YongLip Clutched January 18, 2016 Share January 18, 2016 (edited) car registered liao... still SKZ XXXX i already foresee their after sales to get worse judging by the number of cars that lined up for servicing on a typical weekday. Its the classic case of after sales failing to catch up with sales...hopefully they get a 3rd facility soon. Thats also partly the reason why I din sign up for their extended warranty package. To me, once the std warranty is over, I am free to go service outside. That includes going across the causeway to use their authorized agent; something which I have done for my previous ride. Edited January 18, 2016 by YongLip ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 Just in case some bros/sis think that Mazda malaysia/johor is some dodgy operations,...their latest facility at Permas Jaya... havent try it personally but i reckon should have some savings on genuine Mazda parts... i think i should be a regular there 3 years from now...haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
hitlerson21 Clutched January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 besides i-stop causing draining of battery faster, another thing to note is that, the power sliding door and anti-glaring rear view mirror also consume battery. As long as the battery lasts slightly more than 2 years, it should be ok. Also yuasa has a model which is suitable for cars with i-stop function. cheaper. check it out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacklenny 1st Gear January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 besides i-stop causing draining of battery faster, another thing to note is that, the power sliding door and anti-glaring rear view mirror also consume battery. As long as the battery lasts slightly more than 2 years, it should be ok. Also yuasa has a model which is suitable for cars with i-stop function. cheaper. check it out. Mine is non skyactive model, my battery only can last less than 1.5 battery. I think the power slide door consume most battery. As i use the sliding door alot to fetch ppl. and i haven't hook up any ICE yet .... It is interesting to see if i-stop function will draw more battery ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingo Neutral Newbie January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 besides i-stop causing draining of battery faster, another thing to note is that, the power sliding door and anti-glaring rear view mirror also consume battery. As long as the battery lasts slightly more than 2 years, it should be ok. Also yuasa has a model which is suitable for cars with i-stop function. cheaper. check it out.Actually, what's so special about the battery? Normal batteries used for other cars are not suitable? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weewee1976 3rd Gear January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 besides i-stop causing draining of battery faster, another thing to note is that, the power sliding door and anti-glaring rear view mirror also consume battery. As long as the battery lasts slightly more than 2 years, it should be ok. Also yuasa has a model which is suitable for cars with i-stop function. cheaper. check it out. Our stock one is by GS Yuasa. Actually, what's so special about the battery? Normal batteries used for other cars are not suitable? Maybe you would like to read up more here: http://www.yuasa.co.uk/info/technical/start-stop-vehicle-battery-replacement-warning/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RT75 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 car registered liao... still SKZ XXXX i already foresee their after sales to get worse judging by the number of cars that lined up for servicing on a typical weekday. Its the classic case of after sales failing to catch up with sales...hopefully they get a 3rd facility soon. Thats also partly the reason why I din sign up for their extended warranty package. To me, once the std warranty is over, I am free to go service outside. That includes going across the causeway to use their authorized agent; something which I have done for my previous ride. Hi YongLip, Can share more about your experiences of the JB servicing. Maybe i can be more specific: #1. Is their customer servicing better than local? #2. Is their car servicing better than local? #3. Is the servicing cost 1/3 of local servicing cost? ( since our currency is 1:3) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 Sure. As mentioned I have not tried Mazda Authorised dealer in JB before...M5 is my first Mazda... But 3 years later, i will definitely try it. but I have tried Honda's Authorised dealer in JB. For me I have no choice then as my car was bought from PI and SG Honda doesnt entertain cars bought from PI. Really one kind. My car then had reached 100K km and I was thinking of doing a major overhaul service with authorised agent. Not your usual oil change. Prior to going there, I in fact wrote an email to the JB servicing centre (Yong Ming Honda) and check with them whether they entertain a foreign car like mine...they were prompt in their reply and told me just to bring my car down. I had even checked their prices and for the same service, there is definitely some savings,..i cant remember the exact numbers now but i would add is not like 50% off,..but moderate..you must understand they are authorised dealer and prices will definitely be much higher than the outside uncle type joint. also weak RM means parts imported from Japan would be ex and thus cannot realised the full factor of 3. but compared to SG authorised, still cheaper. Why i am comfortable with JB authorised dealer is because i reckon the training they receive from the Japanese is no different from the training given to their SG counterpart. Same type of car, definitely same steps to repair/service and same parts. no 2 ways about it. And my experience there has shown this to be the case,..just one word to describe...professional. Did i also mention they have aircon waiting area. Bros who are adventurous can maybe hook up with Mazda JB especially if warranty bo liao and doing something major. at least get a second opinion. Normally outside Uncle joint