortage in manpower, our edb should be working with the moe to work out the skill set requirements to prepare the work force not rely on foreigners to cover their lack of oversight. So don't be stupid la. Seen too many, don't give me that bs that we need foreign talents, they need us more than it is the other way round. We aren't attracting the ones we need. Just one question - How many of the "Singapore Singaporean" you are talking about that moulded the country were immigrants, or the children of immigrants? Where did all these "Singapore Singaporean" come from? I'd also be interested in knowing, for the adult PR - how are they "leeches"? They weren't educated here, for the most part they don't use the hospitals etc - they work, presumably for a "smart" boss that is paying them to make money - their boss isn't a charity so he obviously doesn't see them as "leeches", but rather as adding value to the company. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 This is the fundamental question, singapore is singapore because of the Singaporean , did the foreign imports mold singapore? There are plenty in MNC which I know are crap , if I am an elite why would I need to "leave" my home to a smaller island in SEA , mind you they have hard ship allowance for doing that. Personally having work with many I will have to say 60-80% of those so called foreign talents are leeches which come here for money they claim they have the skillset to do plenty but when the shit hits the wall, they usually be the first to bail out. So if there are any foreigners here, saying that we do not have a appropriate skill is crap , it is the lack of foresight and bussiness acumen from the garmen which leads to this shortage in manpower, our edb should be working with the moe to work out the skill set requirements to prepare the work force not rely on foreigners to cover their lack of oversight. So don't be stupid la. Seen too many, don't give me that bs that we need foreign talents, they need us more than it is the other way round. We aren't attracting the ones we need. I am not critisizing you but your comment is contradictory. The whole premise of your comment is that we do not need foreign talents and you end it with the statement that we are not attracting the ones we need !! So we need or don't need? My take is that there are fields, especially those that we do not have any local expertise and it is developing at a very fast pace where we need foreign import to jump start the whole sector. Not everything or everyone can be trained ahead of time, if EDB and Ministry of Education is doing what you suggest and training people on the area/field that has yet to be proven ahead of time, then they are playing with people's lives and future. It will be a totally different problems altogether. I do agree with you that there are areas that we do not need to import, perhaps like those in the financial sector doing work that many locals can do. BTW, I don't think company pays hardship allowance to employees relocate to Singapore anymore lah. I know this at least 15 years ago from an employee in Intel. Their HR said "what hardship?" just look around you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Just one question - How many of the "Singapore Singaporean" you are talking about that moulded the country were immigrants, or the children of immigrants? Where did all these "Singapore Singaporean" come from? I'd also be interested in knowing, for the adult PR - how are they "leeches"? They weren't educated here, for the most part they don't use the hospitals etc - they work, presumably for a "smart" boss that is paying them to make money - their boss isn't a charity so he obviously doesn't see them as "leeches", but rather as adding value to the company. To answer to you , how many here are actually creating VALUE via investing in singapore? If one comes here to "work" , what makes you think they are better? If the adult pr comes here to "employ" and create jobs ,then i am probably wrong , how many people come here to do so by "adding" value by bringing in more job opportunities. Do you? As for public utilities , i am not sure how much of a talent you are that you can only define one public place , there are places like libraries , swimming pools and even sports halls etc which foreigners use at subsidized price. Are you tell me that people don't use those stuff? As for hospitals , prs still pay a subsidized cost as compared to the others so don't come and bulls**t about those prs not using it. Unless you tell me they don't use it completely , i too for the past 30 years didn't use the hospital at all so ? Most people in their early adult life won't be in need to hospitals so don't give me those bs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 To answer to you , how many here are actually creating VALUE via investing in singapore? If one comes here to "work" , what makes you think they are better? If the adult pr comes here to "employ" and create jobs ,then i am probably wrong , how many people come here to do so by "adding" value by bringing in more job opportunities. Do you? As for public utilities , i am not sure how much of a talent you are that you can only define one public place , there are places like libraries , swimming pools and even sports halls etc which foreigners use at subsidized price. Are you tell me that people don't use those stuff? As for hospitals , prs still pay a subsidized cost as compared to the others so don't come and bulls**t about those prs not using it. Unless you tell me they don't use it completely , i too for the past 30 years didn't use the hospital at all so ? Most people in their early adult life won't be in need to hospitals so don't give me those bs. You still haven't answered the question - by and large, somebody in "prime working age" won't be using the hospital - as to things like libraries etc - paid for by taxes, which the PR also pays, so it's hardly "leeching". Is the only definition of value to come here and employ? Helping a company to make money is not "adding value"? The company employing the PR obviously thinks they are "better" - otherwise they wouldn't employ them in the first place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 (edited) I am not critisizing you but your comment is contradictory. The whole premise of your comment is that we do not need foreign talents and you end it with the statement that we are not attracting the ones we need !! So we need or don't need? My take is that there are fields, especially those that we do not have any local expertise and it is developing at a very fast pace where we need foreign import to jump start the whole sector. Not everything or everyone can be trained ahead of time, if EDB and Ministry of Education is doing what you suggest and training