Kopites Supersonic June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 4:42 AM, StefanK said: I think the driver did not see encountestrians (they seemed to be in his blindspot) and he wasn't going that fast. To me, the pedestrians did not give indication of whether they were going to cross the road or stop and wait, the one who got hit was looking the other way, when she should have been looking out for cars. Accidents happen when there is no way you could have prepared to prevent it. Furthermore u hone to alert them and they will show u the middle finger. I encountered them quite often. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 4:42 AM, StefanK said: I think the driver did not see the pedestrians (they seemed to be in his blindspot) and he wasn't going that fast. To me, the pedestrians did not give indication of whether they were going to cross the road or stop and wait, the one who got hit was looking the other way, when she should have been looking out for cars. Accidents happen when there is no way you could have prepared to prevent it. I think the driver's lackadaisical attitude in not even getting down to check probably cemented my opinion of what kind of driver he is >< careless or not, or blindspot or not, when we drive, we have to make a lot of assumption when driving and if we make an accident, the least we can do is try to render assistance immediately. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 4:54 AM, Sp4wn said: I think the driver's lackadaisical attitude in not even getting down to check probably cemented my opinion of what kind of driver he is >< careless or not, or blindspot or not, when we drive, we have to make a lot of assumption when driving and if we make an accident, the least we can do is try to render assistance immediately. I agree with you that the driver should have come down to check on the pedestrian. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KaKiLang 4th Gear June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 Seems like the pedestrian crash onto the car. Happen at North point, was turning left, he was glued to his phone without looking out for traffic on his right, after a few steps onto the road he literally stopped right infront of my car, finished whatever he was keying and sent before he carry on his crossing. Cant he crossed over to the other side before keying his messages. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dream 5th Gear June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 4:08 AM, TVT said: Where is this area anyway? It looked so busy street, so many people walking around..... looks like outside Sembawang Shopping Center (SSC). Always got cars queuing to enter carpark.. jamming the lane... accident waiting to happen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 dun look at the phone while crossing the road....... dun look at the phone while crossing the road....... dun look at the phone while crossing the road....... dun look at the phone while crossing the road....... dun look at the phone while crossing the road....... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 There are hardly any enforcement actions taken against pedestrians breaking traffic laws. Explains the typical lax attitude for them to follow road rules here... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 5:09 AM, StefanK said: I agree with you that the driver should have come down to check on the pedestrian. and give more scolding to the pedestrian until the pedestrian apologies to him 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 (edited) Like it or not, the enforcement of the traffic laws (if not the laws themselves) is heavily biased against the drivers. Be careful on the roads, even if you are almost free of blame, you can still get properly fixed by the system for a mistake made by a pedestrian (or cyclist). Edited June 3, 2014 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Anshng Clutched June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 There is a simple solution to the problem. Drive a being car with loud engine noise then they will notice. Cannot drive lexus. too quiet already. follow pedestrian behind they also dunno 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
VenomMX 4th Gear June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 4:18 AM, Kklim said: The road leading to the Sembawang Shopping Centre carpark. Lunchtime. BTW it's not my video. Yeah, lunchtime always like that.. Weekends worst still.. Sometimes will even have jokers who illegally park right outside that nasi padang shop where this incident happened, blocking 1 entire lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 5:42 AM, Anshng said: There is a simple solution to the problem. Drive a being car with loud engine noise then they will notice. Cannot drive lexus. too quiet already. follow pedestrian behind they also dunno or a prius. was walking behind one in a carpark the other day ... damn quiet sia ... like a ninja! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 Driver should have got down to check . First , to see if pedestrian is OK ; and secondly , ask if he is lodging any report. If pedestrain says no , then obtain his identification as a "showproof" . By driving away he risks the pedestrian lodging a report on a hit and run . If at least you have his particulars , you can give your account of what happened to mitigate the case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 5:54 AM, Sp4wn said: or a prius. was walking behind one in a carpark the other day ... damn quiet sia ... like a ninja! that one hybrid mah, dun think it make any noise when stationary, 25km/L leh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 5:42 AM, Anshng said: There is a simple solution to the problem. Drive a being car with loud engine noise then they will notice. Cannot drive lexus. too quiet already. follow pedestrian behind they also dunno Drive a dirty diesel, clack-clack-clack and belching black smoke. Every pedestrian will keep away. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 5:37 AM, Jman888 said: and give more scolding to the pedestrian until the pedestrian apologies to him I think the balls already suck so deep inside that the driver has no way to come down and scold people liao... I remember my one and only (hopefully last) time that I knocked into a pedestrian. I dropped my wife off at the drop off zone at One Raffles Quay, as I signalled and started to inch out, I stopped to give way to the cars coming down from carpark, so I waved thanks and proceeded on - this whole time my eyes were on the cars behind and beside me because when I moved off initially, it was clear in front. Lo and behold, this man was for some reason standing in front my car, walking slowly, talking on his phone, so when I had lifted my foot of the brake, my car had knocked onto him and his leather briefcase dragged along my bonnet. I tell you, my balls shrink and suck in deep deep. All i could do was keep apologising, only after that when I calmed down then I start cursing that guy. On 6/3/2014 at 6:04 AM, Kb27 said: Drive a dirty diesel, clack-clack-clack and belching black smoke. Every pedestrian will keep away. That's why some times, loud exhausts are good. Another plus point for LTA to consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 6:07 AM, StefanK said: I think the balls already suck so deep inside that the driver has no way to come down and scold people liao... I remember my one and only (hopefully last) time that I knocked into a pedestrian. I dropped my wife off at the drop off zone at One Raffles Quay, as I signalled and started to inch out, I stopped to give way to the cars coming down from carpark, so I waved thanks and proceeded on - this whole time my eyes were on the cars behind and beside me because when I moved off initially, it was clear in front. Lo and behold, this man was for some reason standing in front my car, walking slowly, talking on his phone, so when I had lifted my foot of the brake, my car had knocked onto him and his leather briefcase dragged along my bonnet. I tell you, my balls shrink and suck in deep deep. All i could do was keep apologising, only after that when I calmed down then I start cursing that guy. That's why some times, loud exhausts are good. Another plus point for LTA to consider. lucky you are not that kim jung un. i hit a drunk cyclist before (actually more like side swipe on my side mirror and he didn't even fall, i think he learn drunken fist before!), was also got shock for few second then start cursing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic June 3, 2014 Share June 3, 2014 On 6/3/2014 at 6:07 AM, StefanK said: That's why some times, loud exhausts are good. Another plus point for LTA to consider. Let's have a "Loud Pipes Save Lives" campaign. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...