New KIA Koup is out!

Fett

The previous version looks better IMHO (interior and exterior).

But the one looks to have more room in the rear as well as rear aircon vent.

the best version was the first version. This (third) version looks not as good but having not tested the car, i cannot say anything else.

\Even its in Cat A, I dun think this ah beng can afford la. the beng on the road mostly driving Cs3, swift etc

Very expensive meh.. Why cannot afford.

\Even its in Cat A, I dun think this ah beng can afford la. the beng on the road mostly driving Cs3, swift etc

Oi dun play play hor... Bengs can own quite fast and better cars hor... You just dunno what business they are in hor...

If it's in Cat A, this would be the new favourite for Ah Bengs and will be featuring regularly on Singapore's Reckless Drivers.

Fortunately not.

What is the diff btw cat A and B now? I don't see much any diff as compare to before.

Was browsing sgcarmart, and realised that the New KIA Koup is out! I think it looks more awesome than the 1st one!

http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_overview.php?CarCode=11539

attachicon.gif11539_g1_b.jpg

Not bad looking. Too big a price tag for a Korean made.

went to the showroom today. checked out the Koup 2014. Inside is a little spartan to my taste. The main factor that deterred me from exploring further is just this: the door is too LONG. i will have problems opening doors in Singapore carparks.

Am now only considering K3 or K5

There is an ongoing promotion at KIA yesterday and today. Those considering KIA can check it out by today.

went to the showroom today. checked out the Koup 2014. Inside is a little spartan to my taste. The main factor that deterred me from exploring further is just this: the door is too LONG. i will have problems opening doors in Singapore carparks.

There is an ongoing promotion at KIA yesterday and today. Those considering KIA can check it out by today.

why never test drive and give us review of the ride and power?

go all the way there and don't test drive abit wasted leh...

I always request for test drive one

why never test drive and give us review of the ride and power?

go all the way there and don't test drive abit wasted leh...

I always request for test drive one

i would have tested if possible. They said that it is still pending LTA approval or something. I am already half sian due to the door length.

Still, i hope to test it out, perhaps in another one/two weeks time when they allow it.

I have been driving "long door" car for 4 years now. Can manage one. Don't forget this is normal for ALL coupes including Merc, BMWs, Audis, etc.

My parking places have very narrow lots and I find it already difficult getting out from my current two-door car. MSCP parking is only good when taking middle lots.

This new Koup door is even longer than mine! Sure got problem. Will try it out when it can be tested. And yes, will do real measurement so mine and the new Koup. Hopefully the is hope.

My parking places have very narrow lots and I find it already difficult getting out from my current two-door car. MSCP parking is only good when taking middle lots.

This new Koup door is even longer than mine! Sure got problem. Will try it out when it can be tested. And yes, will do real measurement so mine and the new Koup. Hopefully the is hope.

Oh, u mean u driving the previous Koup?

Was browsing sgcarmart, and realised that the New KIA Koup is out! I think it looks more awesome than the 1st one!

attachicon.gif11539_g1_b.jpg

Looks mellowed compare to the 1st Koup.

Looking at the specs, while the 1st Koup is somewhat an empty Vessel, this one's a sleeper.

I find your reason funny. You mean you didn't expect a coupe's door to be long? It's not just the Koup, any coupe's door is long due to it's 2 door configuration, it need more space for people to climb into the rear.

Not just the Koup, all 2 door cars are long, Scirrocco, BRZ, 86 even the Veloster driver side.

[EDIT] Ok I just read your last post and realise you meant that it is LONGER than your coupe's door.....lol [/EDIT]

Edited by Pocus

Yes. A long front door is normal for 2 coupes.

Oh, u mean u driving the previous Koup?

Yes, I am. Still loving its looks and reliability.

Looks mellowed compare to the 1st Koup.

Looking at the specs, while the 1st Koup is somewhat an empty Vessel, this one's a sleeper.

I find your reason funny. You mean you didn't expect a coupe's door to be long? It's not just the Koup, any coupe's door is long due to it's 2 door configuration, it need more space for people to climb into the rear.

Not just the Koup, all 2 door cars are long, Scirrocco, BRZ, 86 even the Veloster driver side.

[EDIT] Ok I just read your last post and realise you meant that it is LONGER than your coupe's door.....lol [/EDIT]

Yup. I forgot to mention earlier that i drive a two-door car. My feeling (and confirmed by a "brand advocate") is that the new Koup would have a longer door.

If everyone parks properly around me, I have at most 300+100+300 of space to swing my car door giving a gap of at most (?)300mm, i think. This new model seems to reduce that by 50mm.

I am still trying to find out from online sources whether this is the case. Perhaps someone who has measured can help me out here.

Ugly! I definately will give way if I see it on my rear view mirror. Can't stand the sight of it.

Yah, front grille looks a little scary (maybe ugly). Nothing an aftermarket cannot treat. Ya?

There is a review of the car in Saturday's Strait Times.

The reviewer seemed to implied that the car is not as fast as the spec states. Probably due to the weight of the car.

He also give subtle hints that the handling of the car is subpar conpared to other coupes and the car is not tuned in a sporty way. He mentioned that the car is too long and the wheelbase is too wide but commended on it's comfort level.

And ST, being a MSM, is usually very forgiving in reviews. So I cannot imagine the actual feel of the car and hope it's better.

I think it's a shame as the platform shows so much potential, esp for a potent 1.6 DI-TC that can churned out 200+bhp. If hope that the market do offer aftermarket modification for the car if they want it to go far.

I guess Kia still only want the Koup to be a "for show" car, with a more competent engine, instead of sports-biased cars tuned specifically for sports that the Japanese are expert for.

Edited by Pocus

Yes, I am. Still loving its looks and reliability.

Yep, just that when Hyundai came out with the VT I couldn't resist....