Potential MPV buyers fall in please

Aukang

On 11/15/2014 at 2:56 AM, Othello said:

ya lor. some 2nd hand cars depn higher than new car.... Last resort then buy New

agree.... my manager viewed 2nd hand estima, going for 16-18k depre...

brand new 160+ k OMV 30k = 14.5k per yr....

its a no brainer but its the 50% down thats the bottleneck here...

On 11/15/2014 at 2:51 AM, Cann777 said:

oh, i went down with my manager who is keen to buy estima... we didnt ask about the airbag though....

i know that shop gave a fantastic trade in price for my manager's altis 2009.... also their estima is full spec ones, omv he told us around 30K+/-..... at 160+k i told my manager its a pretty good buy....

most importantly, reputable PI and they have ready stock in white....

Which PI is that?

On 11/13/2014 at 4:55 PM, Super7 said:

A truly multi purpose vehicle [thumbsup]

The tall headroom inside is another plus point. I could almost walk into the space for 3rd row seats instead of "crawling".

Yeah, that is 1 of 2 reasons why I prefer the 7 seater....the 'walking aisle'

On 11/15/2014 at 5:34 PM, Bonjoey said:

Yeah, that is 1 of 2 reasons why I prefer the 7 seater....the 'walking aisle'

What's the height of the MPV, so far you encounter any problem with HDB mscp? [grin] The SE told me something like not all mscp can accommodate the height

On 11/15/2014 at 5:41 PM, Super7 said:

What's the height of the MPV, so far you encounter any problem with HDB mscp? [grin] The SE told me something like not all mscp can accommodate the height

Go for mpvs below 1.8 m no worries

On 11/15/2014 at 5:41 PM, Super7 said:

According to the specs/ it is 1.825m

On 11/13/2014 at 9:52 AM, Z234user said:

Hey Samfreak..the countdown is on !!

Been awhile since we met (white Noah)..i will keep my fingers crossed for you.

Saw the new Esquire...Hmmm a lot of difference a swap in the front grill makes to overall car ;-(

My favorite among the Noah/Voxy family is definitely the Sports SI...sigh...i should have been more patient!! i would have gone for the moon roof version!!

I recently started following Tom's TRD ..a Hong Kong bodykit, repair, accessories dealer...man i am so impressed with this store's work & attention to detail.

Anyone know of a similar set up in Singapore ...been thinking of fixing the Yamaha dampers!!

Checkout the work he has done on Estima's Noah's, Lexus & prius-es...seems like a fair number of car crazy people in HK!!

https://www.facebook.com/tomstrdshop

Hello Z234 - 'unfortunately', the countdown is indeed on. Let's see how fortunes play out over the next few months. Am also hoping UMW Malaysia brings in the Noah officially - it helps with decision-making. Or maybe Toyota will offer a new generation Isis ......

On 11/16/2014 at 5:08 PM, samfreak said:

Hello Z234 - 'unfortunately', the countdown is indeed on. Let's see how fortunes play out over the next few months. Am also hoping UMW Malaysia brings in the Noah officially - it helps with decision-making. Or maybe Toyota will offer a new generation Isis ......

Hey Samfreak on UMW yes agree, in fact it be nice if Borneo Singapore replaces the 2.0 Picnic with the 2.0 Noah ,currently that space for 2.0 MPV is unfilled & for those who may not want or need a 2.4 Previa/Estima or even the luxurious Alphard/Vellfire, but are upgrading from a 1.8 or 1.6 saloon, the Noah fits into the category nicely.

suspect borneo probably bound by contract with toyota japan to push made in ASEAN toyota's & Singapore market may be too small?? dunno but they go to market straetgy (including choice of models & pricing) defies logic!

BTW just FYI Noah is using same engne 3ZR-FAE & CVT as the Harrier & that i have seen quite a few Harriers on the street

http://toyota.jp/harrier/003_p_001/spec/spec/gasoline/2wd/

I see the Noah/Voxy continue to do well in 2014 for Japan & even HKG.

i doubt the Isis will be given a new facelift majaor change too soon. think currently its already followed the latest Wish specs...& any updates will probably follow the Wish that currently outsells the Isis in Japan & probably globally..(just my guess)

http://www.best-selling-cars.com/japan/2014-q3-japan-best-selling-car-brand-models/

http://www.best-selling-cars.com/japan/2014-half-year-japan-best-selling-car-manufacturers-models/

apart from Noah, not sure what oher cars you considering...perhaps try your luck in putting a 6 COE bid attempt .& work out a lower bid maybe you can succeed to catch COE on a dip? , plenty of folks saying COE will drop...i think so too...the question is when & by how much. You have 10 months not sure how much flexibilty that gives you.

