This is called asking for it

Kklim

Cross without looking, focus is on mobile or tablet in right hand. Can't blame the driver.

If I am the driver, I also can't avoid it. Too sudden.. lucky the person is fine.. Edited by Yewheng

[laugh][laugh][laugh] lucky you are not that kim jung un.

i hit a drunk cyclist before (actually more like side swipe on my side mirror and he didn't even fall, i think he learn drunken fist before!), was also got shock for few second then start cursing [laugh]

please loh... he might not have any injuries but my car has this constant reminder on my bonnet to be si bei careful for cocksters! Cannot polish off sia!

Let's have a "Loud Pipes Save Lives" campaign. :D

We should start a marketing agency just to advocate this campaign.

even slogan also think liao... now we need a jingle to go with it!

Pedestrians always assume they have the right of way, anywhere along the roads.

Maybe pain will teach them.

I got to agree with you as these days not just pedestrians but cyclists too assume they have the right of way. It is always a safe bet to watch out for our surroundings when we walk or cycle. Take things for granted, it only takes a driver to lost a second of focus, those who walk or cycle with the assumption that the driver will look out for them will be the one at disadvantage.

One of my friend have same incident. Turn out from HDB car park n the china auntie just walk across looking at different direction ( China left hand drive ) His side mirror hit her arm n broke it. He assist her till ambulance came n went hospital. End up court case n got slap with $800 fine n 3 mths gantong.

So for this case should be wrost. Driver never render assistance. No matter what. Car hit human, car fault.

One of my friend have same incident. Turn out from HDB car park n the china auntie just walk across looking at different direction ( China left hand drive ) His side mirror hit her arm n broke it. He assist her till ambulance came n went hospital. End up court case n got slap with $800 fine n 3 mths gantong.

So for this case should be wrost. Driver never render assistance. No matter what. Car hit human, car fault.

in this case, the auntie (if she is aware of her right) can sue the driver for hit & run?

Edited by Jman888

Such kind of pedestrian getting more n more. Hence, best to install camera to protect oneself.

Encountered such incident recently. Guy listening to earphones walked across 2 lanes both directions without bothering to check for cars. When horned at, he turned and smirked.

Feel like punching his face.

in this case, the auntie (if she is aware of her right) can sue the driver for hit & run?

They can and they will. The way the auntie fall sure got problem when get home. Driver will be in deep shit just to leave the accident site like that. If auntie kick the bucket after few days, driver will be hand cuff for sure. Never never leave when u hit someone be it u think u are right. U have no right to think u are right and the people walking on street is wrong. The COURT will say so.

My friend were charged with

1) Reckless driving

2) failing to keep a proper lookout and cause injuires.

FIne: 800 + 3 mth Gantong

Edited by SGCMsmallcar

pedestrian oblivious to traffic does not mean driver can run them down, some more never stop to render help.....double whammy.

indeed..the driver did not even step out of the car to ask how the pedestrian felt or requires any medical attention..if the pedestrian is knowledgeable..she can probably call the police to report a "hit & run"

If idiotic pedestrians swagger across the road with absolute disregard to their lives, we motorists should not be held accountable for their imbecilic act.

Same for parents who wanna kill their children by not buckling them but buy million dollar insurance for their children and not want them to contract whatever diseases.

Cross without looking, focus is on mobile or tablet in right hand. Can't blame the driver.

its extremely common nowadays.

and they think they have the right of way all the time when even it's not pres crossing.

+1. whom ever is in the wrong, if we are in a position to avoid it from happening, we should do it.

that driver should have at least get down and check if she was alright. alot of children/teenagers are doing this also. as a driver, we can help to educate those young ones around us and give way when we encounter this on the road.

on the other hand, there are a lot of female drivers who like to use hand phone while driving. dont know why we are not enforcing our law. I actually saw a lady eating while she stop at the traffic like. holding a cup with spoon and was eating. singaporean really so busy these days meh?

Both her feet flew off the ground! Power!

Seriously, i meet this kinda MF everyday, eyes glued to their screen with ear plug stuck in.

I horned them, they cannot hear you know! i flash beam then they can "see".

But the driver also one kind la, seeing and probably knowing the pedestrain is going to walk on the road without looking, the driver should have slowed down or stopped.

Go and bang the pedestrain is a damn stupid move.

have right of way does not equal to just knock him/her down. i think there is something wrong with our society if the majority think this way.

Where is this area anyway? It looked so busy street, so many people walking around.....

I can't hear the sound but did the driver horned the pedestrian but she just continue to cross the road ? If so, then the pedestrian fault. Cannot everything blame driver.

Anyway there is no pedestrian crossing there, so the car (actually) has the right of way!

i cannot click on praise agian so must reply that i suppok you.

+1

Wouldn't go that far...

But yeah, it looked like there was quite a bit of warning that the pedestrian wasn't paying attention ---

Doesn't make the pedestrian right of course, however the first responsibility as a driver is always to avoid an accident - irrespective of right and wrong

in this particular case, i believe is self pawn if he video it.

Such kind of pedestrian getting more n more. Hence, best to install camera to protect oneself.

bro, i think you are missing the point. this is not about the pedestrian knowingly run towards the car. this is about pedestrian ignorance/no awareness of her surrounding.

i believe we all have love ones. ask yourself do we want this to happen to them if they have a moment of folly?

If idiotic pedestrians swagger across the road with absolute disregard to their lives, we motorists should not be held accountable for their imbecilic act.

Same for parents who wanna kill their children by not buckling them but buy million dollar insurance for their children and not want them to contract whatever diseases.

Edited by Earthboy

As much as we hate this type of pedestrians, we must lookout for them as they more to lose if we hit them. Will you able to live peacefully if something happen to them.?

Ouch.. looks like heavy hit to either the butt or the hip.

From the victim's body language, looked like she did not feel that she's at fault at all. She'll likely continue to jaywalk the same way in the future. If lucky, may live to a ripe old age. If unlucky meet another nonchalant driver in future, then good luck to her. Some ppl will learn from a traumatic incident like this but some unfortunately are too dense to change their behavior.

No matter what, the driver will be liable should the victim report any injuries after the accident. The law allows for up to five years to sue for damages if I remember correctly. If the car insurer somehow got hold of this video, i think the driver's NCD will be immediately 10-20% gone for sure. That's the standard risk mitigation practice of car insurers.

Edited by Jellandross