Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 I read that VW gearbox issues are due to the additives in synthetic transmission oil that causes malfunction in the electronics in hot and humid climate. This explains why such a large number of GB failures in Asia and not in Europe. The solution is to change from SYNTHETIC to MINERAL. Does this apply to other car makers gearboxes where synthetics are used ? What about engine oil then ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 I found the mineral oil solution to be comical. C'mon, a multi billion, german car giant wif thousands of engineers and this is the 'magical' cure they come up wif? Walau.....imagine if Pirelli recommend their customers to switch from P-Zeros to retreads to solve grip problems...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 I agreed. Changing from synthetic to mineral is quite ridiculous. I say revert back to the 6 speed DSG. Less problematic. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 (edited) Not in Europe??? LoL... Kindly post link to suppork your claims. I post mine first... http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2507401/Volkswagen-recall-cars-worldwide-faulty-gearbox-light-fuses.html Edited June 9, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikelcy1963 1st Gear June 9, 2014 Author Share June 9, 2014 On 6/9/2014 at 6:04 AM, Watwheels said: Not in Europe??? LoL... Kindly post link to suppork your claims. I post mine first... http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2507401/Volkswagen-recall-cars-worldwide-faulty-gearbox-light-fuses.html Not my claim. Its according to VW press release. I am curious if the claim is true and if it is, shouldn't it be applicable to other GBs as well ?. Could not find any discussion on this thus started a thread to hear from those who are experts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 On 6/9/2014 at 6:15 AM, Mikelcy1963 said: Not my claim. Its according to VW press release. I am curious if the claim is true and if it is, shouldn't it be applicable to other GBs as well ?. Could not find any discussion on this thus started a thread to hear from those who are experts. You may get more details and information from the Volkswagen Forum in Singapore or VAGSG as they are known. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 it's just clutching the straws. Must well say, change all to pure manual tranny. I think this will be the best solution. On 6/9/2014 at 5:55 AM, Soya said: I found the mineral oil solution to be comical. C'mon, a multi billion, german car giant wif thousands of engineers and this is the 'magical' cure they come up wif? Walau.....imagine if Pirelli recommend their customers to switch from P-Zeros to retreads to solve grip problems...... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raychay 6th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 German 7-speed dual-clutch gearbox can only use mineral but not synthetic oil? Like that Japanese 4AT must use cooking oil liao! It's like saying good gearbox cannot use good oil or is it lousy gearbox cannot use good oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gasguzzler 1st Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 (edited) To clarify there are 2 known issues VW 7DSG owners currently face - one is MU failure, cannot drive at all. The other is juddering in gear 2 which is clutch material problem. I think changing to mineral oil solves the former but not the latter since it is a dry clutch box. For the records, the DQ200 7 speed DSG box on my VW has been driving smoothly since I collected it in mid 2012. Mileage currently nearing 70k km. I even have a tuning box on it that pushes it to 190bhp and I drive the car hard quite most of the time. I bought my car knowing risks involved from all the online forums and I'm also prepared that eventually I will need to replace something. A lot of my friends and colleagues do not face problems with their cars, only a few have the juddering issues but had their problems solved pretty efficiently and they are still happy VW owners today. Sometimes I think most of the people complaining online are not really VW owners but "heard from their friends' friends" about the problems and basically just reposting. Only people who are unhappy will come online to gripe. The happy owners don't bother to post here. Hence all you hear are negative comments? Just a thought lah. Edited June 9, 2014 by Gasguzzler 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/9/2014 at 5:44 AM, Mikelcy1963 said: I read that VW gearbox issues are due to the additives in synthetic transmission oil that causes malfunction in the electronics in hot and humid climate. This explains why such a large number of GB failures in Asia and not in Europe. The solution is to change from SYNTHETIC to MINERAL. Does this apply to other car makers gearboxes where synthetics are used ? What about engine oil then ? load of bullocks....... it is the design issue, dry clutch cannot work, that is why there are the wet clutch design, even MB A class in wet 7 DCT transmission that they design and manufacture themselves. I drove it a few times, far far far far better than the dry version, no juddering or shaking. but not as smooth as their 7g-tronic versions.