Iceland : Has anybody driven in Iceland before?

Boringchap

On 3/19/2023 at 9:44 PM, RadX said:

@Mustank fav. Spouting geyser. Every 5-10mins

hv the slow mo but size

limit liao

8C85CB36-09F6-4A6E-94A8-F76C808C93E2.jpeg

Hahaha I never go so far before 

No money lah 

but go winter, prefer Hokkaido 

angmo food really buay jiak

On 3/19/2023 at 9:44 PM, RadX said:

@Mustank fav. Spouting geyser. Every 5-10mins

hv the slow mo but size

limit liao

8C85CB36-09F6-4A6E-94A8-F76C808C93E2.jpeg

Wow! Nice... how many days? Sian or not? Seems like get to see the same type of lunar arctic landscape every day? This was winter I guess? In March? Or is it considered Spring already?

On 3/20/2023 at 7:59 AM, teomingern said:

Wow! Nice... how many days? Sian or not? Seems like get to see the same type of lunar arctic landscape every day? This was winter I guess? In March? Or is it considered Spring already?

Still winter nearing the end but a winter like never before with major freezing of lakes, streams etc

On 3/20/2023 at 4:11 PM, RadX said:

Still winter nearing the end but a winter like never before with major freezing of lakes, streams etc

Sounds like some Armageddon dystopian future... hehe!

On 3/20/2023 at 9:59 AM, teomingern said:

Sounds like some Armageddon dystopian future... hehe!

I also say man… these are end times🪦

On 3/20/2023 at 4:11 PM, RadX said:

I thought weather is warmer across whole Europe for this year..

On 3/21/2023 at 9:55 AM, Tohto said:

I thought weather is warmer across whole Europe for this year..

you say leh.... freezing in mid Feb...and we thot another 2 weeks and Spring will start....:TT_TT:

EMHJ2775[1].JPG

HLJK1192[1].JPG

On 3/21/2023 at 10:12 AM, Spidey10 said:

you say leh.... freezing in mid Feb...and we thot another 2 weeks and Spring will start....:TT_TT:

EMHJ2775[1].JPG

HLJK1192[1].JPG

My daugther in NYC and she said sakura already started blooming in some part of the NYC Central park due to warm winter this year. About 2 weeks earlier than norm.

On 3/21/2023 at 10:29 AM, Tohto said:

My daugther in NYC and she said sakura already started blooming in some part of the NYC Central park due to warm winter this year. About 2 weeks earlier than norm.

Trees are confused on the weather change. 

Yeah Japan also bloom early this year... but I guess it's like that... global warming causes more extreme weather so winter can be much colder and longer than normal just like summer is hotter and longer than normal... more swings between extremes with shorter calm and milder periods...

Any recommend car rental in Iceland? Is manual or auto better? Is the road slippy..

Planning to go next year feb after cny, direct flight to Helsinki and spend a few days there before fly to Iceland

Does a round island trip worth it, hope able to see the northern light

On 8/14/2023 at 10:05 AM, denser said:

Any recommend car rental in Iceland? Is manual or auto better? Is the road slippy..

Planning to go next year feb after cny, direct flight to Helsinki and spend a few days there before fly to Iceland

Does a round island trip worth it, hope able to see the northern light

That's the height of winter, have you driven before in such conditions?

Used chains?

Most rentals are ok and if you have not driven a manual in while, now's not the time to begin..

Beware of flight cancellations and also join tours that have guides that know where to see the lights... its not guaranteed

You may be up the whole night so you'll need to rest the next day - avoid the Singapore refugee style travel style..

On 8/14/2023 at 10:08 AM, therock said:

That's the height of winter, have you driven before in such conditions?

Used chains?

Most rentals are ok and if you have not driven a manual in while, now's not the time to begin..

Beware of flight cancellations and also join tours that have guides that know where to see the lights... its not guaranteed

You may be up the whole night so you'll need to rest the next day - avoid the Singapore refugee style travel style..

Still thinking whether going Finland or other places, some said Finland and Iceland almost the same, may not stay in Helsinki instead fly to Rovaniemi (Lapland)

5 days in Finland, stay at Igloo, husky ride, visit santa village

10 days in Iceland, self-drive from Reykjavik to Akureyri

On 8/17/2023 at 9:52 AM, denser said:

Still thinking whether going Finland or other places, some said Finland and Iceland almost the same, may not stay in Helsinki instead fly to Rovaniemi (Lapland)

5 days in Finland, stay at Igloo, husky ride, visit santa village

10 days in Iceland, self-drive from Reykjavik to Akureyri

go both....won't regret ler