Jellandross Supersonic May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 (edited) from my own experience and my group of friends who own a mixture of jap and conti, it is a fact that the conti owners visit the workshops for ad-hoc repairs (excluding regular servicing) more often than the jap owners. leaving aside the more sophisticated conti technologies, simple and common parts that exist in both conti and jap cars like fans, pipes and whatnot will tend to fail faster in conti than jap. i always wondered what's the secret recipe of the jap manufacturers that make their products more reliable. higher QC benchmark, better quality parts? Just prove that this forum people like to sensationalise and have ADHD problem. TS already put clearly he is talking about used conti cars that are going 5 years old that will incur high repair bills due to tear and wear items. Generally a very good piece of advise for those who think those cars are good deals. some car owners' ego very fragile one, a little touch and comment and it will shatter into a million pieces. TS has a good point about considering the ongoing maintenance costs. i think it is often not part of the decision process when buying a pre-loved conti. car forums are typically not a good place to find out about reliability matters as you'll tend to find more disgruntled owners posting about their problems than happy owners who are just quietly enjoying their rides. Edited May 15, 2014 by Jellandross ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 car forums are typically not a good place to find out about reliability matters as you'll tend to find more disgruntled owners posting about their problems than happy owners who are just quietly enjoying their rides. Im happily n quietly enjoying my ride. hehe. Want to enjoy just got to pay ( In hokkien ) haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 some car owners' ego very fragile one, a little touch and comment and it will shatter into a million pieces. TS has a good point about considering the ongoing maintenance costs. i think it is often not part of the decision process when buying a pre-loved conti. car forums are typically not a good place to find out about reliability matters as you'll tend to find more disgruntled owners posting about their problems than happy owners who are just quietly enjoying their rides. for the longest time lah. cannot say anything bad abt their cars else, all fury will be released. like they own the car co liddat. waste time really trying to engage a decent critique Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 for the longest time lah. cannot say anything bad abt their cars else, all fury will be released. like they own the car co liddat. waste time really trying to engage a decent critique peace peace. We all car lovers in Singapore due to high car price. Everyone here spend an arm n leg for a car in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 peace peace. We all car lovers in Singapore due to high car price. Everyone here spend an arm n leg for a car in Singapore. tell them loh...hahaa. I am happy if ppl curse n swear at my ride....cos does not bother me anyway. Cos my car not having it...lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMsmallcar 4th Gear May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 tell them loh...hahaa. I am happy if ppl curse n swear at my ride....cos does not bother me anyway. Cos my car not having it...lol hahahhaa. I dun care too. Many people say stupid for me to buy my ride. But im happy with it till now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 So based on your write up...all should buy a Chery QQ..affordable... cheap parts...also go to workshop after a trip to genting like your BMW... ..all German Marquis eat sai liao... m understanding is QQ parts not cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 m understanding is QQ parts not cheap Coming direct from china is cheap, buy from local A.D is selling at price of conti parts :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 m understanding is QQ parts not cheap there is always Taobao ....to get it cheap....that is my understanding... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 Just prove that this forum people like to sensationalise and have ADHD problem. TS already put clearly he is talking about used conti cars that are going 5 years old that will incur high repair bills due to tear and wear items. Generally a very good piece of advise for those who think those cars are good deals. What is ADHD? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mason016 Supersonic May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 What is ADHD? Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 very good advice, i dun think ts is saying BMW not good, just that if u planning to drive 1 for 10 years, or getting a 5 years BMW, u must be prepared to spend on maintiance, dun just buy the car base on monthly installation and insurace carpark, but leave out repair cost. And this is very true. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 Have driven to Malaysia many times in my ex and current car (both BMWs) and never had to go to workshop for repair post journey. But the ABS pump for the ex car did go kaput after approximately 3 years of ownership and that seemed to be a norm for that particular model. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 Have driven to Malaysia many times in my ex and current car (both BMWs) and never had to go to workshop for repair post journey. But the ABS pump for the ex car did go kaput after approximately 3 years of ownership and that seemed to be a norm for that particular model. knowing you, you PUMP too much la Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 knowing you, you PUMP too much la Wanna f*ck my quad exhaust pipes? I changed back to stock just to accommodate your smaller size :ph34r: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 (edited) The rubber & plastic parts. Though many parts are metal, but they are joined and in between you have rubbers and plastics, even for engine block. This is one where the Europeans are very weak at. Their rubbers and plastics deteriorate faster and fail faster than Japs. I only have to replace my bike engine oil filter cover rubber O ring seal after 10 years and it was not even leaking. Manual recommended it to be replaced every oil change. Just replaced it as a wear and tear item for peace of mind. So, for those car critics who like to criticize Jap cars for their hard and scratchy interior plastic, think again. ============================================================================================================ i always wondered what's the secret recipe of the jap manufacturers that make their products more reliable. higher QC benchmark, better quality parts? Edited May 15, 2014 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 Conti cars are overrated lah. Bicycle is still king. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic May 15, 2014 Share May 15, 2014 Conti cars are overrated lah. Bicycle is still king. Do you push across pedestrian crossing? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...