Sosaria Twincharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 On 5/12/2014 at 10:32 AM, Icedbs said: I tot thesedays those are done by maids? Personally, I wouldn't trust these duties to be done well by a maid... Vast majority are totally hopeless, as far as my limited experience with employing them goes. It's tough bringing up children on your own, but you will come face-to-face with your own true self when taking up these challenges. Like climbing a mountain or some such adventurous stuff. Your true character (and your wife's) will emerge under the stress. If you have to entrust your children to a maid, best to do it only when the children are capable of communicating. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 On 5/12/2014 at 10:32 AM, Icedbs said: I tot thesedays those are done by maids? the night time its better to do it yourself. day time you can let the maid do. you don't want your maid to be lack of sleep and hence not able to look after your baby in the morning. On 5/12/2014 at 3:36 PM, Sosaria said: Personally, I wouldn't trust these duties to be done well by a maid... Vast majority are totally hopeless, as far as my limited experience with employing them goes. It's tough bringing up children on your own, but you will come face-to-face with your own true self when taking up these challenges. Like climbing a mountain or some such adventurous stuff. Your true character (and your wife's) will emerge under the stress. If you have to entrust your children to a maid, best to do it only when the children are capable of communicating. I think this is overstating. its is more of clash in culture. every country way of looking after country is different. if you don't teach a maid from Pinoy, Indonesia or Myanmar the Singapore way of looking after kids, of course they will follow their own country standard. we must always remember, Singapore common sense might not be the same common sense in other country. On 5/12/2014 at 6:36 AM, Ysc3 said: anyone recently had a child ? Instead of looking at motherhood forums, I think that since it's the guy that foots the bill' its more appropriate to ask the dads here. so how does it go ? what does one do after pregnancy is confirmed ? (went to Thomson Medical for a confirmation scan.) what will happen or what should one do in the forth coming months ? when to make appointment at hospital for delivery ? I am looking at SGH. last but not least, how much $$ to put aside ?? pls don't refer me to the website(been there) ... coz I would appreciate real life experiences instead. unless your wife is working there. go to KKH. its better interm of service and the room come with free bed if you opt for A Class. For SGH their A class, you need to pay for extra Bed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darky8888 4th Gear May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 think most MCFers have covered those needs... Pre natal class are very important for first time parents, as it will show u how to care for new born and what to expect... Mummy will also learn alot of good information too... if cost is a concern, some of the items can use refurbished... i.e. baby cot, child seat and stroller or even toys... For baby cot u can find those re-furbish frame and buy new mattress.. Childseat will need to inspect carefully before buying same goes for stroller.. surf those motherhood website and i believe there will be someone donating out or selling at a lower price... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 hmmm i thk none can b as harrowing as mine - my experience, i saw my boy's toes lor! needless to say emergency c-sect! heng it was 530am n i reached GlenE in 20min. if its 7am peak hour, i really dunno wat wil happen sia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 On 5/12/2014 at 3:36 PM, Sosaria said: Personally, I wouldn't trust these duties to be done well by a maid... Vast majority are totally hopeless, as far as my limited experience with employing them goes. It's tough bringing up children on your own, but you will come face-to-face with your own true self when taking up these challenges. Like climbing a mountain or some such adventurous stuff. Your true character (and your wife's) will emerge under the stress. If you have to entrust your children to a maid, best to do it only when the children are capable of communicating. Visit aunty lucy more often and browsing the infant care session. Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 Ok on a more serious note try to be more understanding and giving toward your wifey. On nornal day prior prenancy once a month they tend to be adnormal. During prenancy and after labbour, be mentally prepare some woman can be adnormal anytimes any days. Well just act dump and ..dumper. All the stress and sleepless nites are worthwhile when your baby usher the first word, daddy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 Congratulations TS! I just celebrated my daughter 1st birthday last week. We went to Mt A for birth. With regard to the cost of birth, most of the hospital ward rate is almost the same, what is different is the gynae. Spent about $12k in total hospital bill as wife opt for natural birth but developed complication and have to do an crash-C sec, as baby need to be in the special natal care for 3 days, total 5 days in hospital. Nonetheless because most are paid by medisave, cash oultay is only about $5k plus. These cost does not include pre-natal check-ups and all other baby products. Parenthood can be tiring but fulfiling. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 On 5/12/2014 at 1:30 PM, Kopites said: If really want to have peace of mind I recommend pte. Every visit u will be doing the ultra scan. Government only do during trimester examination. Pte the gynae package cost around 6k plus exclude hospital and gynae delivery fee. The package include all the consultation, scan, bcg examination. Upon gynae advise there are tests u can do to monitor your baby growth. oscar, amnio or cvs, detail scanning. These are the common tests many first time mom took. Than u can also opt for the parent craft course. Is a roller coaster journey with many up and down during the prenancy. A start of life time commitment and responsibilty. Maybe one day, every one will do in-vitro fertilisation and then the "pregnancy" is monitored inside a chamber. Everything is tracked to the minute,. When the baby is ready to wake up, parents called to hospital and collect baby. The woman can go on with her life, no pregnancy, no big tummy, no extra fats, no miscarriage, no mood swing, etc.......everyone happy.... [grin] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingling 1st Gear May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 (edited) Congrats TS! Some contribution from a mummy.. :P I think at this stage now is to consider which gynae your wifey wanna use and from there you can see which hospital to deliver your baby as diff gynaes operates from diff hospitals. Next thing would be some gynaes might offer you package price say about 17 weeks onwards for normal check ups and maybe pre nat vitamins and you pay for other screenings and blood tests. At the same time, usually the admin staff from the gynae will advise you on gynae charges and hospital charges during delivery and from there you can decide what kind of room your wifey wanna stay in. Need to be mentally prepared that mode of delivery might not be what you planned for. example from normal to emergency c sect. Usually your gynae will help you to assign the PD for your kid but if you have a specific one to use also can request. I just gave birth last month in Mt A, stayed in their Single deluxe with emergency c sect with GA and baby stayed 1 extra day. Total bill about 12k but cash payment about 6k+. Mt Alvernia price range.. https://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/maternity-packages/ If you have any questions feel free to drop me a PM. Edited May 12, 2014 by Lingling Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 On 5/12/2014 at 5:10 PM, Icedbs said: Maybe one day, every one will do in-vitro fertilisation and then the "pregnancy" is monitored inside a chamber. Everything is tracked to the minute,. When the baby is ready to wake up, parents called to hospital and collect baby. The woman can go on with her life, no pregnancy, no big tummy, no extra fats, no miscarriage, no mood swing, etc.......everyone happy.... [grin] U miss out one very impt aspect. Most mother opt for natural birth and one of the reason is to yo through and feel the labour pain as to "feel" the process of motherhood. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 it's good for everyone to chip in their experience. TS, I think it's information overload for u now. too much to rem. but don't worry. most important is u must go through the first trimester swee swee. once it's over, u go on to second trimester, then u think of abt all these information. at this moment, don't even think of buying clothes and stuff, because u dont even baby gender boy or gal yet. so dont worry about it now. my experience is I take it v slowly. I wasn't in those kiasi kiasu mode, plan everything ahead, buy everything ahead. take it stage by stage. when u cross each stage, u will know when and what to prepare by then. I didn't even sign up for that pre natal courses coz we believe we can handle it by ourselves. and true enough, we managed it well. when my wife delivered and warded in TMC, they have free courses for u to attend and they teach the same stuff! so why pay for the pre natal courses?! the parent craft ppl also go ard and teach my wife abt breastfeeding. also free! in fact, we were lucky to have Mrs Wong personally teach us. one to one training and its free! then we visit the parent craft centre again and pay a small consultation fee for personal training, and we got Mrs.Wong again. think about the gynae first. if I have a second baby, I will actually prefer Mt A over Thomson medical, due to logistical reasons. Mt A has better car park. they just built new car park. v easy to park. TMC car park is horrible with the main road forever jam. I was v piss off. Mt A has a v good cafe and other food outlet. u can eat alot of stuff there. Trust me, u will appreciate this aspect when u r visit the gynae each time. because the wait to see doc is so long, u and wife will feel hungry by then. a cafe nearby is v useful. TMC sucks big time on this. they only has a small delifrance and a lousy equally small cafe. everytime we struggle with hunger and thirst, when we visit gynae. that opposite coffeeshop sucks big time and u need to cross the damm bridge. u will also appreciate good food outlets when yr wife finally delivered and u have to stay over in the ward. imagine u r staying