The car demand looks pretty sustained these few months...think it might be the spill over from the housing market...if you see house sales volumes there have dropped so much ,,,,i am guessing the car market is absorbing some of this liquidity. So if folks cannot upgrade house or buy investment property..they go car shopping maybe [confused]

anyways the way i comfort myself on high COEs, COE is uniquely Singapore no choice.COE hurts & helps too...low COEs & congestion on roads increase. On a positive note, Singapore does have low personal income tax. techinically we are more liquid then our fellow Australians, Americans, Brits where sure cars prices are lower but your disposable income is also lower too. not sure how comforting that is still for you but that's kind of how i comfort myself & of course i take the chance to go for nice long drives whenever i can :D

On 11/16/2014 at 4:56 AM, Bonjoey said:

According to the specs/ it is 1.825m

Genrally i get away with most HDB carpaks ..there is a handy site which list down carpark heights

http://carparkheight.blogspot.sg/

i avoid 1.8m & below..so far honestly for me no dramas as far as car height is concerned maybe i been lucky not to need to park at certain places

i did Interestingly find Raffles hospital that has reseverd lots for vehcles taller than 1.8m .nice gesture!

Meeting up with another Noah owner you can also try your luck at some hotels (1.9m) & to park at the lobby say car cannot enter carpark!! [laugh]

On 11/20/2014 at 12:04 AM, Z234user said:

Hey Samfreak on UMW yes agree, in fact it be nice if Borneo Singapore replaces the 2.0 Picnic with the 2.0 Noah ,currently that space for 2.0 MPV is unfilled & for those who may not want or need a 2.4 Previa/Estima or even the luxurious Alphard/Vellfire, but are upgrading from a 1.8 or 1.6 saloon, the Noah fits into the category nicely.

suspect borneo probably bound by contract with toyota japan to push made in ASEAN toyota's & Singapore market may be too small?? dunno but they go to market straetgy (including choice of models & pricing) defies logic!

Don't quite know how/what the ADs think. Apart from Toyota, I'm also puzzled at why C&C doesn't want to bring in the new kia grand carnival (or sedona as its called). It's probably direct rival to ody and estima, and hopefully being korean is significantly cheaper. Now Kia only has SUV (sorrento) as 7-seater and doesn't have any MPV, and can you imagine they try to ask me to look at it instead when i inquired about the sedona? What are they thinking??

Don't want to look at Biante?

I booked one last weekend, now waiting to see if got COE. :D In the end it's too value over Ody, 30k less and more space. Good enough.

On 11/20/2014 at 2:18 AM, tabbynat said:

Don't want to look at Biante?

I booked one last weekend, now waiting to see if got COE. :D In the end it's too value over Ody, 30k less and more space. Good enough.

ha see u bought. enjoy ur ride...

On 11/20/2014 at 3:45 AM, tabbynat said:

Dealer just called, I got it wooo

No need to bend over to grab kid out of car seat liao! enough space for stroller AND groceries! =D

Congrates! You can collect your ride in 10 days if it is already here.

Won't regret one, don't worry. The car is big on the inside and flexible enough to swallow many things despite third row being a bench, unless you have some special requirements.

On 11/20/2014 at 3:45 AM, tabbynat said:

Dealer just called, I got it wooo

No need to bend over to grab kid out of car seat liao! enough space for stroller AND groceries! =D

so no ody...

congrats

looks like mazda also very aggressive bidding

On 11/20/2014 at 4:35 AM, Enye said:

so no ody...

congrats

looks like mazda also very aggressive bidding

Now taking 5th place in terms of sales this year leh, lose out only to Toyota among jap ADs. Think their SEs are going to have a very happy and fat CNY ahead.

Eh, I dunno la.. Come out from car dealer always have cheated feeling no matter what happens one. Aggressive or not I don't know, can only pray carrot head didn't get chopped too much

On 11/14/2014 at 5:55 AM, Othello said:

still haven't found yet. COE till Apr 15 but last Sunday overheated and repairs will cost $1500. Not worth so scrap.

hope to get a wagon or Exiga GT. But 2nd hand pricing is [knife]

Was it you that had a E30 320i manual at one point too?

On 11/14/2014 at 4:35 AM, Othello said:

wah, a quick search shows mkt price in sgcm for 07 Mz6 is double leh [crazy]

on a separate note, my Trajet was just towed to the scrapyard just now [smallcry]

10 years?

You lucky.

My cousin's Trajet, towed to scrapyard before turning 9.