SPF ponders hiring foreigners?

Scion

this one sibei true ... scholar

dont forget those PRC student are top in the school- it is a matter of time they will dominate all in the government sector- maybe start from police and then to other areas. maybe next decade more of their PRC children will take over our local

I am sad and disappointed of this suggestion, and if implemented, I am more worried and dismay in how our garmen can govern our country.

If the above happen, I know what I should do when 2015/2016 comes !

I think is not a suggestion, but a question posed by public during a forum.

Dude, rojak country , we already was, is and will be.

But rojak doesnt mean foreigners and foreigners doesnt mean rojak.

Our forefathers were all from different backgrounds, countries but the understanding and goals were common and they were here to stay, thats what keeps the purity in the rojak.

We need to be very sensitive and tender with these nationalistic issues.

For me, i dont care if you are indian, malay, chinese, eurasian, ang moh, arabian, latin etc but if you are here for keeps and care for this little red dot and your fellow men, then you are a True Singaporean.

their time where have sing 5 star red flag... read chairman mao little red book... ideal of nationalism...

err ... i thought normal police officer already got many PR ... many are msians [thumbsup]

sooner or later many prc and indian PR may also take up police job if good money good benefits

I'm fully supportive of SPF hiring foreigners to take over the roles of Traffic Police as well as Cisco Parking Summon aunties. These foreigners will sure make good money and extra incomes from..... :D Just like our neighboring countries......

$1800 is really too low to attract locals.

Firstly, if one started as police officer and 2 years on wanna quit, who will engage him?

Secondly, pay high to prevent corruption?

Someone quoted "How businessman look at us when we are not paid equally".

Next time when police officer and common folks have dispute, just say, how much u earn and how much I earn?

Who wants his job?

Third, if SPF forces have special grants in other ways, AWARE will kick in.

Haiz.

dont forget those PRC student are top in the school- it is a matter of time they will dominate all in the government sector- maybe start from police and then to other areas. maybe next decade more of their PRC children will take over our local

To be fair.. these are the ones we want to attract... not those mediocre ones that graduate with 2nd class and lower and using taxpayers money... our own local PSC not so easy to get-in.. funny....

The civil service has a lot of PR from the north and most are Div 1 officers! Some of them will take up our citizenship but most will sit on the fence. This present MIW has lost the plot and should they still remain after the nx GE it will spell disaster for the common Singaporean. Maybe the gov realy want us to migrate and replace us with fts. Maybe these fts are cheaper, can worked longer hr and will most probably be thankful to the gov for the chance to work and live here. Come nx GE if they are still having a majority in Parliament.....be prepared to run road!

actually they should increase the ratio of NS men to SPF and do some career talk to encourage them to sign on.

Every job sure got takers as long as the pay is fair, and as for law enforcers, they should be paid better.

The problem is we squeeze pay of the masses and reward the few on top making way for FTs to come in and fill in these jobs then blame the citizens for being choosy.

Edited by Tigerwoods

What? Police officer only earns $1.8k a month?

This is not in line with our national doctrine that you need to pay huge salary to prevent corruption.

that only applies to erite only.

I think 2015 erection the driver will be seated in center and there will be right and left Co-driver to slap the driver.

the passengers behind also take turns knock his head..

kaoz... wu ya boh?

next time will see a PRC/pinoy mata arresting a local?? [:|]

i strongly object

No big uproar from the general population, they'll proceed with full force. Within the next few months, you see these foreign policeman on the streets.

When there's a big uproar, they'll say they're misquoted, it was just a open conversation with the students talking about their future ... etc.

Nothing new.

Somehow the open door foreign policy gives me the impression that the pappies know there is a very high possibility they'll lose the election and somehow creating all the mess for the new incoming government to clean up.

Might as well also outsource SAF.

They already outsourced one portion to the Gurkhas.

last year lim peh, true blue Singaporean with PES A and IPPT (gold in NS, silver in ICTs), applied for senior police officer twice.... tio rejected

now they ponder hiring foreigners as mata

read liao damn hot

bcz your body and arms got Ang Kong ?

u think cockroaches are as loyal as Gurka?

Cockroaches will bring their whole family here. Piak piak here and there (STB video).

Become PR, Buy house. Work for 10 - 15yrs. After that, quit Singapore and go back as king.

That brings us back to the colonial days.

Have to standby married quarters for these FTs and their families.

i got a friend who sign on with the SPF. All in all, from his application to acceptance, the whole process took 6 months.

i really wonder if they are really that hard up.

All the policies are somehow interconnected and going down to the root - it's the immigration policy.

When you have an open door immigration policy without control and proper planning - public transport is overloaded. Housing demand goes up. Demand for educational slots in schools/polytechnics/universities.

And now with the sudden explosive growth of population, the ratio of policeman vs civilians increases. Coupled with the low pay and higher education, who wants to join the force?

If the intake is moderated and at a slower pace, probably all these would not have happened.

When was that? Now really hard up cause the mata said needs 1000 more mata in order to patrol little India and geylang. U never follow the inquiry into little India riot?

Didn't someone ever mentioned that technology can be used to make up for the low numbers of mata by installing cameras everywhere?

Looks like now that person is slapping himself in the face now by asking for 1000 more mata.

I wonder how effective having the cameras are. The one behind the screen can see a snatch theft going on, but would not be able to apprehend immediately. So, it's still a loss to the victim and another statistics of crime.

1) Why are Gurkhas sent back when their contract expired? This should changed. I can accept a gurkha who is here for 15-20 yrs patrolling my neighborhood as normal policeman.

2) my interpretation from the article -> society has decided....a selected society <_<

Gurkhas are a very well controlled force.

They are confined into their living environment at Mount Vernon Camp and hardly interacted with the local population, hence they maintain a very high standard of neutrality if conflicts ever broke out and they are called in.

Let's not even discuss this neutrality of the FT police force. Even locals within the force are already taking sides against each other (aka politics).

Just wondering if they watched the Channel 5 Mata Mata.

Maybe they got the idea from there?

FT inspector, ASP, etc.

Locals are the running man, and have to listen to the FT inspector.

WTH ?!

This is stupid and just another cheap easy solution that they could only think of.

How about getting those who resigned and wanted to go back to the force return? You have no idea how freaking difficult that stupid process is.

I suggest they relook at how to retain existing police officers and why are they leaving rather than coming out with a cheap fix.!