How to adjust your side mirrors

Lotr

It never says how you should adjust leh. Merely showing you the traditional way where you see the sides of your own car ; or the option to swing the mirrors out where you can see the blind spot but cannot see the side of your car.

I will stick to the traditional as it is useful for parking. To check blind spots , I take it as exercising my neck.

Mirrors are useful tools to let you know the surrounding area and situation when driving. When doing a lane change, best will still be to physically check the blindspots before changing lanes. I have had occasions that I rely on the side mirrors to do a lane change and some cars coming fast from behind (another lane) moving into the same lane.

It never says how you should adjust leh. Merely showing you the traditional way where you see the sides of your own car ; or the option to swing the mirrors out where you can see the blind spot but cannot see the side of your car.

I will stick to the traditional as it is useful for parking. To check blind spots , I take it as exercising my neck.

At first glance on the title, I thought of replying: Use hands to adjust side mirrors lor :D

Been there, done that, moons ago, but found it to be very dangerous!

With fig 1 & 4, while you could see the red car, you'll be blind to motorbikes at your 7 and 5 o'clocks!

A couple of near accidents and I switched back to the traditional fig 2 & 5 settings.

Best is still to turn your head to look at the outer blind spot.

One more thing, figs 1 & 4 will make reverse parking a lot more difficult!

You will get NO reference bearing of the tip ends of your own car - which is most crucial when reverse parking!

At first glance on the title, I thought of replying: Use hands to adjust side mirrors lor :D

what side mirror, turn head to see lah [laugh][laugh]

last time my dad old car has no side mirror on driver's side, train to turn your head to watch out for traffic :D

both my side mirror are angled such that i just need to move my head slightly to see my car sides if not i can only see the car at the side! But i still need to visually check for my blind spot!

Edited by Eviilusion

I have been using this method for years after a forumer introduced it to me. It is very useful.

One thing I must say is that original internal mirrors are always too small. I use a longer clop-on mirror!

Edited by Fitvip

My side mirrors ate adjusted to figure 1,3 & 4. Basically can't see my own car at normal driving position. Only when lean back then can see my own car.

So far that's the best in my opinion.

I have been using fig 2,3,5 throughout. Like most of the brothers pointed out, safest is to turn your head and check. New technology like blind spot detection will help but do not be over reliant on technology. Sometimes, they malfunction.

there's no replacement for turning your head to check the blindspots.

But think for some cars, even you turn your head to check the blindspots, seems like still not able to see le.

For me, I will adjust to only see less then 1/10 of car body. So the positioning of side mirror is In between 1 & 2 and 4 & 5 .

I find it is the best compromise as I am still able to spot motobike at 5 and 7 o'clock .

Sometimes I wonder, how do people see the side mirror with almost 1/4 or more exposed to car body and can only see 3/4 or less of the rest of the surrounding. I just find this type of side mirror angle greatly increase blindspot. Even if turn head to check for blindspot, there is still the pillar that is blocking part of the view.

For the side mirror that is completely exposed to surrounding and not able to see car body, it actually creates a blindspot at 5 and 7 o'clock, that's even more dangerous and there is only a certain degree that a person can turn his/head, can't be the person turn head to almost 180 degrees to check for whats behind 5 and 7 o Clock blindspot.

Edited by Yewheng

both my side mirror are angled such that i just need to move my head slightly to see my car sides if not i can only see the car at the side! But i still need to visually check for my blind spot!

I try to tilt my wide-angle windscreen mirror (the one inside the car between sun visors) to cover left side blind spot, but still swing my head backward to double check for car which might be in the blind spot.

Right side blind spot :- no choice but to swing my head.

I notice some SUVs come with additional mirror mounter on the fender (for parking / kerb?). Maybe these mirrors can be angled to over blind spots?

Or, use rear mounted vidcam (with dash mounted screen) to cover blind spots?

Tried that years back but didn't work out.. biggest problem arise when I have passengers at the back that will block out a large angle where I am so used to seeing in the side mirror.

I used to do the same trick for my right blind spot, even now with the stock mirror I tilt it slightly towards the right so I can see out the right passenger window. [thumbsup]

I kinda like the idea of those blind spot mirrors very common on taxis, the kind that clips over their side mirrors. Makes me wonder though, it seem like they do not use them at all.. [lipsrsealed]

I try to tilt my wide-angle windscreen mirror (the one inside the car between sun visors) to cover left side blind spot, but still swing my head backward to double check for car which might be in the blind spot.

Right side blind spot :- no choice but to swing my head.

I notice some SUVs come with additional mirror mounter on the fender (for parking / kerb?). Maybe these mirrors can be angled to over blind spots?

Or, use rear mounted vidcam (with dash mounted screen) to cover blind spots?

I used to do the same trick for my right blind spot, even now with the stock mirror I tilt it slightly towards the right so I can see out the right passenger window. [thumbsup]

I kinda like the idea of those blind spot mirrors very common on taxis, the kind that clips over their side mirrors. Makes me wonder though, it seem like they do not use them at all.. [lipsrsealed]

Since the taxi drivers don't use the clip on mirrors, let's find a way to re-clip them to the cars where the drivers will use them. Seriously, where can I buy such clip on mirrors?