people on the area/field that has yet to be proven ahead of time, then they are playing with people's lives and future. It will be a totally different problems altogether. I do agree with you that there are areas that we do not need to import, perhaps like those in the financial sector doing work that many locals can do. BTW, I don't think company pays hardship allowance to employees relocate to Singapore anymore lah. I know this at least 15 years ago from an employee in Intel. Their HR said "what hardship?" just look around you. I am biased , i already say i am nationalist. For the matter of fact , i am pretty sure , you cannot separate foreign talent from non foreign talents. Now tell me what field is that ? If we are bringing in talents to create jobs , then yes they are talents that we need, does it mean loss of job opportunity for the others?? The answer is no. Then these are the talents we need. Jobs creation is very important for Singaporeans since you claim as developing at a very fast pace. If it is , how come i have not heard of it , if it is really growing at very fast pace , how come is there no employment? Or even hype? Personally i am in the finance industry so long , hardship allowance is always around , free lodging , free car , free children education etc on top of their pay. You still haven't answered the question - by and large, somebody in "prime working age" won't be using the hospital - as to things like libraries etc - paid for by taxes, which the PR also pays, so it's hardly "leeching". Is the only definition of value to come here and employ? Helping a company to make money is not "adding value"? The company employing the PR obviously thinks they are "better" - otherwise they wouldn't employ them in the first place. Look at the amount of kids in singapore studying , are there all singaporeans? No leeching? By the way , if you wanna compare taxes why not compare taxes in your own country to here? If it is not better here , why aren't you back in your own place? Again , stupid question stupid ans. The companies employing them "thinks" they are "better" , how many dare to admit they are "wrong" ? Ops ? Too stupid to understand the mechanics of that? Edited June 20, 2014 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 My dear friend , look at the amount of kids in singapore studying , are there all singaporeans? That's a totally different policy - rightly or wrongly. In case you hadn't noticed, the topic of this thread is HDB and repatriation of profits - What exactly has that got to do with the ASEAN Scholars programme - or kids studying in school? The companies employing them "thinks" they are "better" , how many dare to admit they are "wrong" ? Ops ? Too stupid to understand the mechanics of that? So these incompetent PR keep their jobs because the boss is too embarrassed to admit a mistake? If that is the case....I only have one thing to say Boss is a farking moron. And deserves everything he gets (or doesn't get) - Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 I am biased , i already say i am nationalist. For the matter of fact , i am pretty sure , you cannot separate foreign talent from non foreign talents. Now tell me what field is that ? If we are bringing in talents to create jobs , then yes they are talents that we need, does it mean loss of job opportunity for the others?? The answer is no. Then these are the talents we need. Jobs creation is very important for Singaporeans since you claim as developing at a very fast pace. If it is , how come i have not heard of it , if it is really growing at very fast pace , how come is there no employment? Or even hype? Personally i am in the finance industry so long , hardship allowance is always around , free lodging , free car , free children education etc on top of their pay. Your definition of adding values to a country's economy is very narrowly defined. To hire a foreign doctor who has mastered a skill in an operating theatre and come here to impart the skill to our doctors, is that value creation? This foreign doctor does not create jobs he therefore does not create value? If the skills he imparted results in faster recovery, which many Singaporean will benefits, which in turns results in shorter hospital stay, etc. Not value creation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 (edited) That's a totally different policy - rightly or wrongly. In case you hadn't noticed, the topic of this thread is HDB and repatriation of profits - What exactly has that got to do with the ASEAN Scholars programme - or kids studying in school? So these incompetent PR keep their jobs because the boss is too embarrassed to admit a mistake? If that is the case....I only have one thing to say Boss is a farking moron. And deserves everything he gets (or doesn't get) - Yawn , typical goal post shifting from our resident biatch. I am saying a citizen's entitlement and this includes hdb and another stuff , you choose to be selective in your reading i cannot help you. By the way , look at ur own post before you point fingers , i am merely replying to people's reply. As for the scholar's program i have always express that it is crap. As for the HR too embarrassed to admit a mistake , LOOK AT THE BIGGER PICTURE , does the garmen admit their mistake of bringing in too many "scholars" which cost us millions. It is the same , thats is why my rant. Your definition of adding values to a country's economy is very narrowly defined. To hire a foreign doctor who has mastered a skill in an operating theatre and come here to impart the skill to our doctors, is that value creation? This foreign doctor does not create jobs he therefore does not create value? If the skills he imparted results in faster recovery, which many Singaporean will benefits, which in turns results in shorter hospital stay, etc. Not value creation? You have your view , i have mine , you still cannot understand what i am trying to say then i cannot do anything as you simply can't understand what is value creation. You employ someone here to impart skills it creates jobs opportunities IT IS VALUE ADDING. But how many foreign doctors do that , do you know how many doctors actually come here to "learn" instead? I am not sure which sector as you are hiding it , but tell me if you can understand the difference? Again another bugger with selective reading problem. Edited June 20, 2014 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 You have your view , i have mine , you still cannot understand what i am trying to say then i cannot do anything as you simply can't understand what is value creation. You employ someone here to impart skills it creates jobs opportunities IT IS VALUE ADDING. But how many foreign doctors do that , do you know how many doctors actually come here to "learn" instead? I