Sosaria Twincharged July 7, 2015 Share July 7, 2015 huh? Orr... I thought now better because they won't pass their handphones to us... even if using token only those with the token then can login... if not how? That's what I'm talking about. The elderly will give their password AND token to the person who help them deal with all this high-tech computer thingy beyond their understanding... ! Back to the same old problem of lack of security. Not blaming the older generation, but really a problem of the system design and implementation that no one thought about or just brushed aside. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 7, 2015 Share July 7, 2015 That's what I'm talking about. The elderly will give their password AND token to the person who help them deal with all this high-tech computer thingy beyond their understanding... ! Back to the same old problem of lack of security. Not blaming the older generation, but really a problem of the system design and implementation that no one thought about or just brushed aside. yah lor, so only the person with the token can login, unlike previously anyone who knows the password can login - more secure, no? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 No worries, we have the Lemon Law to protect against lemons. Your SingPass is worth $100 each, to apply for visa. Man sold SingPass account details to China syndicate A former administrative assistant cracked the passwords of about 300 SingPass account holders, then sold the details to a China-based syndicate involved in sham Singapore visa applications. James Sim Guan Liang, 39, pleaded guilty to 73 charges yesterday and had another 813 taken into consideration. Most of the offences committed come under the Computer Misuse Act. Between March and May 2011, Sim made tens of thousands of log- in attempts from his home in Toa Payoh, after realising that people could use their NRIC number as their SingPass password. He keyed the SingPass log-in details into the e-services websites belonging to the Media Development Authority and Central Provident Fund Board. To increase his chances of cracking the passwords, he would make changes to the last one or two digits of the SingPass ID and its alphabet suffix. Once successful, he would use the credentials to log onto a different government website to retrieve the account holder's personal particulars. After compiling these details, Sim would e-mail them in batches to a person with the pseudonym "Lemon", to help the syndicate make a false statement to get a Singapore visa. Details from 293 SingPass accounts were unlawfully disclosed by Sim, who received $300 for each batch he gave to Lemon. The syndicate, based in Zhejiang, successfully applied for 23 visas. Twenty Chinese nationals entered Singapore using those visas. Three were subsequently found to have committed criminal offences while in Singapore. They have since been dealt with and repatriated. The status of the rest is not known. Sim became involved in the syndicate in 2006, after meeting Lemon at a gathering with members from a now-defunct social networking website. Lemon told Sim he could make some money by handing his NRIC over for a day. http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/courts-crime/man-sold-singpass-account-details-to-china-syndicate 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 Ownself sell ownself $100 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 Ownself sell ownself $100 Kiam pa bin... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 Kiam pa bin... consperm is foveralone bui bui edmwer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 How can this be considered hacking? No hacking skill required. He has the victims' ic numbers at hand. All he had to do is cut & paste. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TheBigBangTheory 1st Gear January 26, 2016 Share January 26, 2016 so what can they do with your singpass n pw they cant even take your money in there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 so what can they do with your singpass n pw they cant even take your money in there if can take, everyone will be praising that guy as hero liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 3, 2017 Share July 3, 2017 Anybody tried replacing their OneKey token ? Why need to pay $15 ? You thinking of raiding our reserves ah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 3, 2017 Share July 3, 2017 Anybody tried replacing their OneKey token ? Why need to pay $15 ? what is that? you not using the sms pin? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic July 3, 2017 Share July 3, 2017 Anybody tried replacing their OneKey token ? Why need to pay $15 ? hardware always costs money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 3, 2017 Share July 3, 2017 (edited) If using sms pin it's free. First token already given free. Still want to hiam. I support making ppl pay after the first token. Becoz there are a lot of idiots and morons out there. They will throw it down a hdb flat, throw it into a pond (just that day I pulled out an obike out of a pond along a park connector), throw and let strangers pick it up and abuse it. Think of it this way....if you had bothered to take care of it you don't even have to worry paying for a replacement. Why do you think govt make ppl pay more and more to get a pink nric card replacement. It's catered for some Singaporeans who couldn't be bothered. Edited July 3, 2017 by Watwheels 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 4, 2017 Share July 4, 2017 If using sms pin it's free. First token already given free. Still want to hiam. I support making ppl pay after the first token. Becoz there are a lot of idiots and morons out there. They will throw it down a hdb flat, throw it into a pond (just that day I pulled out an obike out of a pond along a park connector), throw and let strangers pick it up and abuse it. Think of it this way....if you had bothered to take care of it you don't even have to worry paying for a replacement. Why do you think govt make ppl pay more and more to get a pink nric card replacement. It's catered for some Singaporeans who couldn't be bothered. What if really spoilt? Or what if battery run out? Banks will give free replacement (after a year I think). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 4, 2017 Share July 4, 2017 What if really spoilt? Or what if battery run out? Banks will give free replacement (after a year I think). According to their website can go to their two office (PSA buidling and International bulding). Need to charge $15 for the replacement it's not stated. Anyway can call up their hotline and enquire. What to do? Ppl like to treat MCF as the universal hotline. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 4, 2017 Share July 4, 2017 This one. Does using this mean the sms 2fa option is completely inactivated? Because if that is left intact, you are just adding inconvenience with no added security. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic July 4, 2017 Share July 4, 2017 Not all services accept SMS-only, e.g. CDP requires OneKey. I see. I trade through my broker so I am unfamiliar with CDP login. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 4, 2017 Share July 4, 2017 (edited) Anybody tried replacing their OneKey token ? Why need to pay $15 ? i dont know about your One Key I just replaced my DBS token (no battery), free of charge. Edited July 4, 2017 by Mcf777 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...