Antant77 1st Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Hi everyone, It was fun reading posts and gathering information from all you nice folks. Got my M5 about a month ago at 113,888 with COE38K. Did the boot cover and non led scuff plate after buying in from TB. Changed to 17" advan rim with toyo rubbers. FC suffered and I dun go high that much. FC is only 13.5 /100 km and after looking at everyone's FC mine was lowest. First 1K check done yesterday and tech guy said everything is okay with car. :( I am interested in group meet up and have been to mazda meetup once but my friend & I was the only M5 there. Would love it if all M5 owners interested would meet up and have a chat over kopi. Staying at macpherson :) Jer Hi Jademen, Anyone PM you for meeting up or whatsapp group? It will be magnificent to see many M5 parked in one location ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stkm1234 Clutched April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Collected my M5 yesterday. Lucky to get March COE although I declined to top up 2k. Now trying to get a feel of the car. Drive with my hand brakes up today, until a biker told me there smoke coming out from my wheel, and burning smell. So blur. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Collected my M5 yesterday. Lucky to get March COE although I declined to top up 2k. Now trying to get a feel of the car. Drive with my hand brakes up today, until a biker told me there smoke coming out from my wheel, and burning smell. So blur. Congrats. I'll be making my remaining payment tomorrow. Estimate delivery date will be this 18th Apr, YOM 2016 stock. For better performance shall compensate by higher FC. Not worthy after spending so much on your COE and your precious car. But if u really wanna to see performance on your vehicle. You may survey the following options. PS: highly possible voiding your current warranty. (1)Topping up fuel more often are never your concern, u may consider "legally" and surgically improve your exhaust sys. However, the sound of the exhaust can be pretty annoying. If you don't like your neighbor, this modification might be the right tool and please don't come to punggol area. (2) Install 5 pts Grounding and adding capacitors to improve your circuitry in your vehicle. Depend on individual, on my previous ride, I do kinda feel the different. Goggle to understand more. (3)Lastly as we mentioned earlier, increase the air intake. For MPV like M5, my suggestion is moderate your right foot and remember to do your servicing more promptly. Inject sufficient pressure for your tires and if you are not using your dumbbells, golf bag, industrial pumps, machinery etc that often, please remove them. Selectively ferry your in laws or some “thick skin” colleague at your workplace (unless they are pretty). All these tips help U to improve your FC. If you want, I also can share with you my I.C.E. setup on my previous rides. However due to insufficient points in my profile(i think), I only can share after some approved posts. :( Hi Antant77, Nice to see a fellow ICE enthusiast here. What ICE setup u have in mind for your Mazda 5? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnewbie79 1st Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Congrats. I'll be making my remaining payment tomorrow. Estimate delivery date will be this 18th Apr, YOM 2016 stock. Hi Antant77, Nice to see a fellow ICE enthusiast here. What ICE setup u have in mind for your Mazda 5? You mean u guys all got your bid on wed? Open cat? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 You mean u guys all got your bid on wed? Open cat? My recent 4th bidding is unsuccessful, outbid at $46,599. I took the option of $2K top up for Open Cat COE as my current ride is due on 9th year on 25th Apr 2016. If I crossed this 9th year mark, I would need to: 1. Go for inspection, 2. Renew 6 months of road tax of about $530. 3. Lose 5% of OMV $18,000 (about $900). Looking at the strong trend of CAT B COE pricing, and after weighing the pros & cons on my current ride, I decided to top up and at the same time max out the full ownership of my current ride till 9th year. My final net price for this new Mazda 5 after factoring in the $2K overtrade given is $103,888. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnewbie79 1st Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 My recent 4th bidding is unsuccessful, outbid at $46,599. I took the option of $2K top up for Open Cat COE as my current ride is due on 9th year on 25th Apr 2016. If I crossed this 9th year mark, I would need to: 1. Go for inspection, 2. Renew 6 months of road tax of about $530. 3. Lose 5% of OMV $18,000 (about $900). Looking at the strong trend of CAT B COE pricing, and after weighing the pros & cons on my current ride, I decided to top up and at the same time max out the full ownership of my current ride till 9th year. My final net price for this new Mazda 5 after factoring in the $2K overtrade given is $103,888. Congrats bro. Let us know how your new ride is. If Coe don't come down, I will have to wait for 2 more bids before getting it. Hope it doesn't come down by then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnewbie79 1st Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Congrats bro. Let us know how your new ride is. If Coe don't come down, I will have to wait for 2 more bids before getting it. Hope it doesn't come down by then.Just curious, when u say over trade, they give u higher trade in value but do they inflate your purchase price too? I don't rem being offered that..was it built into the 103,888 nett price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Just curious, when u say over trade, they give u higher trade in value but do they inflate your purchase price too? I don't rem being offered that..was it built into the 103,888 nett price? Yup, they gave me additional $2K more for my trade in car value. My 9 year old Kia Carens is worthless in the resale market. By default, they will not out-front give you this additional value if you don't bargain for it. Most people only negotiate for more freebies. Almost all Korean or Jap AD have at least $2K in their pocket as bargaining chips. Conti ADs have deeper pockets for overtrades as their profit margins are even higher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnewbie79 1st Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 Yup, they gave me additional $2K more for my trade in car value. My 9 year old Kia Carens is worthless in the resale market. By default, they will not out-front give you this additional value if you don't bargain for it. Most people only negotiate for more freebies. Almost all Korean or Jap AD have at least $2K in their pocket as bargaining chips. Conti ADs have deeper pockets for overtrades as their profit margins are even higher. Ok. They did up my trade in value though the term overtrade wasn't used..oh well..no point getting upset at this point..lets hope our new ride is a good one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 8, 2016 Share April 8, 2016 (edited) Ok. They did up my trade in value though the term overtrade wasn't used..oh well..no point getting upset at this point..lets hope our new ride is a good one! Yeap cheers Congrats bro. Let us know how your new ride is. If Coe don't come down, I will have to wait for 2 more bids before getting it. Hope it doesn't come down by then. Yeah.. I have bought a new set of 17" new rims paired with Continental 225/45/R17 tyres ready for my new ride upon collection. Edited April 8, 2016 by Mr_biscuit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobmale Clutched April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 My recent 4th bidding is unsuccessful, outbid at $46,599. I took the option of $2K top up for Open Cat COE as my current ride is due on 9th year on 25th Apr 2016. If I crossed this 9th year mark, I would need to: 1. Go for inspection, 2. Renew 6 months of road tax of about $530. 3. Lose 5% of OMV $18,000 (about $900). Looking at the strong trend of CAT B COE pricing, and after weighing the pros & cons on my current ride, I decided to top up and at the same time max out the full ownership of my current ride till 9th year. My final net price for this new Mazda 5 after factoring in the $2K overtrade given is $103,888. Congrats on your new ride bro! I was offered a top up but i declined. I think u have made a right choice after weighing the pros and cons. As for me i think i still can afford to wait and furthermore i just had my servicing done. It's the 4th bidding for me and left 4 biddings to go.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Congrats on your new ride bro! I was offered a top up but i declined. I think u have made a right choice after weighing the pros and cons. As for me i think i still can afford to wait and furthermore i just had my servicing done. It's the 4th bidding for me and left 4 biddings to go.. Thanks.Hope you get your Coe the next round. