Foreigners hit 50.5% of total workforce?

Baal

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/07/07/growth-in-foreign-worker-numbers-cannot-go-unabated/

‘Growth in foreign worker numbers cannot go unabated’
dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png July 7th, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Editorial

Responding to the Committee of Inquiry’s (COI) recently-released report on the Little India riot in Parliament today (7 Jul), Manpower Minister Tan Chuan Jin spoke about the need to manage the number of foreign workers in Singapore.

He said that even the government undertakes to more effectively manage the foreign workers in our midst, the broader lesson is that growth in foreign worker numbers cannot go unabated.

“In line with the recommendations made by the Economic Strategies Committee in 2010, we have begun to moderate the growth of foreign workers to more sustainable levels, with a greater emphasis on productivity improvements,” Mr Tan said.

“We have also taken deliberate and progressive steps to raise the quality profile of our foreign workforce and help businesses reduce their reliance on low-cost foreign labour. This is a painful but necessary adjustment we are making to restructure our economy towards.”

He added that the government has introduced the $5.9 billion Quality Growth Programme in Budget 2013 to help businesses and industries make the transition.

The foreign workforce tightening measures have slowed down foreigner growth significantly, Mr Tan noted.

Excluding construction and domestic workers, FW growth rate was halved from 9.4% in 2011 to 4.6% in 2012, and halved again to just 2.3% in 2013.

“For construction, manpower has grown over the past few years to support the ramp up of construction projects, including essential transportation, housing and healthcare infrastructure for Singaporeans. We will continue to build in the coming years, but in a more manpower-lean manner, with many construction productivity measures being introduced,” he said.

Mr Tan was also glad that the COI has established that the underlying cause of the 8 Dec riot was not systemic dissatisfaction with employment and living conditions in Singapore among foreign workers.

In the last few years, he said that MOM has enacted a series of legislative changes to the Employment Act, the Employment of Foreign Manpower Act and the Employment Agencies Act to better protect workers.

While the COI has found no evidence of systemic mistreatment of foreign workers, it has pointed out that there might nonetheless be a minority of errant employers who mistreat their workers.

“I’ve stated this before in this house: mistreatment does exist. In an earlier statement in Parliament I’ve also cited the number of egregious cases. While any case should not be tolerated, numbers are exceedingly small,” Mr Tan assured.

“My Ministry treats feedback on mistreatment of workers, whether local or foreign, very seriously, and will investigate such employers. If there is clear evidence that any employers or any other persons have breached the law, we will not hesitate to take the necessary enforcement action.

I might add that workers who provide false information – and that occurs as well – must also be held accountable.”

Mr Tan also revealed that efforts are on-going to speed up the construction of self-contained dormitories which, beyond providing adequate living space, have in-built amenities and recreational facilities to take care of the daily basic living needs of workers.

“Over time, we aim for more workers to be accommodated in such self-contained housing facilities which will reduce their need to travel far for basic services,” he explained.

In addition, he also said that more dedicated recreation centres for foreign workers will be established. These centres will provide a wide range of amenities that individual dormitories may not be able to, such as remittance and banking services, supermarkets and sports facilities. The workers are not expected to go far to get access to these services.

Mr Tan concluded his speech by emphasizing that the Little India riot was perpetuated by individuals who were not representative of the majority of responsible and law-abiding foreign workers.

“The COI’s findings have made clear that negative generalisations about the foreign workforce have no place in our society,” he said.

“On our part, the government will continue to nurture and manage such shared spaces; as well as manage the overall numbers to minimise impact on local communities.”

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/07/07/growth-in-foreign-worker-numbers-cannot-go-unabated/

Acheree, the ratio at my place's playground is worse.

I counted 8 expat familees to 2 Singapolean familees [grin]

My place slightly better, about 1/3 Sg. Sometimes 1/2. Major its becoz its opp ward and hence some Foreigners avoid?

like barking up wrong tree again.... control FW... which we need... and again not really control but slower growth.. key word is still growing loh...

Nvr touch FT (Trash) which is flooding the country en massed... how many times do the pple have to sound out then will listen... probably never...

My place slightly better, about 1/3 Sg. Sometimes 1/2. Major its becoz its opp ward and hence some Foreigners avoid?

Perhaps, or could be that newer estates are preferred choice for expats?

