Foreigners hit 50.5% of total workforce?

Baal

You no worries lar ... You Retired ... Everyday Lim Kopi ... [laugh]

Oei..... holiday starts this weekends.

Next week lunchie ai mai ... [sly]

Oei..... holiday starts this weekends.

Next week lunchie ai mai ... [sly]

I have 3 Kids ... The word Holiday doesn't exist in my Dictionary ... [laugh]

You feeling guilty right ... collect CPF money never Blanja me luch right ...

Lunch must see which day ... I'm at the mercy of my Kids Time Table ...

Edited by Chowyunfatt

I have 3 Kids ... The word Holiday doesn't exist in my Dictionary ... [laugh]

You feeling guilty right ... collect CPF money never Blanja me luch right ...

Lunch must see which day ... I'm at the mercy of my Kids Time Table ...

Forgot to mention Jasmine, hamsters, dogs and birds muayhahaha

I don't have Dogs & Hamsters ... You don't come here any how add this add that ... [laugh]

All i can say... the actual numbers can be derived by simple addition and subtractions. Eg total working population less the Singaporeans that contribute to CPF monthly = foreign work force.. simple.

the only reason we all have to go around the bush is because our government is hiding information from the public. else why the need for such complicated theories and debates.

Locals are lumped together with PR so that confuses the issue. i believe that somewhere in some office a simple click of the button will show the actual answer.

on a separate note .... no 20-30% increment no talk ... huat ah!!!

Hop a little, jump a little: 4 in 5 Singaporeans want to go job-hopping next year

60% plan to do this ASAP.

Singapore employees have found a new hobby that's 100% work-related, and it's called job-hopping. Bosses may not be very happy with this news, but what can they do when the workers they hired are always itching to find a new workplace to settle in?

I don't have Dogs & Hamsters ... You don't come here any how add this add that ... [laugh]

Ok sorry. But visiting girlfriends from Thailand sure must include [laugh]

I don't drink TomYum Soup because they give me go long time toilet ... 😂

When they say they love you long time, lots of hidden meaning. :D

Tom Yum Goong you hiam. Miso soup too expensive you don't want. Boston clam chowder you say smell too strong. You drink old cucumber soup best lah muayhahaha

Old Cucumber Soup ... You give that Jman 老人家 😂 ... He likes those with 發蔡 many many ...

CYF had lost his urge .... :o

takes 'long time' ... [sweatdrop]

I take long time becos you always complain so fast mah ... 😂

When they say they love you long time, lots of hidden meaning. :D

Especially if they look like Porker in Drag ... 😂

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/02/survey-sg-is-top-asian-destination-for-foreign-pmets/

Survey: SG is top Asian destination for foreign PMETs
dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png June 2nd, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Editorial

According to a survey report [Link], “Global Professionals on the Move”, by global recruitment firm Hydrogen Group, Singapore has emerged to be the top Asian destination for foreign PMETs.

Overall, Singapore ranks 7th in the world:

Capture3.jpg

Foreign PMETs looking to move abroad to pursue career opportunities have identified Singapore as their top choice in Asia, according to the report.

The results were based on an online survey conducted in November 2013, comprising 2,444 responses from professionals in 99 different countries.

The United States, United Kingdom and Australia continue to head the list as top destinations for professionals looking to work overseas.

In Asia, Singapore came up top ahead of Hong Kong and China.

This is the 5th year the Hydrogen Group is publishing the report.

Over the past 5 years, the number of professionals who are currently working abroad, have already moved or are interested in relocating overseas, now stands at an estimated 235 million.

The percentage of people who are willing to work abroad has risen, more than doubling from 16% to 35% for this period.

Although the balance of economic power may be shifting from West to East, the majority of professionals still prefer to work in the English speaking countries of US, UK, Australia, Canada and Singapore.

The report said that it will take time for the emerging countries to be seen as first choice destinations.

Nearly three quarters (71%) of the professionals surveyed identified that employers value international experience and a quarter stated that international work experience improved career prospects.

Many Singaporeans are questioning the quality of some of the foreign PMETs working in Singapore.

Many think that the real talented ones will go to the Western countries like US and UK. What Singapore has are the 2nd and 3rd tier “foreign talents”.

This is echoed by Chris K, a TRE reader who works in a senior position at a global financial centre bigger than Singapore. He wrote (‘Few ‘foreign talents’ are talents‘):

Let us look into the banking industry. The Business Times of 12 Mar 2014 reported this headline “Bank bonus in Singapore lag those in other key hubs”.

The report stated that despite the low income tax rate, Singapore average bank bonus per employee lags not only behind London and New York but also Hong Kong and Sydney by a whopping 38% and 51% respectively.

Now, whatever one may say about banks and their culture of greed, one thing is absolutely certain – the banks know who their talents are and these are well taken care of.

The report went on to quote industry insiders that Singapore is the workhorse for the industry while the big deal and transactions are done elsewhere.

Therefore the lower bonus is linked to the prevalence of low value operations functions here while the high value front office functions are mostly elsewhere.