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 (edited) On 6/9/2014 at 9:07 AM, Gasguzzler said: To clarify there are 2 known issues VW 7DSG owners currently face - one is MU failure, cannot drive at all. The other is juddering in gear 2 which is clutch material problem. I think changing to mineral oil solves the former but not the latter since it is a dry clutch box. For the records, the DQ200 7 speed DSG box on my VW has been driving smoothly since I collected it in mid 2012. Mileage currently nearing 70k km. I even have a tuning box on it that pushes it to 190bhp and I drive the car hard quite most of the time. I bought my car knowing risks involved from all the online forums and I'm also prepared that eventually I will need to replace something. A lot of my friends and colleagues do not face problems with their cars, only a few have the juddering issues but had their problems solved pretty efficiently and they are still happy VW owners today. Sometimes I think most of the people complaining online are not really VW owners but "heard from their friends' friends" about the problems and basically just reposting. Only people who are unhappy will come online to gripe. The happy owners don't bother to post here. Hence all you hear are negative comments? Just a thought lah. Heard from friend's friend friend's friend friend friend....? The below one is also story lor? The editor must have heard it from his friend's friends friend's friend friend....LoL... http://news.asiaone.com/news/ride/volkswagen-tops-list-complaints-about-new-cars Volkswagen tops list of complaints about new cars Christopher TanThe Straits Times Monday, Jun 02, 2014 SINGAPORE - Volkswagen is the German term for "people's car" - but in Singapore, the brand is getting some people in a twist. The Consumers Association of Singapore (Case) said it tops the list for complaints about new cars here, with one in three such gripes aimed at the manufacturer. Twelve out of 36 complaints between 2012 and last month have been about Volkswagen. Most were related to faulty transmissions. Case executive director Seah Seng Choon said the association has written to Volkswagen Singapore "expressing our concern in view of the increasing number of complaints about defective parts". Mr Seah noted that VW complaints have crept up from one in 2012 to eight last year and three in the first four months of this year, with the defects usually appearing less than a year after delivery. "Some consumers even reported defects within a week," he said. Volkswagen Singapore spokesman Colin Yong said seven out of the 12 complaints had to do with the cars' dual-clutch transmission, called DSG. "These DSG-related issues were solved by our recall last year and there have been no repeat complaints," he said. "There may have been some customers who experienced issues between the announcement of the recall and the time their cars were actually recalled." Mr Yong acknowledged that the company has faced "challenges... in after-sales and customer care, especially from 2010 to the beginning of 2013". "Customers did not get responses to their complaints as quickly or completely as they deserved to," he admitted, but added that the firm "managed to turn this situation around last year". Businessman Khoo Jun Hong, 37, bought a VW Jetta in 2012. It soon began vibrating violently whenever it moved off from standstill. "It was so bad that the dashboard shook," he said. He said it took "four to five" visits to the workshop and more than eight weeks for VW to fix the flaw, which was traced to a faulty gearbox. But now the car is "not responsive" and he admitted: "I regret buying this car." Housewife Tan Ai Peng, 39, suffered similar woes. Her VW Touran, bought in late 2011, had a window that creaked loudly whenever it was wound down. "It took them 11/2 years to fix," she said. Then, one day. her husband was driving it when it stalled "in the middle of a cross junction". It was repaired, but two months later it stalled again. "It was rush hour, my kids were with me and the vehicles behind were sounding their horns," she recalled. The car was again towed to the workshop. "They tell me it is fixed, but I still worry if it's safe to drive," Madam Tan said. "That's why I've asked Case to handle this." Mr Seah said that if problems persist, "consumers can request a refund or a reduction in price under the Lemon Law". "If they