Property in Johor

nazerath

On 10/30/2023 at 2:45 AM, Kopites said:

Giving benefit of doubt to those Singapore buyers, if really for retirement home I suggest get those resales JB properties. Slightly pricey but the less likelihood of developer defaulting. 

Expand  

can but is it really worth it? Say pay SGD300k, and another maybe 50k of reno and furniture and fittings....so easly SGD350K...

if i can find a small place and rent RM800-1K per mth....use the 300k to rent, i think is much better.....cut out the hassle of going in and out, buying furniture and renovation....old already, dun have the energy run here and there...:grin:

On 10/30/2023 at 1:22 AM, Wt_know said:

fully agreed. either you retire and stay there else it’s a wasted “weekend” home that you need to stuck in jam for 5 hours to go … lol

Expand  

got RTS in 2026....coming soon! 

But I think is ok, if buy those cheap homes for retirement...go in and out after peak hours...:grin:

wonder got anything around RM200K boh...i might consider...

On 10/30/2023 at 4:28 AM, Spidey10 said:

But I think is ok, if buy those cheap homes for retirement...go in and out after peak hours...:grin:

Expand  

Not for Singaporean. Decent living I reckon should be around 500rm at least. 

Expand  

RM200K? tan ku ku … 

On 10/30/2023 at 6:52 AM, Spidey10 said:

Also, RM200K, Sporean cannot buy right....just remember there was a limit of RM1 Mil if Sporean wants to buy......so dream gone...:grin:

Expand  

If really keen can always seek a Malaysian relative. Of course must be trustworthy likely close relative. Probably can get around below 500rm condo Which about S$150. Not too ex. 

Expand  

I think it depends how long one wants to stay there. If planning more than 10 years, better buy ...cos while rental is a good option, the possibility of constant moving and shifting work can be a major headache when the lease expire and the landlord wants back the place. Not to mention dealing with different landlords from time to time.

Having said that, I think people should rent first say a year perhaps  just to see if MY or JB living is for them.  If really like the place and think can stay long term, then only consider buying.  By then, one would have a good feel about the location they like and the market prices around those areas.

Edited by Starry

On 10/30/2023 at 5:12 AM, inlinesix said:

Rather than buy, why not just rent?

Expand  

$300k is not even enough to buy a reasonably decent car in Singapore for use in next 10 years. 

With RTS, it is a tempting proposition for retirees.  Stay in JB, preferably within walking distance from Bukit Chagar station, sell SG car and buy a Porsche to speed up and down NSHW. And you are always 1 hour away from Orchard Road Singapore.   😂😂😂

Just don't take it as an investment.  

Too bad I am not retired yet.

I am sounding like a property agent. Wahaha....

On 10/30/2023 at 1:14 AM, Throttle2 said:

JB condos are to trick the money of poor Singaporeans who cant buy Singapore condos.  
unless one buys to stay in, JB condos are near worthless as investments.   Repeating this again

Expand  

My observation. A large number, maybe even majority of the condo units in Malaysia become used as AirBnB to rent out

On 10/30/2023 at 5:12 AM, inlinesix said:

Rather than buy, why not just rent?

Expand  

$300k is not even enough to buy a reasonably decent car in Singapore for use in next 10 years. 

With RTS, it is a tempting proposition for retirees.  Stay in JB, preferably within walking distance from Bukit Chagar station, sell SG car and buy a Porsche to speed up and down NSHW. And you are always 1 hour away from Orchard Road Singapore.   😂😂😂

On 10/30/2023 at 8:14 AM, t0y0ta said:

My observation. A large number, maybe even majority of the condo units in Malaysia become used as AirBnB to rent out

Expand  

Cant rent for much and sometimes cant rent at all.  Weak currency.  No point lah

On 10/30/2023 at 8:00 AM, Voodooman said:

Expand  

Don't buy Porky la.

Buy the cheapest 3L V6 with 400hp in the market for RM260k.

On 10/30/2023 at 7:52 AM, Starry said:

I think it depends how long one wants to stay there. If planning more than 10 years, better buy ...cos while rental is a good option, the possibility of constant moving and shifting work can be a major headache when the lease expire and the landlord wants back the place. Not to mention dealing with different landlords from time to time.

Having said that, I think people should rent first say a year perhaps  just to see if MY or JB living is for them.  If really like the place and think can stay long term, then only consider buying.  By then, one would have a good feel about the location they like and the market prices around those areas.

Expand  

I guess there are pros and cons to our every decision and how best we manage our expectations.....there is no right or wrong in buying, depends on individual needs...

thinking about it as wife says maybe move over to retire and the HDB here kids and stay on...move over to retire in a small place and lower cost of living as well and with RTS, we are not too far away from the kids...if they need our help or if they plan to visit us as well..

On 10/30/2023 at 1:22 AM, Wt_know said:

fully agreed. either you retire and stay there else it’s a wasted “weekend” home that you need to stuck in jam for 5 hours to go … lol

Expand  

Another thing to note is medical care as we age may very well be impossible in the retirement home across the causeway given how time sensitive it can be for some situations.

Edited by Windwaver