Maybe baby ?

Ysc3

Ya. They did help us with all the CPF payments. The just retrieve the receipts from the gynae and settle for us.

[thumbsup]

Good service. Cpf could had been made better by allow us to use cpf up font.

This question should post under the other cpf thread. hahaha

Since we wont be seeing our cpf monies in this life times (increase retirement age) may as well use at every possible oopportunity.

hey guys, since we are on a baby thread......want to ask something.

Assuming if one of the parent is Malaysian, would it make sense to deliver in Msia, get a Msian citizenship and then come back to Spore and get a dual citizenship?

If girl, give birth in SG. Boy, then in MY

why???

No need to serve NS and get recalled back for many cycles until 40-50 years old; won't get stampede by FTs while guarding the country?

Edited by Albeniz

why???

By the time the boy is 18, this country is probably going to be so full of FT that it's not worth guarding anymore. Why bind yourself to the system? Leave the choice to the boy. If he really wants, come to Singapore and be PR to serve. Then convert to citizen.

where got half way change gynea one bro?

most impt choose a doc that you and wife comfortable with.

this i really do not know ... not say change halfway lah .... but maybe just let TMC take care of the basics until the time to decide a dr and the hospital.

so if now i say i want KKH, when should i start bringing her there ? - on the understanding that I will not get a fixed Dr ?

I saw some of you mention that what 17 weeks .... 35 weeks ... etc ??

this i really do not know ... not say change halfway lah .... but maybe just let TMC take care of the basics until the time to decide a dr and the hospital.

so if now i say i want KKH, when should i start bringing her there ? - on the understanding that I will not get a fixed Dr ?

which class you opting for?

if only for basic need. don't need TMC liao lor.

Assuming if one of the parent is Malaysian, would it make sense to deliver in Msia, get a Msian citizenship and then come back to Spore and get a dual citizenship?

If give birth in Malaysia will get all the benefits or subsidies or not?

Later no maternity or paternity leave bcos not Singaporean baby.

Not worth the trouble lah, bring the kid up properly, send overseas to study, stay there to work, be a people person, will be able to survive anywhere.

Edited by Atonchia

actually u should wait until abt 30+ weeks. then go us for holiday. gi e birth there. get us citizenship.

no need serve ns. more options in future

anyone recently had a child ?

Instead of looking at motherhood forums, I think that since it's the guy that foots the bill' its more appropriate to ask the dads here.

so how does it go ? what does one do after pregnancy is confirmed ? (went to Thomson Medical for a confirmation scan.)

what will happen or what should one do in the forth coming months ?

when to make appointment at hospital for delivery ? I am looking at SGH.

last but not least, how much $$ to put aside ??

pls don't refer me to the website(been there) ... coz I would appreciate real life experiences instead.

Congrats ts.

Since many have told you about what to do leading up to birth.

I strongly recommend the book. "Muddlehood" it tells you about having a baby in a very light hearted way. Written in short story form by various parents.

Especially the not so nice parts about the immediate months following birth which is most stressing in a way. Trust me, it will be good for couple to read it together.

Also if possible, visit other new parents to see how they set up baby SOP items like changing table , cot, kitchen etc etc. . Is like army stand by full pack or stand by bunk. Can cost you a bomb depending on how you spend.

If give birth in Malaysia will get all the benefits or subsidies or not?

Later no maternity or paternity leave bcos not Singaporean baby.

Not worth the trouble lah, bring the kid up properly, send overseas to study, stay there to work, be a people person, will be able to survive anywhere.

of course no such benefits if they were born overseas.

The thing is that a private gynae has certain hospitals to go to.

So if your private gynae says that he only goes to TMC and KKH, you only have TMC or KKH to go for delivery.

So u saying that u want TMC to take care of basics. What about the TMC gynae? where does he go for delivery operation? TMC and where else?

i suggest u for tours for the 3 hospitals, TMC, Mt A and KKH. understand their different options and choose from there.

If you want to go to KKH for delivery, u just make sure your gynae goes there for delivery. it doesn't matter where his clinic is based.

In your case, you need to work backwards.... since you want a certain hospital for delivery, then you need a find a gynae who will do the delivery in that hospital.

Most ppl is follow the gynae of their preference. (Obviously they have asked around for gynae recommendation from friends first). Pick the gynae first, and follow the gynae.

The next headache u will have is to pick a PD for yr kid. This question will be asked by your gynae (when in third trimester) and you will go through the same cycle of decision making. Which hospital, which clinic, which PD is good?

anyone recently had a child ?

Instead of looking at motherhood forums, I think that since it's the guy that foots the bill' its more appropriate to ask the dads here.

so how does it go ? what does one do after pregnancy is confirmed ? (went to Thomson Medical for a confirmation scan.)

what will happen or what should one do in the forth coming months ?

when to make appointment at hospital for delivery ? I am looking at SGH.

last but not least, how much $$ to put aside ??

pls don't refer me to the website(been there) ... coz I would appreciate real life experiences instead.

bro... found this article.

http://tinyurl.com/ocu29lw

quite a good one. it is US based, but the items mentioned inside, even the costing of the expenditure, is very similar to what we would spend in terms of SGD.

My question back to you is "are one of you a Malaysian Malay?" If yes, then it might be beneficial for your kid to get MY citizenship. If no, don't waste time. Your kid will be a 2nd class there.

its not dual citizenship la. its SG PR for your kid, until he wants to covert to SG citizenship.

Take it from me... my wife is MY and she's SG PR. We don't see any point in giving birth in MY and both of us are Chinese. Every MY chinese wants to get out of MY, given a choice.

TS, take note to let your infant get used to both breastfeeding and bottle if your wife is not a SAHM.

Bec when she goes back to work, it's gonna be tough on the caregiver when both you and your spouse are at work if your infant rejects the bottle nipple.

Don't buy in too much into the breastfeeding hype. I am not saying don't breastfeed. I am saying do introduce your infant to the bottle nipple with breastmilk in the bottle too.

I was quite disappointed that the TMC breastfeeding evangelist failed to bring this up given her experience.

TS, take note to let your infant get used to both breastfeeding and bottle if your wife is not a SAHM.

Bec when she goes back to work, it's gonna be tough on the caregiver when both you and your spouse are at work if your infant rejects the bottle nipple.

Don't buy in too much into the breastfeeding hype. I am not saying don't breastfeed. I am saying do introduce your infant to the bottle nipple with breastmilk in the bottle too.

I was quite disappointed that the TMC breastfeeding evangelist failed to bring this up given her experience.

save the milk for the daddy [laugh][laugh]