over for 2-3 day and nights. u need food to get by..... my PD is in Mt A and I actually enjoy going there coz of food outlets. they also have better environment and good size pharmacy where u can get all the supplements and some baby stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 13, 2014 Author Share May 13, 2014 (edited) On 5/12/2014 at 8:02 PM, Donut said: it's good for everyone to chip in their experience. TS, I think it's information overload for u now. too much to rem. but don't worry. most important is u must go through the first trimester swee swee. once it's over, u go on to second trimester, then u think of abt all these information. you are right ... we actually still have a very long way to go ... and was telling my wife that i'll gather and analyze all this info abut only put them to use (when possible) on the 5th month when everything is quite stabilized ... based on performance and know-how, KKH is the best ... but the privates will give better care and attention i presume ? i am also thinking of going to TMC for the time being as its close to my flat .... and then when it come to the delivery packaging part, then opt for another hospital ... say also from the 5th month. can ? transport should be manageable ... can call cab ? Edited May 13, 2014 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kopites Supersonic May 13, 2014 Share May 13, 2014 (edited) On 5/13/2014 at 12:53 AM, Ysc3 said: you are right ... we actually still have a very long way to go ... and was telling my wife that i'll gather and analyze all this info abut only put them to use (when possible) on the 5th month when everything is quite stabilized ... based on performance and know-how, KKH is the best ... but the privates will give better care and attention i presume ? i am also thinking of going to TMC for the time being as its close to my flat .... and then when it come to the delivery packaging part, then opt for another hospital ... say also from the 5th month. can ? transport should be manageable ... can call cab ? Yes tmc parking very ex but they do give u 3 complementary per entry parking. U need to pay 3 dollar though per usage. Anyway during your wifey stay u can also park at the opp hdb carpark. I did went for the mt a and tmc tour. Eventually we like the tmc. More cosy imo. My wifey stay at the premier ward. Service was 1st class. Make my wife feel like a prinecess. Edited May 13, 2014 by Kopites Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged May 13, 2014 Author Share May 13, 2014 On 5/13/2014 at 1:32 AM, Kopites said: Yes tmc parking very ex but they do give u 3 complementary per entry parking. U need to pay 3 dollar though per usage. Anyway during your wifey stay u can also park at the opp hdb carpark. I did went for the mt a and tmc tour. Eventually we like the tmc. More cosy imo. My wifey stay at the premier ward. Service was 1st class. Make my wife feel like a prinecess. when do you go for such tours ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 13, 2014 Share May 13, 2014 On 5/13/2014 at 2:27 AM, Ysc3 said: when do you go for such tours ? Check with the hospital when they have tours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 13, 2014 Share May 13, 2014 On 5/13/2014 at 12:53 AM, Ysc3 said: you are right ... we actually still have a very long way to go ... and was telling my wife that i'll gather and analyze all this info abut only put them to use (when possible) on the 5th month when everything is quite stabilized ... based on performance and know-how, KKH is the best ... but the privates will give better care and attention i presume ? i am also thinking of going to TMC for the time being as its close to my flat .... and then when it come to the delivery packaging part, then opt for another hospital ... say also from the 5th month. can ? transport should be manageable ... can call cab ? I also suggest Mt. A. Actually TMC and Mt. A quite near to each other........so Mt. A also won't be too far from you. I don't think you can switch hospital half way cos it is a package thing? Furthermore you can't be changing gynae halfway right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged May 13, 2014 Share May 13, 2014 On 5/13/2014 at 3:14 AM, Icedbs said: I also suggest Mt. A. Actually TMC and Mt. A quite near to each other........so Mt. A also won't be too far from you. I don't think you can switch hospital half way cos it is a package thing? Furthermore you can't be changing gynae halfway right? Now package seems to be taken out from most hospital. at least KKH no longer have package. for Gynea, its your choice, although hardly got ppl switch 1/2 way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 13, 2014 Share May 13, 2014 On 5/12/2014 at 5:24 PM, Kopites said: U miss out one very impt aspect. Most mother opt for natural birth and one of the reason is to yo through and feel the labour pain as to "feel" the process of motherhood. Bro..that's how our generation of women thinks....but when it comes to future generation (as this technology, even if possible, will not be anytime soon), say 50 years from now, where most women are very independent, have better careers than men, etc....they will find pregnancy as a process that holds them back their freedom and aspirations. They want to be like men by then. It is already happening now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...