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antant77 1st Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Congrats. I'll be making my remaining payment tomorrow. Estimate delivery date will be this 18th Apr, YOM 2016 stock. Hi Antant77, Nice to see a fellow ICE enthusiast here. What ICE setup u have in mind for your Mazda 5? Congrats bro, mine too Kia carren. Left two years. Waiting for my bid after top up. I am still considering whether to do ICE upon receiving my M5. U sure u wanna to open up your new car? I can share what is in my mind after my warranty is over. Certain obvious things definitely will do. Sound proofing four doors. And I may customize a thick acrylic under my spare tires compartment. Spare tires stay at home. All my amps, capacitor banks, woofer speaker, circuit breaker and TV tuner will be mounted onto the acrylic. Likely install two central speakers at D-pillars. 3 ways speakers at A-pillars. Upgrade my car batt to higher ampere and a separate kill switch for all my sound systems. This is to isolate power consumption during my business trip. Lastly and most importantly upgrading my HU. No offense, I actually not in favor pioneer. I m not selling but I been using Sony HU for best movie theater experience. Pioneer too many buttons liao and I prefer plain looking "box" panel cw sharp graphic. Not installing roof mount monitor and seat monitors. Less LEDs. Maybe LEDs below chairs and spare tires compartment when opening doors. I started my ICE since my first car. Spent so much and they won't worth anything when u sell your car. It is additive, once u start, u eventually will keep on adding new gadgets. Maybe I will try to control my temptation till my warranty finishes. Any folks wanna to know more I don't mind sharing. Ya. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 (edited) Congrats bro, mine too Kia carren. Left two years. Waiting for my bid after top up. I am still considering whether to do ICE upon receiving my M5. U sure u wanna to open up your new car? I can share what is in my mind after my warranty is over. Certain obvious things definitely will do. Sound proofing four doors. And I may customize a thick acrylic under my spare tires compartment. Spare tires stay at home. All my amps, capacitor banks, woofer speaker, circuit breaker and TV tuner will be mounted onto the acrylic. Likely install two central speakers at D-pillars. 3 ways speakers at A-pillars. Upgrade my car batt to higher ampere and a separate kill switch for all my sound systems. This is to isolate power consumption during my business trip. Lastly and most importantly upgrading my HU. No offense, I actually not in favor pioneer. I m not selling but I been using Sony HU for best movie theater experience. Pioneer too many buttons liao and I prefer plain looking "box" panel cw sharp graphic. Not installing roof mount monitor and seat monitors. Less LEDs. Maybe LEDs below chairs and spare tires compartment when opening doors. I started my ICE since my first car. Spent so much and they won't worth anything when u sell your car. It is additive, once u start, u eventually will keep on adding new gadgets. Maybe I will try to control my temptation till my warranty finishes. Any folks wanna to know more I don't mind sharing. Ya. My current Kia Carens ICE setup: 1. Pioneer avx-1750 DVD with roof monitor 2. Pionner 4 channel Amp (bridged to 2 channel) 3. Pioneer underseat woofer 4. Moreal 2 way component speakers. 5. No sound proofing required. Previous Subaru Ice setup (Brand new car): 1. Alpine 9887 HU (Time alignment tuned) 2. 2 Way Active DLS Component speakers 3. Audison SRX4 amp (Drive Speakers) 4. 12" Hertz Subwoofer 5. Rockford 2 channel Amp (Drive woofer) 6. Soundproof 1 layer front doors and boot cover. (More than sufficient) 7. Audsion RCA cables and fuse holder. For my new Mazda 5, plan to use back my Pioneer Amp and underseat woofer. Just need a new set of Hertz component speakers and a good tuning will do. Edited April 9, 2016 by Mr_biscuit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weewee1976 3rd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Congrats bro, mine too Kia carren. Left two years. Waiting for my bid after top up. I am still considering whether to do ICE upon receiving my M5. U sure u wanna to open up your new car? I can share what is in my mind after my warranty is over. Certain obvious things definitely will do. Sound proofing four doors. And I may customize a thick acrylic under my spare tires compartment. Spare tires stay at home. All my amps, capacitor banks, woofer speaker, circuit breaker and TV tuner will be mounted onto the acrylic. Likely install two central speakers at D-pillars. 