What happen to Mitsubishi?

Soho

You info is outdated lah!

KIA has just taken over the old Mitsubishi showroom (on the right) ... a couple of weeks ago.

That was previously used by Republic Auto (C&C's used car sales arm), during the interim.

The previous KIA show room (between Citroen and the centre lift lobby) is now vacant - not sure for what ... maybe for Mitsubishi to come back in??

I was told that Mitsubishi is coming back & occupying the previous KIA showroom.

I think that they are preparing for the increase in COE/car sale.

Was looking through SGcarmart . They only listed 1 Mitsubishi ASX model. POA somemore. Went to Mitsubishi SG website , they only have 3 models?

Anyone know what happen to Mitsubishi???

Globally they're not doing very well also. Their only new products of note is the Mirage compact which is mostly for developing countries (Malaysia/Thailand etc), and the new Outlander (which we dunno whether is coming here or not).

Even the Lancer also dead liao.

Partly 'cos Mistsubishi cars itself also into hardship.

There were some scandals, problems with their cars and cover ups which subsequently surfaced up in the past IIRC.

http://www.reuters.com/article/2013/04/23/us-mitsubishi-motors-recall-idUSBRE93M09E20130423

They had some really poor luck and bad strategies during the 2000s. Their infamous 0-0-0 plan scheme in the USA cost them a lot of money during the early 2000s (essentially they offered $0 downpayment, no installments during first year and 0% interest on subsequent payback. As a result a lot of customers 'disappeared' after the first year and they could not recoup the money back).

DaimlerChrysler pulling out funding after that made things worse. Mitsubishi has been on a downhill for many years now.

Pretty sad. I drive a Mitsubishi myself and it's quite a pity to see them end up this way.

Misubishi heck care sg market, they still selling well in indonesia, malaysia, and other countries

Globally they're not doing very well also. Their only new products of note is the Mirage compact which is mostly for developing countries (Malaysia/Thailand etc), and the new Outlander (which we dunno whether is coming here or not).

Even the Lancer also dead liao.

Pajero compete well with fortuner in thailand and indonesia

I was told that Mitsubishi is coming back & occupying the previous KIA showroom.

I think that they are preparing for the increase in COE/car sale.[/quote

Why bother.... Old model and they should know the day they allow proton to rebadge Ex, it's a gone case for sg market...

You info is outdated lah!

KIA has just taken over the old Mitsubishi showroom (on the right) ... a couple of weeks ago.

That was previously used by Republic Auto (C&C's used car sales arm), during the interim.

The previous KIA show room (between Citroen and the centre lift lobby) is now vacant - not sure for what ... maybe for Mitsubishi to come back in??

Oh isit, whichever the arrangement, its actually confirmed that Mitsubishi is making a come back ah, i jus dun tink its so soon, maybe in a few weeks/months.

Here's just my thoughts...

I think Mitsubishi has successfully did a "technology transfer" in a very systematic way that focus on "collecting loyalty" and resulting in today's situation... [smash]

its definitely a sad thing to see the EVOs are in the back burner when they announced withdrawal in the WRC... [:(]

my 2cts only....

In the past, new Evo version comes up in 2 to 3 years time. This time round, Evo X has been around since 2007, it's already 7 years without new model. I guest the Evo spirit is quite confirm dead.

Think Subaru should be most happy. No competition liao. hahaha...

Here's just my thoughts...

I think Mitsubishi has successfully did a "technology transfer" in a very systematic way that focus on "collecting loyalty" and resulting in today's situation... [smash]

its definitely a sad thing to see the EVOs are in the back burner when they announced withdrawal in the WRC... [:(]

my 2cts only....

If you Google Mitsubishi Motors Wiki you will find that they are not doing well at all since the year 2000 when the defect cover up scandal broke.

I think for now only their commercial trucks can make it and boost sales.

ya.. agreed...

big scandal though [rifle]

If you Google Mitsubishi Motors Wiki you will find that they are not doing well at all since the year 2000 when the defect cover up scandal broke.

Mitsubishi was really strong in the 90s.

Love their GTO and the FTO.

They were the ones that challenge VTEC with their MIVEC engine.

Galant with VR4.

The product placement in Jackie Chan Movies

Their business model seems to change and instead on focusing on products, they turn to marketing and try to sell more of the products they have and to reduce their cost.

Dun see any new products for a while.

Pajero is like the same forever, drove their pajero sports but it felt like a pickup with seats.

The new outlander is not as big nor as refine at RAV4.

Looking forward to a day where they can come back to have good products for each of the segments they serve.

I think for now only their commercial trucks can make it and boost sales.

Mitsubishi was really strong in the 90s.

Love their GTO and the FTO.

They were the ones that challenge VTEC with their MIVEC engine.

Galant with VR4.

The product placement in Jackie Chan Movies

Their business model seems to change and instead on focusing on products, they turn to marketing and try to sell more of the products they have and to reduce their cost.

Dun see any new products for a while.

Pajero is like the same forever, drove their pajero sports but it felt like a pickup with seats.

The new outlander is not as big nor as refine at RAV4.

Looking forward to a day where they can come back to have good products for each of the segments they serve.

According to my friend who lives in Japan and a car enthusiast, Mitsubishi has moved away from car manufacturer... as its focus has shifted....since 10 years ago...

Edited by Janling3

Someone mentioned previously Evo X will be the last Evo for Mit.

That a positive..They mention they changing to more environmental car like the Mitsubishi I.But sg road don't really see them ard not like when it just launch.

Even the proton mit lancer also not doing well.