are unable to resolve the dispute with the business amicably, they can either approach Case or file a claim at the Small Claims Tribunals," he added. VW's German rival BMW drew the second biggest number of new-car complaints with eight, about engine stalling, engine leaking and rattling noises. Mr Seah noted that new-car complaints are rare, making up around 10 per cent of all car complaints and less than 5 per cent of the total number of complaints Case receives. Most overall complaints that Case received in 2012 and 2013 were about cars, fuelled largely by the surge in used-car sales on the back of high new-car prices. Case has not received any complaints about new Toyotas, despite the brand having been hit by recalls in the past two years. Between 2012 and April this year, BMW and Mercedes-Benz were the biggest sellers here, with 9,924 and 9,758 cars sold respectively. Toyota and VW followed with 9,124 and 7,140. Edited June 12, 2014 by Watwheels 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/12/2014 at 1:25 AM, Watwheels said: Heard from friend's friend friend's friend friend friend.... The below one is also story lor? The editor must have heard it from his friend's friends friend's friend friend....LoL... Yeah.....all lies. I tink Christopher Tan and Seah Seng Choon do not drive a vw that's why they say negative things. All vw owners are happy. No? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 sounds like AR, must drive hard. I think you are probably right. But then, not too easy to drive hard most of the time here due to gridlocked slow crawling traffic. That's why many facing GB problems. Nevertheless, I still think it's a fundamental design flaw. On 6/9/2014 at 9:07 AM, Gasguzzler said: To clarify there are 2 known issues VW 7DSG owners currently face - one is MU failure, cannot drive at all. The other is juddering in gear 2 which is clutch material problem. I think changing to mineral oil solves the former but not the latter since it is a dry clutch box.For the records, the DQ200 7 speed DSG box on my VW has been driving smoothly since I collected it in mid 2012. Mileage currently nearing 70k km. I even have a tuning box on it that pushes it to 190bhp and I drive the car hard quite most of the time. I bought my car knowing risks involved from all the online forums and I'm also prepared that eventually I will need to replace something. A lot of my friends and colleagues do not face problems with their cars, only a few have the juddering issues but had their problems solved pretty efficiently and they are still happy VW owners today.Sometimes I think most of the people complaining online are not really VW owners but "heard from their friends' friends" about the problems and basically just reposting. Only people who are unhappy will come online to gripe. The happy owners don't bother to post here. Hence all you hear are negative comments? Just a thought lah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/12/2014 at 1:30 AM, Soya said: Yeah.....all lies. I tink Christopher Tan and Seah Seng Choon do not drive a vw that's why they say negative things. All vw owners are happy. No? No lah. These are fictional characters made up by ST lah. LoL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/12/2014 at 1:33 AM, Watwheels said: No lah. These are fictional characters made up by ST lah. LoL... oic......in MY oso got fiction and lies. https://www.facebook.com/vw.complaints. all vw owners are happy ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/12/2014 at 1:39 AM, Soya said: oic......in MY oso got fiction and lies. https://www.facebook.com/vw.complaints. all vw owners are happy ok? They should make it M'sia & S'pore, combine fb. Dan ppl will know whether it's hearsay or real. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Paddie 3rd Gear June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/9/2014 at 6:15 AM, Mikelcy1963 said: Not my claim. Its according to VW press release. I am curious if the claim is true and if it is, shouldn't it be applicable to other GBs as well ?. Could not find any discussion on this thus started a thread to hear from those who are experts. It's specific to the VW 7DSG because the sulphur additives in the gearbox oil were shearing off and causing electronic short circuits in the gearbox. Mineral oil does not have sulphur additives. Other types of gearbox may not have the same electronics design so they would not benefit from switching gearbox oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged June 12, 2014 Share June 12, 2014 On 6/12/2014 at 1:25 AM, Watwheels said: VW's German rival BMW drew the second biggest number of new-car complaints with eight, about engine stalling, engine leaking and rattling noises. BMW also got complaints ?? That is surprising... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...