Students removed ballot box counselled by police

Kb27

SINGAPORE - Two students who found and removed five empty ballot boxes, apparently used in the 2011 Presidential Election, have been counselled by the police.

The ballot boxes were from a storeroom in a school located within the Bishan-Toa Payoh electoral division.

Police investigations into the case, reported last August have been completed, and the two youths involved have been issued advisories for their "unauthorised removal" of these boxes, said the police in a statement on Monday.

Investigations also concluded that the five ballot boxes were used and discarded boxes meant to be disposed of by the Election Department's waste contractor after the election. "There was no evidence that relates to the tampering of ballot boxes before and while in use, and hence no breach of integrity of the electoral process," added a police spokesman. "The police, in consultation with the Attorney-General's Chambers, have counselled and issued two 17-year-old youths with advisories for their involvement in the incident."

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/courts-crime/story/two-students-who-found-and-removed-discarded-ballot-boxes-counsell

Oh wow, somebody screwed up leaving important stuffs lying around and they blame the students.

Wonder whether the ballot boxes contained any votes papers not explained .... [sweatdrop]

Shouldn't Election Dept issued the number of boxes to polling centres and should also collect back the same number of boxes whether the boxes got use or not.... [confused]

Poor youth, found the boxes and got blamed for it ... [grin]

Boy A: hey check this satki looking box here!!!!!!

Boy B: oeeeiiiiii!!!!! Mai luan Lai hor!!!! Knn! You neber see the ah gong sticker all over the place!!! You neber die before ah!!!!

Boy C: ai yah!! Boh chup lah!!! Just use these box to keep our football boots lah!!!

1 year ago

Mata: tia gong you all three boy use ah gong box keep your football boots ah

Boy: jit Bai dai jee dua tiao liao [crazy]

[grin]

Polling centre manager boh tio buah gu yu?

gu yu yong leow, super-market boh huay. kee tar piow boh ho buah ka boh kow kut...... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Picnic06

This is what I call paranoia.

They can always redesign the sticker, use a different colour for the box on every GE.

If you go and ask the teenagers what they think of the authorities. I think most likely they will call them bullies.

its better to blame these 2 scapegoats than to expose the skeletons in the closet

When there was a toilet break, two gulkars (spelling??) were blamed because they "can't sing" [wave]

Polling centre manager boh tio buah gu yu?

Sure kena also lah... but there's no criminal charge in being sloppy with the boxes, I suppose. So at the most get a scolding. This being singapore, I'm sure something was done, except it won't be made public.

This is what I call paranoia.

They can always redesign the sticker, use a different colour for the box on every GE.

If you go and ask the teenagers what they think of the authorities. I think most likely they will call them bullies.

Where got bully? Authorities already give chance by just providing "counselling" without any charges being made.

I guess they accepted the fact that the teens were naive and did not realize the implications of their actions.

[hur]

I'm confused...

Flooding = ponding

Warning = Counselling???

Toilet cleaner = Janitor

Packaging