Count-Bracula Twincharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 Wah.. so many Daddies in MCF! Maybe a couple of grand daddies ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 (edited) Still early lah. Step by step you will know what to do. If you dunno your wife will know. PS: It will be your wife who decides where to give birth not you. Coz you are not the one giving birth. You can go to hospital to hospital and sign up for their "tour". LoL...Look at their suites & rooms. Edited May 12, 2014 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 It is still possible to have sex during the pregnancy .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 It is still possible to have sex during the pregnancy .... What are hands for apart from norm .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 What are hands for apart from norm .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 What are hands for apart from norm .... Hmmm....for pulling the trigger of a "water" gun ?? !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 I just came back visiting people from SGH, really got quite a number giving birth here Rich mcfer spotted Thomson still ok le my aunt gave birth there only 3-4k in class 2 No lah. Mt E doesn't really mean much more exp. The service there really good. Take the class A and the nurses there really attend to you. The most important for mums after giving birth is assistant with every little thing. When we had the 1st one, I thought just go KKH lor. Big mistake. Nurses there very fierce and will scold pple one. My wife was very unhappy. Imagine just gave birth and need someone to help but end up getting scolding. So my 2nd one I just go for the best. Big difference and only a few K different. Worth the money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahgong Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 congrats. start saving a shitload of money if you want to pamper your wife. if you want to be around your wife after she deliver, go for private wards. the nurses are quite bitchy if you go for B class and want to stay a little later after visiting hours to be with your wife and newborn. once you decided on a gynae, go for package if possible. it is slightly cheaper and you dun have to worry too much about consultation fees as it is included in the package. only the blood test or additional urine test needs to pay. much friendlier on the pocket. use your credit card with the best rebates for the payments. trust me, the blood spraying will go into the thousands. any rebate you can claw back, is a dollar saved. start looking out for pre-natal classes if you can. it is really helpful. if you are the super kiasu/kiasee parent, start shopping for childcare liow. cos the frigging waiting time is averaging 2 years for enrolment, especially if you require infant care. for best bargains on baby stuff, taka June sales is good. those motherhood fairs at every quarter are also useful places for bargain hunts. oh yes... sing to the baby every night if possible.after baby is born, your singing voice will calm the baby on may occassions when the baby is crying. (this one must really thank my wife for being super insistent on me singing to her bulging tummy every night before we sleep~!) question: 1) who will do confinement for you after deliver? 2) your wife plan to do massage after deliver? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 No lah. Mt E doesn't really mean much more exp. The service there really good. Take the class A and the nurses there really attend to you. The most important for mums after giving birth is assistant with every little thing. When we had the 1st one, I thought just go KKH lor. Big mistake. Nurses there very fierce and will scold pple one. My wife was very unhappy. Imagine just gave birth and need someone to help but end up getting scolding. So my 2nd one I just go for the best. Big difference and only a few K different. Worth the money. haha true even my aunt who gave birth in Thomson got good service for her 2nd and 3rd child unlike 1st child in NUH congrats. start saving a shitload of money if you want to pamper your wife. if you want to be around your wife after she deliver, go for private wards. the nurses are quite bitchy if you go for B class and want to stay a little later after visiting hours to be with your wife and newborn. once you decided on a gynae, go for package if possible. it is slightly cheaper and you dun have to worry too much about consultation fees as it is included in the package. only the blood test or additional urine test needs to pay. much friendlier on the pocket. use your credit card with the best rebates for the payments. trust me, the blood spraying will go into the thousands. any rebate you can claw back, is a dollar saved. start looking out for pre-natal classes if you can. it is really helpful. if you are the super kiasu/kiasee parent, start shopping for childcare liow. cos the frigging waiting time is averaging 2 years for enrolment, especially if you require infant care. for best bargains on baby stuff, taka June sales is good. those motherhood fairs at every quarter are also useful places for bargain hunts. oh yes... sing to the baby every night if possible. after baby is born, your singing voice will calm the baby on may occassions when the baby is crying. (this one must really thank my wife for being super insistent on me singing to her bulging tummy every night before we sleep~!) question: 1) who will do confinement for you after deliver? 