Watwheels Supersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 1:34 AM, Mustank said: guys! see this: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/man-row-bank-over-hacked-phone-5290534.html Did he root his android device? If you want to jailbreak or root your device make sure you do not put in your cc details. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 1:34 AM, Mustank said: guys! see this: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/man-row-bank-over-hacked-phone-5290534.html siao liao, i always make payment over the phone 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 Article here http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/man-in-row-with-bank-over-hacked-phone?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook#xtor=CS1-10 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 1:34 AM, Mustank said: guys! see this: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/man-row-bank-over-hacked-phone-5290534.html think this is more of user issue.... most likely he click on a dubious link and which asked for this his cc details... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 (edited) On 1/27/2016 at 2:16 AM, Strat said: think this is more of user issue.... most likely he click on a dubious link and which asked for this his cc details... I think his phone need First Aid training dun just anyhow give CC details Edited January 27, 2016 by BanCoe 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 User problem.. Cannot expect bank to foot the bill for his carelessness. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 conclusion: ownself fraud ownself :lll._.: 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 My CC oso kena hijack b4. Called DBS immediately when i started receiving some strange OTP. Within 10 mins, hijackers made 5k worth of online transactions. DBS cancel the card immediately and I was not held liable for any of the fraudulent transactions. Disappointed to read that UOB doesn't do the same and still shift blame to the customer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 4:30 AM, Soya said: My CC oso kena hijack b4. Called DBS immediately when i started receiving some strange OTP. Within 10 mins, hijackers made 5k worth of online transactions. DBS cancel the card immediately and I was not held liable for any of the fraudulent transactions. Disappointed to read that UOB doesn't do the same and still shift blame to the customer. How did the bad guys hijack? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 Does Android keeps CC info on the phone? If it does, that's dangerous. At least Apple keeps it on iTunes and if kenna hacked, it is Apple's responsibility. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 4:30 AM, Soya said: My CC oso kena hijack b4. Called DBS immediately when i started receiving some strange OTP. Within 10 mins, hijackers made 5k worth of online transactions. DBS cancel the card immediately and I was not held liable for any of the fraudulent transactions. Disappointed to read that UOB doesn't do the same and still shift blame to the customer. Yes, I like to know if the OTP is sent to you, how the hackers get the OTP? the OTP sms is auto forward to the hacker from your phone? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 4:30 AM, Soya said: My CC oso kena hijack b4. Called DBS immediately when i started receiving some strange OTP. Within 10 mins, hijackers made 5k worth of online transactions. DBS cancel the card immediately and I was not held liable for any of the fraudulent transactions. Disappointed to read that UOB doesn't do the same and still shift blame to the customer. But money has been spent, who is footing the bill? One party was careless, the other is a service provider. Unless can prove that the service provider's security was vulnerable and the hacker hack thru their security and stole the customer data. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 5:23 AM, Nolicense said: Yes, I like to know if the OTP is sent to you, how the hackers get the OTP? the OTP sms is auto forward to the hacker from your phone? No idea. Might not be thru hp coz juz a couple of mins b4 that, I spoke to their Treasures hotline officer abt something else n shortly after I put down my landline, the strange OTPs came flooding in....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
lausai88 Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 (edited) On 5/28/2014 at 12:30 AM, Kb27 said: AUSTRALIAN HACKERS apparently have hijacked Apple's Find My iPhone feature, enabling them to hold iOS and Mac device owners to ransom. iPhone, iPad and Mac users have taken to Apple's support forum to complain about the hacking, in which hackers use the Find My iPhone feature to remotely lock users' devices and send messages demanding money. One user wrote, "I went to check my phone and there was a message on the screen (it's still there) saying that my device(s) had been hacked by 'Oleg Pliss' and he/she/they demanded $100 USD/EUR (sent by paypal to lock404(at)hotmail.com) to return them to me." http://www.theinquirer.net/inquirer/news/2346670/hackers-hijack-find-my-iphone-to-hold-ios-and-mac-users-to-ransom this is old news? Apple acknowledges Find My iPhone exploit, urges users to change passwords Says it was a standard 'ID hack' By Carly Page Wed May 28 2014, 10:08 Edited January 27, 2016 by lausai88 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 4:30 AM, Soya said: My CC oso kena hijack b4. Called DBS immediately when i started receiving some strange OTP. Within 10 mins, hijackers made 5k worth of online transactions. DBS cancel the card immediately and I was not held liable for any of the fraudulent transactions. Disappointed to read that UOB doesn't do the same and still shift blame to the customer. In this instance, the OTP went through. i.e. the hackers where able to read the OTP code sent to the victim's hp through SMS and complete the OTP authentication. From your description, it seems like OTP was sent but you didn't responded to the OTP request by calling the bank to flag the suspicious activity. The bank immediately terminated the card and hence the OTP was not successful. From the bank's perspective, if the OTP went through, then they have no way to determine if the OTP was done by the victim himself or the hackers. Hence the bank rejected victim's payment dispute. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 a few years back, I thought donno issit association of banks say as long as it is not customer fault and that customer report promptly, fraud is limited to $100 or something like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged January 27, 2016 Share January 27, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 4:30 AM, Soya said: My CC oso kena hijack b4. Called DBS immediately when i started receiving some strange OTP. Within 10 mins, hijackers made 5k worth of online transactions. DBS cancel the card immediately and I was not held liable for any of the fraudulent transactions. Disappointed to read that UOB doesn't do the same and still shift blame to the customer. UOB sucks balls la. last time my cc kena hijack ... used in spain to book hotel room etc and spent a few hundred euro. i had already notified them a week ago when i receive 2 mysterious otp sms ... and when i reported this, at first they told me i am liable, i was like wtf ... im in sg, and just few days ago i informed you there may be something suspicious? they said they will hold me liable for the full amount regardless, until they can verify it wasnt me who spent the money (even when i say i can show my passport). long story short, these idiots refunded my money after 3 months ... when i how they come to that conclusion i wasnt there, they say confidential, cannot say. thank god i made dbs my primary bank after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged January 28, 2016 Share January 28, 2016 On 1/27/2016 at 7:32 AM, Sp4wn said: UOB sucks balls la. last time my cc kena hijack ... used in spain to book hotel room etc and spent a few hundred euro. i had already notified them a week ago when i receive 2 mysterious otp sms ... and when i reported this, at first they told me i am liable, i was like wtf ... im in sg, and just few days ago i informed you there may be something suspicious? they said they will hold me liable for the full amount regardless, until they can verify it wasnt me who spent the money (even when i say i can show my passport). long story short, these idiots refunded my money after 3 months ... when i how they come to that conclusion i wasnt there, they say confidential, cannot say. thank god i made dbs my primary bank after that. Sometime in early Sept last year... there was a large cheque deposit in my personal UOB account. I couldn't for the life of me figure out the source of this amount. Any commissions I was expecting? Nope... Wife running own business... maybe from there? Nope... Maybe Dad! Yes... he must have hit 4D finally!? ummm... nope... I should have called UOB but totally forgot about it... until they called me a couple of weeks back; "Umm... sir... please sir... do you by chance... ummm... recall any unexpected deposits..." I should have told them yes, thank you for the gift... I spent it all. But stupid me only blurted out "so it was from you lot" and how I had racked my head trying to figure it out and please go ahead and deduct the sum from my account ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...