3 ways speakers at A-pillars. Upgrade my car batt to higher ampere and a separate kill switch for all my sound systems. This is to isolate power consumption during my business trip. Lastly and most importantly upgrading my HU. No offense, I actually not in favor pioneer. I m not selling but I been using Sony HU for best movie theater experience. Pioneer too many buttons liao and I prefer plain looking "box" panel cw sharp graphic. Not installing roof mount monitor and seat monitors. Less LEDs. Maybe LEDs below chairs and spare tires compartment when opening doors. I started my ICE since my first car. Spent so much and they won't worth anything when u sell your car. It is additive, once u start, u eventually will keep on adding new gadgets. Maybe I will try to control my temptation till my warranty finishes. Any folks wanna to know more I don't mind sharing. Ya. Bro, don't mind my opinion. When it comes to sound quality from the HU, nothing beats Alpine and next Pioneer. Sony is nowhere near them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antant77 1st Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Bro, don't mind my opinion. When it comes to sound quality from the HU, nothing beats Alpine and next Pioneer. Sony is nowhere near them.I agree. Bro. Both HUs have the best sound quality. Compare to responsive and graghic quality my view is Sony is better. It does matter lah. Different taste buds. Importantly you must like what u have. Ya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Antant77 1st Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 My current Kia Carens ICE setup: 1. Pioneer avx-1750 DVD with roof monitor 2. Pionner 4 channel Amp (bridged to 2 channel) 3. Pioneer underseat woofer 4. Moreal 2 way component speakers. 5. No sound proofing required. Previous Subaru Ice setup (Brand new car): 1. Alpine 9887 HU (Time alignment tuned) 2. 2 Way Active DLS Component speakers 3. Audison SRX4 amp (Drive Speakers) 4. 12" Hertz Subwoofer 5. Rockford 2 channel Amp (Drive woofer) 6. Soundproof 1 layer front doors and boot cover. (More than sufficient) 7. Audsion RCA cables and fuse holder. For my new Mazda 5, plan to use back my Pioneer Amp and underseat woofer. Just need a new set of Hertz component speakers and a good tuning will do. Wow. Yours amazing. Model number some can't remember but I will try to recall. Some items nothing to do with ICE. Just do for fun Nissan latio(first) & Kia carens (second). 1. Sony head unit Xav- 70bt(caren) & xav-W1(latio) 2. JBL 3 ways speaker(front) 3. Hertz speakers (rear) 4. 1x 2-ch infinity amp for front 5. 1x 2-ch infinity amp for rear 6. 1x sound steam mono block amp 7. Customize carpentry for amps & MTX woofer speakers 8. Sound proof 4 doors 9. Capacitor bank 10. Pivot 5pt grounding (latio) 11. K&N performance air filter (latio) 12. Seat monitors x 2 (latio) 13. Blackvue(wifi) + magic pro (front) blackvue recycle from latio (rear) 14. Module for Side mirrors close when arm my car 15. Crime stopper alarm sys 16. Fuse holder for all amps 17. TV turner 18. Auto tilt side mirror 19. Pivot voltage meter & capacitor 20. Circuit breaker 21. High ampere Bosch batts 22. De kit and rewiring for Kia carens 23. V-cool (carens) 24. 17" rim(latio), original 17" rim (caren) 25. LEDs lights( below seat and dashboard) M5. (Haven yet so still Zero) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mr_biscuit 3rd Gear April 9, 2016 Share April 9, 2016 Bro, don't mind my opinion. When it comes to sound quality from the HU, nothing beats Alpine and next Pioneer. Sony is nowhere near them. Agreed with you. For sound quality, Alpine produces the best and tuning with pink noise yield the best warmth music. However Alpine HUs are pretty expensive, hence go for 2nd best all these while which is Pioneer. Another long forgotten legend is Clarion D2 HU, the best bang for bucks HU back then. Eversince this model, Clarion has not produce any powerful HU. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...