Peter Lim has made Sporean proud ...

Wt_know

he owned some Man U cafes in overseas.

it was purely a business venture. if I have a money and I'm a Chelsea fan but someone invited me to be a partner to own a chain of Man U cafes in overseas, I would still have invested the money. Anything relamainlted to Man U makes money and I certainly won't say no to more money even though I'm a Chelsea fan. And by doing that (owning Man U cafes) won't make me less of a chelsea fan.

agree....

anyw its jus one of those rich man fads now....fr yacht buying to vineyard to football club hehe

i think many of us first time heard Peter Lim name is from his Wilmar magic from US$10M to US$1B

but to have invested $10M in 1991 was no small fry la, which means prior to 1991 he already found his 1st pot of gold

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sport/football/story/5-things-about-peter-lim-and-his-new-football-club-valencia-20140518

In 1991, Mr Lim made his fortune when he invested US$10 million (S$12.51 million) in Wilmar International, then a start-up palm oil company owned by tycoon Kuok Khoon Hong, a former client and friend of Mr Lim’s – and the nephew of Malaysian businessman Robert Kuok (he now lives in Hong Kong), one of Asia’s best-known billionaires. Mr Lim’s five per cent stake in Wilmar was worth US$1.4 billion in March according to Forbes.

i think many of us first time heard Peter Lim name is from his Wilmar magic from US$10M to US$1B

but to have invested $10M in 1991 was no small fry la, which means prior to 1991 he already found his 1st pot of gold

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/sport/football/story/5-things-about-peter-lim-and-his-new-football-club-valencia-20140518

sigh....pple also started as accountant sighhhhh

you must know someone who is a tycoon or nephew of a even bigger tycoon ...

that's why die die must get into elite school ... you must friend some from young who is connected to tycoon

friend of a friend of tycoon also good

sigh....pple also started as accountant sighhhhh

he owned some Man U cafes in overseas.

it was purely a business venture. if I have a money and I'm a Chelsea fan but someone invited me to be a partner to own a chain of Man U cafes in overseas, I would still have invested the money. Anything related to Man U makes money and I certainly won't say no to more money even though I'm a Chelsea fan. And by doing that (owning Man U cafes) won't make me less of a chelsea fan.

U r 100% right on this and what you say is perfectly logical!

That said, football is illogical, many a time the heart rules!

That's why I always say, do I run a football club from a business perspective like how Arsenal is run? Or do I run it from a Championship Manager game point of view like how City/Chelsea is run? Both are not wrong and it very much depends on the owners objectives. Of course being a fan, I know which one I want!

Liverpol board turned down Peter Lim despite his superior offer likely cos he got no track record and I believe his allegiance to Man U played a part as well cos the fans would not have accepted this. It's a fact of football life esp in Europe!

that's why die die must get into elite school ... you must friend some from young who is connected to tycoon

so tats how...as one grows older, we usu resign to fate la hahah

Unfortunately i not smart and never go to elite school neither i know any big tycoon, a small fry like me forever will be stuck in a circle of poor society

Heard he stockbrocker, so he must made $10m from stock broker

From a successful stockbroker to successful full time investor, now become conglomerate.

Haiz when will i get to know her daughter? That seems the only way for me to strike rich, better chance then getting 2M TOTO

Am I the only one here who feels that Peter Lim's wealth is not big enough to buy and rejuvenate soccer club?

In the successful soccer club owners league, we are talking about people who have hundreds of billions like Abramovich and that Sheik who is worth one trillion.

Peter Lim barely has one billion.

Think he will follow people like Tiny Fernandes and bring Valencia down to 2nd or 3rd division.

don't where you get your info from

officially, only FED $$ printer, China's reserve and Japan pension fund got US$1 trillion

you anyhow hantam is it?? [hur]

i'm pretty neutral to this news

but i have seen more negative comments than the positive ones

such as...

- he doesn't have that money la

- he should spend that money on poor people in Singapore

- he's not a football fan, he's just buying for fun (first trying for Man utd, then Liverpool, and now Valencia)

so funny leh

first, it's his money... enough a not? it's his business

next, he's not the government of Singapore (oh btw MBT has 28m to invest in GSH, but how come no one ask him to donate to the poor?)

conclusion is... people are just jealous [:p]

football coach or football player I know can make money . . . .

football club owner can make money? please explain how . . . . maybe thru merchandise, adverts, games attendance.

just like race horse owner . . . do all make money?

When the club stock value goes up, owner earns money lor.

Best is to have IPO on the club in stock market, sure can earn $ one :)

club owner can make lots and lots of money

if can produce another messi or ronaldo, etc from mr nobody

if the club owner is sibei magical ... can buy a player at $1M and sold at $100M

even not selling ... the money made from the player especially copyrights and advertising ... it's hundreds of millions

selling jerseys also enough liao [:)] ... but nowadays got many fake made in china ... hard to make money liao ... lol

football club is all about business and money making and will always be ...

the sport is just a means to an end (money making) ... same goes to nba, baseball, F1, etc - huge money making sport

if the club owner is sibei magical ... can buy a player at $1M and sold at $100M

even not selling ... the money made from the player especially copyrights and advertising ... it's hundreds of millions

selling jerseys also enough liao [:)] ... but nowadays got many fake made in china ... hard to make money liao ... lol

if I am Peter Lim, I will sack the current manager and hire Wenger :ph34r:

football club is all about business and money making and will always be ...

the sport is just a means to an end (money making) ... same goes to nba, baseball, F1, etc - huge money making sport

Then how come so many top league clubs are in millions of debts??

he took over a club somewhat in the red . . . . .

" The club's hierarchy has been looking for investors since principal creditor Bankia refused earlier this month to refinance the combined 306 million euro (S$530 million) debt the club and its foundation has with the bank."

i can only assume he see "potential" in the club and he has "plan" to turn it around from red to black - make money

this is inline with any investor mind ... and if the club is not in the red, will the owner sell the club (cheaply, so to speak)

" The club's hierarchy has been looking for investors since principal creditor Bankia refused earlier this month to refinance the combined 306 million euro (S$530 million) debt the club and its foundation has with the bank."

earn money at the same time, i think he can recycle his money easily.....

football clubs not as regulated as a normal company

I read that his net worth is S$2Bn. To clear the debt 1/4 of his net worth gone liao. ouch!! Then need to inject another hundred million for new players every year.....