also can do, even for something major, they just have to indent the part,..but nothing beats being serviced/repaired by the same people that build the vehicle...at least they have the full manual to refer to..haha. one word of caution tho, i realised from the JB Mazda authorised dealer facebook photos they sell a lot of Mazda cars but dont seem to be able to find M5 at all,...altho its listed for sale in their main Mazda website (RM153K...not exactly cheap),..so really need to touchbase with them to find out whether they have M5 expertise,...that for me will be 3 years away. cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RT75 Neutral Newbie January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 Sure. As mentioned I have not tried Mazda Authorised dealer in JB before...M5 is my first Mazda... But 3 years later, i will definitely try it. but I have tried Honda's Authorised dealer in JB. For me I have no choice then as my car was bought from PI and SG Honda doesnt entertain cars bought from PI. Really one kind. My car then had reached 100K km and I was thinking of doing a major overhaul service with authorised agent. Not your usual oil change. Prior to going there, I in fact wrote an email to the JB servicing centre (Yong Ming Honda) and check with them whether they entertain a foreign car like mine...they were prompt in their reply and told me just to bring my car down. I had even checked their prices and for the same service, there is definitely some savings,..i cant remember the exact numbers now but i would add is not like 50% off,..but moderate..you must understand they are authorised dealer and prices will definitely be much higher than the outside uncle type joint. also weak RM means parts imported from Japan would be ex and thus cannot realised the full factor of 3. but compared to SG authorised, still cheaper. Why i am comfortable with JB authorised dealer is because i reckon the training they receive from the Japanese is no different from the training given to their SG counterpart. Same type of car, definitely same steps to repair/service and same parts. no 2 ways about it. And my experience there has shown this to be the case,..just one word to describe...professional. Did i also mention they have aircon waiting area. Bros who are adventurous can maybe hook up with Mazda JB especially if warranty bo liao and doing something major. at least get a second opinion. Normally outside Uncle joint also can do, even for something major, they just have to indent the part,..but nothing beats being serviced/repaired by the same people that build the vehicle...at least they have the full manual to refer to..haha. one word of caution tho, i realised from the JB Mazda authorised dealer facebook photos they sell a lot of Mazda cars but dont seem to be able to find M5 at all,...altho its listed for sale in their main Mazda website (RM153K...not exactly cheap),..so really need to touchbase with them to find out whether they have M5 expertise,...that for me will be 3 years away. cheers. Yo, thank . Sorry for not reading your previous post correctly. So you just bought your M5, same here bro. I just got mine 2 weeks ago. My previous car was honda also. Was actually deciding between Wish and M5 and finally settled for M5. So far so good and is now still adapting to this M5. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 19, 2016 Share January 19, 2016 No worries, all learning from each other. Car collection tomorrow.... cheers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erictl76 1st Gear January 20, 2016 Share January 20, 2016 M5 is not a popular car in Malaysia because they've many other options for the same category. Furthermore, if I'm not remember wrongly, Biante is cheaper than M5 in Malaysia too. But, since they're selling, I bet their service crew must have been trained to service it... I'll likely give it a try also 3 yrs later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazz_samz Neutral Newbie January 20, 2016 Share January 20, 2016 Thanks again guys. Yah the sales man tell me all the stories. I told em I can wait. End up they offered me the open cat!! Collecting car on Friday. I wonder how long is the process for collecting car? I don't know that their after sales service is that poor. Hmmm hope they can catch up with new facility. Hopefully in the west. Hahahhaha Any ways, I use to run a genuine auto parts trading company and buy parts for toyota, Nissan, Subaru. Mazda controls their parts very tight but still can buy from my old contacts. I might do some mass order for some key parts when I am familiarised. Need to get in touch with some old friends to see if have any good lobang to share. Quite happy that I will get my ride before CNY. Hope all the excitement and expectation won't lead to any disappointment. Anyone knows any good contact to buy BBS rims? Am toying with the idea hahhaha U guys plan to do any mods like struts, grounding etc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 20, 2016 Share January 20, 2016 collection quite fast....sign a few documents for new car as well as old car. Sales guy give quick briefing on the car and off you go,...not more than 1hr. Jazz..i now think your sales guy trying to pull a fast one with the COE thing. I think they already have intention to offer Open Cat,..he trying his luck to see whether you can top up into his pocket...i was offered open cat the next day after i booked. thats why for my case from booking to car collection - 2.5 weeks. the blaupunkt in car camera so bloody high tec...with GPS dongle and stuff....can talk to handphone some more,...havent learn all the functions yet,..haiz..prefer my old camera..simpler...record nia. haha. The GPS navigation working nicely,.. Rest of car...still breaking in and monitoring performance... as expected during this stage, fuel consumption is compared to my previous ride, the noise, ride quality etc...maciam one day one night. no regrets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BenjaminTay_83149 1st Gear January 21, 2016 Share January 21, 2016 I have been getting 13km/l, manual calculation on NSH with VPower 97, 3 adults, 3 children, 1x 24" luggage