Should PRs Leaving SG be Allowed to Keep HDB Sales Proceed?

And how is that different from every other country in the world? What makes Singapore so unique in this aspect?

Indeed - isn't that exactly what many SIngaporeans do - work hard, build nest egg and then retire elsewhere?

I'd be curious - how are PR "leeching"?

Singapore Citizenship status is "supposed" to be better than a PR status. so how come we are still seeing PRs who remain as PR for more than 30 years?

aren't this group of people trying to sit on the fence of the wall and see which side of the grass is greener? So if they are not called leeches , i don't know how to call this group of people.

I never mentioned whether or not Citizens contributed.

Most do.

A few don't.

So what? That is not the issue - unless you are suggesting that you want to measure the contribution of every citizen and kick out those that don't measure up?

Some PR will be, and are rooted here. Some won't be.

But again - so what? Does what they do tomorrow make any difference to the work they do today?

If someone is not contributing to the economy, aren't you better off without them? Wouldn't you rather see them leave instead of clogging up the city?

Assuming I agree with your above suggestion, is the SG Government ready to decide whether they want to accept this person as a citizen after 2 years? There are other implications of someone becoming your citizen - he is your "problem" for life! On the other hand, with the 5 year re-entry permit renewal requirement, govt can cherry-pick which people they want to keep in and which ones they want to keep out. I remember there was an airline pilot who stirred up the ALPA-S into some strike and his PR was subsequently revoked. If that PR was a citizen and he stirred things up (like certain Singaporen bloggers) govt will need to deal with him instead of just jettisoning him.

And again I ask, what is the obsession with wanting PRs to become citizens? They become part of this "aging" society for life! As it is we already have a greying population with low birth rates. Being able to reduce the aging population by sending old PRs home and replacing them with new young productive PRs (who do jobs we don't want to do such as taking care of that same greying population) sounds like a good thing to me.

the govt cannot choose its citizens, but it can choose its PRs

for those committed ones, we welcome them and let them become our fellow Singaporeans

for those leeching ones, they can continue to work here on employment passes but please stay away from our subsidized housing, schools and hospitals

I wonder what will Singaporeans who are PRs oversea feel if their government do the same

can singaporean PR buy public housing from oversea country?????

i thought only can buy private properties ???

even if singaporean wants to buy properties in malaysia also need to buy private properties and now it 1million or 2million right???

sorry really not sure, but if singaporean can buy public housing in other country, i sure go buy also [:p]

any one can confirm, kum xia

Assuming I agree with your above suggestion, is the SG Government ready to decide whether they want to accept this person as a citizen after 2 years? There are other implications of someone becoming your citizen - he is your "problem" for life! On the other hand, with the 5 year re-entry permit renewal requirement, govt can cherry-pick which people they want to keep in and which ones they want to keep out. I remember there was an airline pilot who stirred up the ALPA-S into some strike and his PR was subsequently revoked. If that PR was a citizen and he stirred things up (like certain Singaporen bloggers) govt will need to deal with him instead of just jettisoning him.

And again I ask, what is the obsession with wanting PRs to become citizens? They become part of this "aging" society for life! As it is we already have a greying population with low birth rates. Being able to reduce the aging population by sending old PRs home and replacing them with new young productive PRs (who do jobs we don't want to do such as taking care of that same greying population) sounds like a good thing to me.

Can't up you again so quickly - but I fully endorse this post.

I don't think many people understand or grasp the concept of the re-entry permit - this really is (and can be) a point of control for undesirable PR -

It is something I always worry about - what if my permit is not renewed? I always have to make sure I am a "contributor" - otherwise I'm screwed - and if that happens what about my family? What If I decide to stop working and tutor my girl through PSLE - do I stand to loose my permit? And thus must leave?

And to give people something to chew on - have you ever heard the phrase "once a cheater, always a cheater" in relation to marital infidelity? What happens if you apply that to someone that abandons their citizenship?

I think this bears repeating -

PR won't always be the "best of the best", they worst PR won't always be better than the best Singaporean -

But in GENERAL the quality of the "average" PR should (if the scheme is working properly and as intended) should be somewhat better than the "average" Singaporean - otherwise - what's the point in the first place? PR status should be something sought after and coveted, reserved only for those that bring up the "average quality" of the country and the workforce -

Much the same way as a good school may well actively recruit "good" students from other schools - or a good soccer team attracts the best players - to build the OVERALL quality of the institution.

precisely......you see my point to icedbs is :- I agree with what he said but he is somewhat biased in selecting that example to prove the point.

and of course, I also agree with what jman said. I have seen lesser qualified PR who can't speak proper English as well...so icedbs must be prepare to be confronted with such examples against his point.

anyhow pr always do contribute. now the issue is whether after they contribute, are they taking back a fair reward for their contribution or not? obviously this thread started because some thought it is not a fair reward.

I reserve my comments on that. my only comment is that the public housing policy may still have some chinks to be ironed out.

When PR residency is limited to 2 years or so, it will not be so attractive to foreigners, except to those who genuinely has a interest to make Singapore his long term residency. Foreigners whose intention is to work here for say 20 years, speculate the property, and then balik kampung, which large portion of the older PR are, will be weeded out. With lesser PR, then number of those converting citizen will not be sizeable.