The report inference is that while Singapore may have lots of foreign banking talent by the government’s definition but that definition meant naught in the real world.

The real talents are, in the main, not in Singapore. Yet another instance of the government throwing bodies at GDP growth.

By now, the term foreign talent has become so commonly misused and so embedded in the mind of the unthinking that the knee jerk reaction is to view every white collar foreigner as a talent.

But what does that say about Singaporeans, in relation to these FTs?

If the foreigners are talents, however tenuous that word may actually mean in terms of their real abilities, then should we be satisfied to assume an equal status in the consciousness especially when many of us are better educated and more skilful.

What about the FTs, of whom many regard themselves superior to Singaporeans for no other reason than being called a Foreign Talent.

Let us not allow what is essentially a form of cognitive dissonance to pervade large segments of society.

We can make a start by purging this insidious piece of government propaganda from our daily discourse and stop calling every foreigner we come across a Foreign Talent.

Foreign worker will do just fine, thank you.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/02/survey-sg-is-top-asian-destination-for-foreign-pmets/

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/02/38-grads-cant-find-job-within-1-year-of-layoff/

38% grads can’t find job within 1 year of layoff
dmca_protected_sml_120n.pngPostDateIcon.png June 2nd, 2014 | PostAuthorIcon.png Author: Editorial

Singaporean-workers-300x198.jpg

According to MOM statistics released last month, only 62% of degree holders are able to find a new job within 12 months of losing their job last year [Link].

That means, 38% of them can’t find a job within 1 year after they are laid off.

This is compared to the next lowest rate of 65% for workers with polytechnic diplomas and professional qualifications, and the highest of 71% for those with secondary qualifications.

Degree holders have had the lowest rate of finding new job after being laid off, since 2011.

Also since 2011, degree holders being made redundant was also disproportionately higher than other qualification groups. Last year, degree holders made up 39% of workers who were laid off.

Experts suggested three reasons for this:

• jobs lost in restructuring tending to be held by graduates
  • greater demand for non-academic skills, and
  • substitution by “skilled foreign labour”

IT project manager Sylvia Tan, 51, lost her job of 29 years when her business unit was cut earlier this year due to restructuring.

“If I had been able to pick up new skills like cloud computing and analytics, maybe they would have retained me,” the computer science graduate said. “But they probably prefer to pay a younger person with less experience and newer skills.”

She found a similar role at a new company within a month, but only because she took a pay cut of 43%.

Many affected Singaporean workers are blaming the over-liberal “foreign talent” policy instituted by the government. In fact, with more “skilled foreign labour” being hired, it exacerbates the problem because the “skilled foreign labour” will tend to hire other “skilled foreign labour”, discriminating the Singaporean workers further.

A survey conducted by recruitment firm eFinancialCareers last year confirmed that a large number of companies in the finance industry are discriminating against Singaporean hires. According to the survey, a majority or 52% of the respondents said their companies had favored foreigners for some job openings (‘Survey confirms rampant job discrimination against SGs‘).

In fact, the situation was so bad that 2 Cabinet Ministers had to have a “friendly talk” with senior members of the financial industry.

Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin told Parliament in March last year that he and Finance Minister Tharman met senior members of the financial industry to urge them to develop a local talent pipeline.

Mr Tan said, without going into specifics, that there had been complaints of foreign managers preferring to hire their own countrymen and his ministry was investigating the matter.

In view of complaints made by Singaporeans, MOM will be putting in place the Fair Consideration Framework (FCF) for getting the companies to consider hiring Singaporean workers first.

The FCF which will come into effect this August, requires that all positions paying less than $12,000 a month be advertised on a WDA jobs bank for 2 weeks before a foreign candidate can be hired.

The US, Britain and Australia all have similar skilled foreign workforce policies in place to prevent discrimination against their locals.

It remains to be seen how effective the FCF will be since there is no guarantee that a company will hire a Singaporean even after advertising on the WDA jobs bank.

The company can easily discard all the Singaporean resumes after 2 weeks citing unsuitability and continue to hire the “preferred” foreign candidate.

http://www.tremeritus.com/2014/06/02/38-grads-cant-find-job-within-1-year-of-layoff/

Maybe this is a TOTAL DEFENCE strategy hor. Get many many foreigners into Singapore so that nobody dare to attack Singapore. [laugh]

attachicon.gifTD.jpg

Look at the recent MH370 case. The Chinese government and families flexed their big muscles on tbe Malaysian authorities and got them spinning around.

If the 2 Indonesian terrorist marines dare to replay their bombs at MacDonald House and inflicted some casualties on some Mr Zhongs on this island, I doubt the Indo government would dare to glorify the 2 terrorists and have ships named after them.

So who says Mr Zhongs are not doing NS? Their sheer presence here already helped to deter potential attacks. :D

Regarding immigration - will just share a pdf from Statistics New Zealand....

post-52759-0-43341700-1401773236_thumb.png

Edited by Darryn