am not sure which sector as you are hiding it , but tell me if you can understand the difference? Again another bugger with selective reading problem. I can see we are different in our point of view. If you chose to stick to your view point it doesn't mean the other person has selective reading problem. There is no point in responding any further, that's my point of view, very selectively selected action from me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 You have your view , i have mine , you still cannot understand what i am trying to say then i cannot do anything as you simply can't understand what is value creation. You employ someone here to impart skills it creates jobs opportunities IT IS VALUE ADDING. But how many foreign doctors do that , do you know how many doctors actually come here to "learn" instead? I am not sure which sector as you are hiding it , but tell me if you can understand the difference? Again another bugger with selective reading problem. on a bigger scale, it is not easy to screen at national level, mom can't possibly do that when it is an open economy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 I can see we are different in our point of view. If you chose to stick to your view point it doesn't mean the other person has selective reading problem. There is no point in responding any further, that's my point of view, very selectively selected action from me. It works both ways dude , you play i play , i very flexible one. Don't point fingers when you are exactly doing the same thing. on a bigger scale, it is not easy to screen at national level, mom can't possibly do that when it is an open economy. Ya la thats why i say plenty of leeches making use of our lack of oversight lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Old skool is about quality, how FT value add, in terms of investment or skill? PR status is hard to get. New skool is hotel strategy. Anyone can come (as long as you pay rent) to use the infrastructure and country, regardless of value creation. This current strategy is very good for the country but not very comfortable for the people. So value creation is not important anymore; just like hotel don ask their guest what is their value-add to the hotel? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Old skool is about quality, how FT value add, in terms of investment or skill? PR status is hard to get. New skool is hotel strategy. Anyone can come (as long as you pay rent) to use the infrastructure and country, regardless of value creation. This current strategy is very good for the country but not very comfortable for the people. So value creation is not important anymore; just like hotel don ask their guest what is their value-add to the hotel? Very true , but the garmen fail to understand that it is making the people happy that makes them stay in power , they are paid millions to do so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 Very true , but the garmen fail to understand that it is making the people happy that makes them stay in power , they are paid millions to do so. Making ppl happy might keep them voted in. But if only keep doing things to keep ppl happy also jia lat on the long run. The previous generation had found the balance, but current generation had not been able to find that balance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianake 2nd Gear June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 (edited) so what is a human leech? In truth, leeches dont respect us anyway. Our relationships are contorted at best. They only want what we can give them. When the supply runs low, they happily move on to someone else. That is the main reason why many PRs remain as PRs and refuse to take up Singapore citizenship. Because if things get worse in Singapore, they can always have the options of going back to their own country of origin. If all singaporeans also have the right to hold 2 or more citizenship, then i got nothing to complain about PRs. Edited June 20, 2014 by Tianake Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 so what is a human leech? In truth, leeches dont respect us anyway. Our relationships are contorted at best. They only want what we can give them. When the supply runs low, they happily move on to someone else. That is the main reason why many PRs remain as PRs and refuse to take up Singapore citizenship. Because if things get worse in Singapore, they can always have the options of going back to their own country of origin. If all singaporeans also have the right to hold 2 or more citizenship, then i got nothing to complain about PRs. 1. Leave when things get "worse" - I'm not sure about the truth or otherwise of this - BUT, isn't that a good thing? If there is a downturn, and unemployment is high - don't you WANT the PR to leave so there is less competition for jobs? If the country is crowded, isn't it better that the PR farks off? 2. How many countries allow dual citizenship? When it comes to PR, you have just as much right as anyone else to hold PR in one or more other countries if you so wish. They don't want you? That's hardly a reason to abuse the PR that is here right? 3. Although I don't agree with the way you've expressed it - I do agree that Singapore PR should be harder to get Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 1. Leave when things get "worse" - I'm not sure about the truth or otherwise of this - BUT, isn't that a good thing? If there is a downturn, and unemployment is high - don't you WANT the PR to leave so there is less competition for jobs? If the country is crowded, isn't it better that the PR farks off? PR compete with citizens on jobs on a level playing field. ergo PRs may not be proportionately higher than citizens in losing jobs in a downturn. labour market here has very lax entry rules for foreign hires. PRs tend to be from lower cost countries and can stomach lower pay in downturn. the above theory of PR leaving during downturn is actually not completely true. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged June 20, 2014 Share June 20, 2014 PR compete with citizens on jobs on a level playing field. ergo PRs may not be proportionately higher than citizens in losing jobs in a downturn. labour market here has very lax entry rules for foreign hires. PRs tend to be from lower cost countries and can stomach lower pay in downturn. the above theory of PR leaving during downturn is actually not completely true. singapore is an open economy. If a downturn happens here, chances are that most countries are also in contraction or slowing down. hence it is true that most PR do not leave during downturn in SG. I would suspect that even during a downturn, their prospect in SG is better than anywhere else they can go ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...