2) your wife plan to do massage after deliver? wah baby can be so troublesome ah? lol think for childcare shopping wait until 6th month la then shop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 (edited) congrats. start saving a shitload of money if you want to pamper your wife. if you want to be around your wife after she deliver, go for private wards. the nurses are quite bitchy if you go for B class and want to stay a little later after visiting hours to be with your wife and newborn. can opt for 2-bedder if it is a 'low season', basically you still get a room to yourself, best the husband can 'rent' the next bed if he wants to stay in. I did that at Gleneagles, too bad i was busy and rushing my last assignment paper the night before she deliver but i get to stay next to her Edited May 12, 2014 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 anyone recently had a child ? Instead of looking at motherhood forums, I think that since it's the guy that foots the bill' its more appropriate to ask the dads here. so how does it go ? what does one do after pregnancy is confirmed ? (went to Thomson Medical for a confirmation scan.) what will happen or what should one do in the forth coming months ? when to make appointment at hospital for delivery ? I am looking at SGH. last but not least, how much $$ to put aside ?? pls don't refer me to the website(been there) ... coz I would appreciate real life experiences instead. Ok, i was being summoned to come in here. based on my recent experience. Baby is now 7 months old and delivered in Thomson medical too. Gynae was also from there. so yr wife met a gynae there already? do you intend to stick to this gynae or want to change? once the gynae confirmed the pregnancy, he/she will actually schedule the rest of the visits. Why SGH? is it better? i dunno. but i had a friend who delivered in SGH. If you need recommendation for gynae, PM me. do u prefer male or female gynae? In terms of $$, i can tell you its not cheap. and this applies to all hospitals, including KKH. It all depends on your affordability. I think in KK, u can get cheaper. you need to check their website. Natural birth or C section, there is a cost difference. C section costs more. Every gynae visit, it cost me $200+ on average. If you need to be a detailed scan (OSCAR) or some other scans, it can cost $400+ up to $2000. But it depends on your wife's situation, not everyone needs to do OSCAR or other detailed scans. Medicine is cheap. its the consultation fee and ultra-scan that are expensive. First Trimester is nothing. Gynae will schedule routine scans and checkups. The reason is first trimester is most critical. Most, if not all, miscarriages happen in first trimester. So gynae will tell yr wife to rest well, don't get stressed up, don't carry heavy stuff, eat proper and sleep well. It's only from 2nd trimester, then you will see gynae more regularly. You can claim Medisave, but up to certain % only. You need to sit down and work out your budget. If wan cheaper, try KKH. For me, wifey can claim everything 100% from company. so it doesn't affect us at all. But the bill came up to 5 figure at the end. Let me know if u have more questions. i will give as much info as possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 Put aside 15k and don't expect change... Further top-ups might even be required... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 TS, happy fathers day! 1) Find a good gynae (browse through the forums for recommendations), if you want I can recommend you mine (male gynae). He is good! The gynae will determine the place where your baby will be delivered. Some gynaes may have clinic at 1 hospital but they actually travel to other hospital for deliveries. BUT I would recommend you to choose the hospital where the gynae's clinic is at. For instance, if your gynae has clinic at TMC but he does deliveries at TMC and Mt Alvernia, choose to deliver at TMC. Cos in case of emergency, the gynae can quickly "abandon" his clinic and rush to the delivery suite to attend to your wife. Different gynaes also charged different price for delivering. My wife's colleague gynae only charged $600 for normal delivery but mine charged $1k for normal delivery, both at the same hospital. 2) Sign up for the pre-natal check up package if there is. Cos it works out to be cheaper. 3) Sign up for the Childbirth Education Course conducted by Wong Boh Boi so you won't kalang kabok when the time comes http://www.thomsonmedical.com/childbirth-education-course-2/ 4) Find a pediatrician so he can come and give your baby a thorough check. Gynae only takes care of your wife, not your baby. Peds will take care of your baby. 5) Find a good confinement lady once pregnancy is confirmed. Cos the good ones are booked pretty soon. If your confinement lady is from malaysia, you can call and book her first. They will usually come in after that and collect a downpayment like a few hundreds to comfirm your booking. You have to work on trust here. So recommendation is very important. Source for this from your friends or forums. There are local companies that supply confinement lady too. 6) Start to go to baby fairs when your wife is still mobile to buy baby stuff. You may get good bargains sometimes. If not, you can visit Cheong Choon (http://www.cheongchoon.com/) at Upper Cross St to get all that you need. But do check out amazon for better deals. Do not buy diapers and milk powders in bulk before your baby is born. You must trial and error these 2 things before you can decide which brand suits your baby. After you confirm the brands suitable, then you can buy in bulk at the fairs. Remember to sterilise the milk bottles and necessary stuff (like containers to store the breast milk, breast milk pump accessory etc) before your newborn is home. 7) Prepare a bag with necessities for your wife - Clothes for going home - Sanitary pads - Round swimming float for sitting - Jacket for yourself if you are sleeping over - Clothes for your newborn, complete with mittens 8) Buy a convertible seat and put it in your car. This is for your baby to go home in. 9) Think of a name for you baby. So you can file for birth certification and open the CDA account with OCBC or Stanchart when you have time at the hospital. If not you will have to find time to do it within 2 weeks. 10) Prepare to pay $4k and above for the delivery in private hospital.(for single wards) I wanted to praise u but can't cos need wait.Any gynae sure better than Dr Lee hahaActually KKH class A heard is very good.Maybe bring your wife there for a tour and heard from the nurse better.TMC not cheap now.Mine 1st I pay less than 1k cash and 2nd pay less than 2.5k cash.Both class 2, gynae only Mt av or TMC.Heard now more cash involve. Wah yours so ex? Mine about 9k after medisave. