Super7 Turbocharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 穿帮了 LOL..... correction hor:- wolf in sheep skin exposed ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Philipkee Twincharged May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 Correct me if I am wrong but all police officers (not apos) have to recite the national pledge before they can work? So maybe new citizens la and not foreign pr or plain foreigners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 But the top posts will still be held by you know who, right? and the top posts take the biggest chunks of money in the budget for salaries for those in the parliment. at least less budget for minister pay and more budget for their bonuses Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear May 4, 2014 Share May 4, 2014 why don't they go Nepal and recruit more Gurkha? 1000 only. not difficult right? I believe many will put THUMBS UP and welcome them. Too expensive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Correct me if I am wrong but all police officers (not apos) have to recite the national pledge before they can work? So maybe new citizens la and not foreign pr or plain foreigners. One persone read, the others just follow reciting, not difficult. Moreover so many ppl around, probably just open mouth and wayang. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Myxilplix Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 How to recite national pledge if they are not part of the "We, the Citizens of Singapore"? First line already picha lobang, meaningless liao. Might as well sing justin bieber song instead, maybe will have more feeling. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 SPF can't get enough locals to take on the job. If foreigners are not accepted, then what are the alternative solutions? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 SPF can't get enough locals to take on the job. If foreigners are not accepted, then what are the alternative solutions? The gov has it good for so many yrs depending on young men to protect and defend the country for a miserable pay that is NS. Its right time the gov realise that this services are necessary and put things right. KNS....work long hours and pay less than 1k. Other country dont resort to employing cheap labour for its police and armed forces and here we have people putting up the idea! If they can jolliwell pay themselves million in the name of progress why cant they up the ante for those who protects and defends us! Not asking this services to be paid millions....but something worth the effort and sacrifices! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Dont forget to hire those working in geylang.... This would be a special task (anti-vice) force. Would you be noble enough to be their commander and lead them ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 How about this:- start NS for females and deploy them as matas!! I will promise to visit neighborhood police posts for chit chats very often to keep them company!! No need so troublesome. Just call 999 and report some unusual happenings in your block, and get them to send 2 female cops over to check! Then you "assist" them in the "unusual checking".... Put your objection into action: start a group buy for car stickers "Say NO to Imported Matas"!! I sure support you and buy the sticker. Or we could phrase it another way like "Say Yes To Imported AV Girls As Our Matas" !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Too expensive? where got expensive. Just raise the construction workers levy by a few percentage point, pay salary to 2000 gurkhas also no problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Author Share May 5, 2014 SPF can't get enough locals to take on the job. If foreigners are not accepted, then what are the alternative solutions? Locals dun want to be construction workers or garbage collectors I believe... No locals want to be mata? I dun believe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 Locals dun want to be construction workers or garbage collectors I believe... No locals want to be mata? I dun believe... maybe they just want easy job like walking along orchard road or issue summon, but not to fight ah long, illegal migrant or drug lord, worse if facing rioter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 The gov has it good for so many yrs depending on young men to protect and defend the country for a miserable pay that is NS. Its right time the gov realise that this services are necessary and put things right. KNS....work long hours and pay less than 1k. Other country dont resort to employing cheap labour for its police and armed forces and here we have people putting up the idea! If they can jolliwell pay themselves million in the name of progress why cant they up the ante for those who protects and defends us! Not asking this services to be paid millions....but something worth the effort and sacrifices! Let's try to put it in another way....the half-way scorecard shows gahment mishandled the FT policy... so much unhappiness and friction already created.. and now we are contemplating ARMING THEM (due to cost)... looks like recipe for a big big disaster... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 maybe they just want easy job like walking along orchard road or issue summon, but not to fight ah long, illegal migrant or drug lord, worse if facing rioter rioters not so bad wor...my friend was serving ns in SPF....struggled with a known druggie and dealer and the offender tried to go for my friend's revolver....scary sia! It happened in Geylang back in the late 80s! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 We already entrust our household/families/kids with our foreign domestic workers. They are already a substantial contributor to our workforce. Let's not belittle their efforts and contribution to the nation. The issue is really about the lack of citizens keen to work in public security. Increasing the pay is one proposal. 1.8K is deemed too little, so will 3K a month attract the 1000 additional policemen required? We have to bear in mind the qualifying critieria to be a policeman. Will 3K a month attract 1000 QUALIFIED locals? Also, locals are a fixed resource. If all locals work for the SPF, the private sector will be deprived of 1000 locals, and with the already tight local/foreigner worker ratios, the implications are huge. Wages across the local economy will jump significantly. This is inflationary! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 (edited) It all boils down to the (flawed) immigration policy. Even after importing enough foreigners to make up 6.9m figures, we will still be short of labour/facing labour crunch. It will be even worse 'cos we need more maids, workers to build houses, maintain streets and buildings, more polis, more this, more that........ So how? Import more? Edited May 5, 2014 by Kangadrool 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 I am sure SPF will still able to recruit our locals for the job. Policeman still a very highly regarded occupation. Anyway, don't think they require so many ppl, right? They already closed down and keep the office hours short at some NPP, etc. And with the decentralised on the gathering of the foreign workers (with building of more Foreign Workers Recreational Centres), they don't need so many on patrol at Little India or Chinatown or Geyland. But no matter what, the above should not be an excuse to recruit foreigners as our mata. We need to retain our core critical function with our own local ppl. If not, in event of crisis, these ppl whom we depend on to prevent rioting, would probably be the first one to run away. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...