[grin]

like barking up wrong tree again.... control FW... which we need... and again not really control but slower growth.. key word is still growing loh...

Nvr touch FT (Trash) which is flooding the country en massed... how many times do the pple have to sound out then will listen... probably never...

- 1 bro put it, I interpret as its a master plan to reduce FW, make Sinky feel the setbacks & we need them. Then gradually try to shift the acceptance to FT. [scholar]

- Also as per Darryn in another thread, could be more a case of not wanting to understand. ( erh did I quote him out of context? [grin] ) as oppose to unable to comprehend..

Agreed with you.... I gave up arguing on this already.

They just can't understand the difference between FW and FT.

i can understand so perfectly

FTs pay taxes FWs don't

so bring in more FTs and cut FWs

simpur!

any PAP IBs here can recommend me to your bosses to parachute in as MP then eventually minister?

Perhaps, or could be that newer estates are preferred choice for expats?

Hmm possible. Esp if their intention is to buy a resale that just pass the 5 yr, stay for another 5yrs & then huat ah....aeroplane....

[grin]

- 1 bro put it, I interpret as its a master plan to reduce FW, make Sinky feel the setbacks & we need them. Then gradually try to shift the acceptance to FT. [scholar]

- Also as per Darryn in another thread, could be more a case of not wanting to understand. ( erh did I quote him out of context? [grin] ) as oppose to unable to comprehend..

Yes... say tat pple want the reduction 1... then kana all the setbacks... SME close shop, construction projects delay, no cleaners, dishwashers, shipyard workers... then blame pple again.... open flood gate and included in the mix... throngs of so-called FT which further displaces the locals in white-collar jobs...

its like selling out the country openly loh... another 1st....

Yes... say tat pple want the reduction 1... then kana all the setbacks... SME close shop, construction projects delay, no cleaners, dishwashers, shipyard workers... then blame pple again.... open flood gate and included in the mix... throngs of so-called FT which further displaces the locals in white-collar jobs...

its like selling out the country openly loh... another 1st....

That reminds me of some document signed with IND for unlimited influx.... [furious]

Don't quite understand the logic in calculations.

Can simpler ?

if we divide 52,300 unemployed Singaporeans by their 3% unemployment rate – we get 1,743,333 Singaporeans in the workforce.

Divide this 1,743,333 by the total employment of 3,518.700, and we get 49.5%.

In simple terms

52,300 = 3%

100% = (52300/3)*100 = 1743333 and 1/3

Total employment 3518.700, thus

(1743333/3518700)*100=49.544%

I just wonder...if the riot didn't happen would they still be looking at upgrading the facilities and accommodations for the foreign workers and trying to improve their quality of life here, or just treat them as invisible like always.

if the knife edge never touch the skin, one will never feel the fear of that possible cut.

to those that mattered, that knife will never ever reach within meters of their physical body, let alone touch their skin.

how to listen leh?

Key is the unemployment rate of Singaporeans. As long as everyone is happily having a job, I don't mind having 50% foreigners in the workforce. However, it cannot be the case whereby educated and abled Singaporeans can't find a job because cheaper foreigners are preferred.

I just wonder...if the riot didn't happen would they still be looking at upgrading the facilities and accommodations for the foreign workers and trying to improve their quality of life here, or just treat them as invisible like always.

No worry, We always took good care of our 財神, the upgrading only make it better.

I always saw them buying beer and tibits when at Giant and Sheng Siong.

Key is the unemployment rate of Singaporeans. As long as everyone is happily having a job, I don't mind having 50% foreigners in the workforce. However, it cannot be the case whereby educated and abled Singaporeans can't find a job because cheaper foreigners are preferred.

Many people say educated and abled Singaporeans can't find a job because they are too choosy and expectation too high?! [rolleyes]

nothing wrong to have higher expectations right?

You mean we prefer to have people with low ambitions, low morales, low level of motivations?

Afterall, there's nothing wrong to collect more money.

Also, what's wrong to aspire for higher qualifications?

I thought we always emphasize meritocracy in this country? The definition of "meritocracy" in this country also include measurable traits like education and qualifications.

Many people say educated and abled Singaporeans can't find a job because they are too choosy and expectation too high?! [rolleyes]

Edited by Kangadrool