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 TS, happy fathers day! 1) Find a good gynae (browse through the forums for recommendations), if you want I can recommend you mine (male gynae). He is good! The gynae will determine the place where your baby will be delivered. Some gynaes may have clinic at 1 hospital but they actually travel to other hospital for deliveries. BUT I would recommend you to choose the hospital where the gynae's clinic is at. For instance, if your gynae has clinic at TMC but he does deliveries at TMC and Mt Alvernia, choose to deliver at TMC. Cos in case of emergency, the gynae can quickly "abandon" his clinic and rush to the delivery suite to attend to your wife. Different gynaes also charged different price for delivering. My wife's colleague gynae only charged $600 for normal delivery but mine charged $1k for normal delivery, both at the same hospital. 2) Sign up for the pre-natal check up package if there is. Cos it works out to be cheaper. 3) Sign up for the Childbirth Education Course conducted by Wong Boh Boi so you won't kalang kabok when the time comes http://www.thomsonmedical.com/childbirth-education-course-2/ 4) Find a pediatrician so he can come and give your baby a thorough check. Gynae only takes care of your wife, not your baby. Peds will take care of your baby. 5) Find a good confinement lady once pregnancy is confirmed. Cos the good ones are booked pretty soon. If your confinement lady is from malaysia, you can call and book her first. They will usually come in after that and collect a downpayment like a few hundreds to comfirm your booking. You have to work on trust here. So recommendation is very important. Source for this from your friends or forums. There are local companies that supply confinement lady too. 6) Start to go to baby fairs when your wife is still mobile to buy baby stuff. You may get good bargains sometimes. If not, you can visit Cheong Choon (http://www.cheongchoon.com/) at Upper Cross St to get all that you need. But do check out amazon for better deals. Do not buy diapers and milk powders in bulk before your baby is born. You must trial and error these 2 things before you can decide which brand suits your baby. After you confirm the brands suitable, then you can buy in bulk at the fairs. Remember to sterilise the milk bottles and necessary stuff (like containers to store the breast milk, breast milk pump accessory etc) before your newborn is home. 7) Prepare a bag with necessities for your wife - Clothes for going home - Sanitary pads - Round swimming float for sitting - Jacket for yourself if you are sleeping over - Clothes for your newborn, complete with mittens 8) Buy a convertible seat and put it in your car. This is for your baby to go home in. 9) Think of a name for you baby. So you can file for birth certification and open the CDA account with OCBC or Stanchart when you have time at the hospital. If not you will have to find time to do it within 2 weeks. 10) Prepare to pay $4k and above for the delivery in private hospital.(for single wards) mcf now become flowerpot forum 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 so how does it go ? what does one do after pregnancy is confirmed ? (went to Thomson Medical for a confirmation scan.) - look for a Gynae (best is recommended by friends/relatives with good reviews). A Gynae that could make your wife comfortable is most important, as she would feel relax being taken care of. Don't select a Gynae out of convenience of location, or pricing. - go shopping for maternity clothes for your wife - go shopping for baby clothes, baby pram, baby car seat (if you drive), baby bed/cot and some baby toys. Do this after you know the gender of your baby, so you can buy the correct colour. - go find confinement lady (make sure the lady cooks your meal as well, not just confinement food for your wife). If not hiring confinement lady then prepare to order confinement food.... - prepare a room for your baby. You can do this after knowing the gender of your baby - buy/borrow a book about "how to handle baby", read it before the baby is born, and you be ready to be a DADDY !! what will happen or what should one do in the forth coming months ? - live life normally except that your wife cannot carry heavy stuff, especially hang clothes out to dry (if you stay in HDB flat). She must also walk carefully and not fall...no more high heel shoes. - your wife may be hungry suddenly, so be prepared to go out to tabao food even in the middle of the night !! when to make appointment at hospital for delivery ? I am looking at SGH. - the hospital for delivery actually depends on which hospital your appointed Gynae is attached to. Some Gynae only goes KKH and SGH and not others, for example. So if you really want SGH, make sure your Gynae is ready to do the delivery there. last but not least, how much $$ to put aside ?? - this one let other bros who had baby recently to advise. But not to worry too much cos there is a baby bonus to claim from the government (if your child is registered as Singapore Citizen) and this amount will offset some of your delivery cost. Congrads to you !! Here are my answers....as far as I can recall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 http://www.moh.gov.sg/content/moh_web/home/costs_and_financing/HospitalBillSize/delivery_normal.html I found this page in KKH website. Useful information Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
L_club23 4th Gear May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 mcf now become flowerpot forum All of you must do something manly after posting in this thread... Like wrestle wild bears or something... where's that Bavarian? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 Err... my last baby was in 2010... but never have to use till $15k... Both of my children were born in Mt A... First, decide on the hosp of your choice... (SGH, Mt A, TMC, At E etc) Second, based on your chosen hosp choose the gynae who can operate from it... Third, understand the cost of the gynae, e.g. any package offered some comes with hosp room Fourth, if not then choose the room type and understand the cost from hosp admin Fifth, DON'T BUY TOO MANY DIAPERS YET cos the size / weight of the baby may not be accurate (outgrow NB diapers within a week) Ok last but not least, enjoy the joy of being a father... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...