Singapore Citizenship status is "supposed" to be better than a PR status. so how come we are still seeing PRs who remain as PR for more than 30 years?

aren't this group of people trying to sit on the fence of the wall and see which side of the grass is greener? So if they are not called leeches , i don't know how to call this group of people.

Again - how are they leeching?

Do they not pay taxes? Do they not get lesser benefits that Singaporeans? Are they allowed to buy direct from Govt for HDB? Do they enjoy the housing subsidy?

Don't they have to full price for LUP / MUP - something for which they don't even get to vote?

actually I have no issue with pr being allowed to take their proceeds of hdb flat sales. if don't allow, it is creating an awkward system whereby the transaction is allowed but the proceeds to the transaction have to be encumbered.

the real problem is the ease of PR buying and selling hdb........

How about imposing additional levies (if there's none currently) on sales of hdb flats on PRs, maybe those who have lived and worked here for more than say 10 or 15 years etc can be given partial waiver? [:)]

I don't think many people understand or grasp the concept of the re-entry permit - this really is (and can be) a point of control for undesirable PR -

It is something I always worry about - what if my permit is not renewed? I always have to make sure I am a "contributor" - otherwise I'm screwed - and if that happens what about my family? What If I decide to stop working and tutor my girl through PSLE - do I stand to loose my permit? And thus must leave?

And to give people something to chew on - have you ever heard the phrase "once a cheater, always a cheater" in relation to marital infidelity? What happens if you apply that to someone that abandons their citizenship?

well you can choose to become a singapore citizen then you dont have to worry about the re-entry permit.

i am sure our government will give you a citizenship if you apply for it.

demand and supply, as long as his employer needs him here, what can the govt do? fire him on behalf of the employer?

Edited by Jman888

mirror got 2 faces

coin got 2 faces

when sporean sell their $500k-$600k 5 years old HDB right after the next day of MOP ... they love PR .... after that ... they hate PR for buying/selling HDB (making profit) ... we can't have the cake and eat it

ok good debate

knocking off soon, so i will defend my stand here for today

for all the PRs now:

1. dun kpkb when benefits are taken away from you (in terms of subsidized housing, education and healthcare)

2. at the end of the day, a PR is still considered a foreigner here... until the day you show loyalty and commitment to Singapore, please do not expect to stand equal with the Singaporeans

mirror got 2 faces

coin got 2 faces

when sporean selling their $500k-$600k 5 years old HDB right after the next day of MOP ... they love PR .... after that ... they hate PR for buying/selling HDB ... we can't have the cake and eat it

Most fair statement Liao [thumbsup]

I feel the whole argument very one dimensional.

Sigh, this argument is founded on green eye syndrome. The perpetrators, having served NS (or for whatever other reason), are not happy that PRs who did not serve NS (or whatever other reason) are enjoying the perks (eg. allowed to buy HDB flat) just like Singaporeans. It doesn't matter that it is not ALL of the perks that are enjoyed by PRs - the fact that there are some is enough to rile them. Being able to withdraw all their CPF when they return home (which Singaporeans can't) is another green eye issue. Logic and rationale are substituted by envy.

It's the same as the another thread where people were saying Malaysians should not be allowed to drive Malaysian registered cars into Singapore at all cos they didn't pay for COE which Singaporeans paid in order to enjoy the privilege of driving. They forget that over the course of 10 years, the amount paid comes quite close to that of a COE. Next thing you know, they will be unhappy that the Malaysian cars can fill up with cheap petrol in Malaysia which is a benefit Singapore cars are not able to enjoy.

Don't worry, for a ang mo, you're very localised, RC volunteer, sgrean wife and daughter in local school, got a good local business with positive 3 things a day update. So please go apply to be a citizen in confidence.

yeah ... and saying

msia car come in spore .... causing traffic jam

spore car going in msia ... spur their economy

cannot just take and no give la ....

Sigh, this argument is founded on green eye syndrome. The perpetrators, having served NS (or for whatever other reason), are not happy that PRs who did not serve NS (or whatever other reason) are enjoying the perks (eg. allowed to buy HDB flat) just like Singaporeans. It doesn't matter that it is not ALL of the perks that are enjoyed by PRs - the fact that there are some is enough to rile them. Being able to withdraw all their CPF when they return home (which Singaporeans can't) is another green eye issue. Logic and rationale are substituted by envy.

It's the same as the another thread where people were saying Malaysians should not be allowed to drive Malaysian registered cars into Singapore at all cos they didn't pay for COE which Singaporeans paid in order to enjoy the privilege of driving. They forget that over the course of 10 years, the amount paid comes quite close to that of a COE. Next thing you know, they will be unhappy that the Malaysian cars can fill up with cheap petrol in Malaysia which is a benefit Singapore cars are not able to enjoy.

Yup. Lets book-in to Guillemard Camp tomorrow for our "ICT"...... [:p][sunny]

oiiii...why u bring in my camp.........hahaha! Go geylang right!