bag, a few bags of stuff. Average speed on NSH is 120km/h. I pumped the front 240kpa and back 280kpa, according to the label. Have yet to try VPower Racing with this car. I recently made a trip to Port Dickson as well, and managed to clock around 750km on a single tank of V-Power Nitro (pumped in SG), aircon on the whole time, with 4 adults, 2 children, and lots of luggage! Average speed around 110km/h along the NSH (car was heavy and I could feel the engine straining abit at 120km/h). I was very pleased with the performance and comfort the car provided, and also the price of Shell V-power Racing in MY (RM$2.90/litre ) so pleased that I made another trip to Malacca shortly after that hehe! Again I was able to clock more than 700km on my one tank of V-power Nitro, but this time I was carrying less weight and was able to run alot faster along the NSH, around 120-130km/h, without straining the engine. I must say the car's stability and noise levels at high speeds is impressive to a big-car newbie like me, and it dispelled any thoughts that the car's advertised FC of 15km/l is rubbish. So for those who are still wondering about this car's FC, doubt no more cos it's the real deal! Oh, and I don't think I'll be switching back to Esso 95 anytime soon, as the performance and FC from V-power Nitro (or Racing) and the price across the causeway is too good to miss! However, I recently drove in to JB for some makan and massage at KSL and found out the hard way that the Shell petrol station nearby is closed for renovation, so do pump at the one just after the customs checkpoint as there are no other Shell stations along the way back to the customs checkpoint...wasted opportunity to pump full tank as I went in with less than a quarter tank... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RT75 Neutral Newbie January 21, 2016 Share January 21, 2016 Thanks again guys. Yah the sales man tell me all the stories. I told em I can wait. End up they offered me the open cat!! Collecting car on Friday. I wonder how long is the process for collecting car? I don't know that their after sales service is that poor. Hmmm hope they can catch up with new facility. Hopefully in the west. Hahahhaha Any ways, I use to run a genuine auto parts trading company and buy parts for toyota, Nissan, Subaru. Mazda controls their parts very tight but still can buy from my old contacts. I might do some mass order for some key parts when I am familiarised. Need to get in touch with some old friends to see if have any good lobang to share. Quite happy that I will get my ride before CNY. Hope all the excitement and expectation won't lead to any disappointment. Anyone knows any good contact to buy BBS rims? Am toying with the idea hahhaha U guys plan to do any mods like struts, grounding etc? Yo Bro, i intends to install the reinforcement bar.. you keen? Btw... just to share... i not sure if i am crazy... but i went online to get all the M5 stuffs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 21, 2016 Share January 21, 2016 I recently made a trip to Port Dickson as well, and managed to clock around 750km on a single tank of V-Power Nitro (pumped in SG), aircon on the whole time, with 4 adults, 2 children, and lots of luggage! Average speed around 110km/h along the NSH (car was heavy and I could feel the engine straining abit at 120km/h). I was very pleased with the performance and comfort the car provided, and also the price of Shell V-power Racing in MY (RM$2.90/litre ) so pleased that I made another trip to Malacca shortly after that hehe! Again I was able to clock more than 700km on my one tank of V-power Nitro, but this time I was carrying less weight and was able to run alot faster along the NSH, around 120-130km/h, without straining the engine. I must say the car's stability and noise levels at high speeds is impressive to a big-car newbie like me, and it dispelled any thoughts that the car's advertised FC of 15km/l is rubbish. So for those who are still wondering about this car's FC, doubt no more cos it's the real deal! Oh, and I don't think I'll be switching back to Esso 95 anytime soon, as the performance and FC from V-power Nitro (or Racing) and the price across the causeway is too good to miss! However, I recently drove in to JB for some makan and massage at KSL and found out the hard way that the Shell petrol station nearby is closed for renovation, so do pump at the one just after the customs checkpoint as there are no other Shell stations along the way back to the customs checkpoint...wasted opportunity to pump full tank as I went in with less than a quarter tank... Agree this car is a cruiser. I had the chance to try at more than 100km/hr just now on the expressway,..boy it really goes and goes,..quiet and stable...until i remind myself to take things easy during break in period... Btw... just to share... i not sure if i am crazy... but i went online to get all the M5 stuffs Mine already transiting in HK,...should be arriving these few days.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 21, 2016 Share January 21, 2016 Just fetched kids with moon roof up, windows all wind down,...super spacious feel..the sheer excitement and joy from their faces..priceless.... and the power sliding doors....i don't think i can buy another car without one. btw,..for bros worried about the after market silver exhaust cover hitting something while reverse parking, just remove it by unscrewing.. agree its a bit low..but so far mine havent hit anything yet.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YongLip Clutched January 21, 2016 Share January 21, 2016 M5 engine has a compression ratio of 12. And engines with high compression ratio is best matched with higher octane fuel..higher octane fuel has a lower burning point and so can be compressed more before ignition compared to lower octane fuel. i think the 15.5km per liters is using higher octane fuel (japan has RON 100) and driven on 100% highway....no one can say they are misrepresenting,..its just daily driving not like that la. once my full tank of RON 95 finish, i will try RON98 to see got difference or not,... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...