Evillusion Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 We already entrust our household/families/kids with our foreign domestic workers. They are already a substantial contributor to our workforce. Let's not belittle their efforts and contribution to the nation. The issue is really about the lack of citizens keen to work in public security. Increasing the pay is one proposal. 1.8K is deemed too little, so will 3K a month attract the 1000 additional policemen required? We have to bear in mind the qualifying critieria to be a policeman. Will 3K a month attract 1000 QUALIFIED locals? Also, locals are a fixed resource. If all locals work for the SPF, the private sector will be deprived of 1000 locals, and with the already tight local/foreigner worker ratios, the implications are huge. Wages across the local economy will jump significantly. This is inflationary! 1.8 for Dip holders.....O n N levels holders starts lower that is if they are accepted into the force! U think this lesser qualified youngsters wont take it up if their pay starts at 1.8? Has the starting pay for this post caught up with inflation?20 yrs ago...it was about 1.2 for an O levels holder and it barely increased 20 yrs later! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 We already entrust our household/families/kids with our foreign domestic workers. They are already a substantial contributor to our workforce. Let's not belittle their efforts and contribution to the nation. The issue is really about the lack of citizens keen to work in public security. Increasing the pay is one proposal. 1.8K is deemed too little, so will 3K a month attract the 1000 additional policemen required? We have to bear in mind the qualifying critieria to be a policeman. Will 3K a month attract 1000 QUALIFIED locals? Also, locals are a fixed resource. If all locals work for the SPF, the private sector will be deprived of 1000 locals, and with the already tight local/foreigner worker ratios, the implications are huge. Wages across the local economy will jump significantly. This is inflationary! So our world most highly paid gahment did not think of all these loh.... just import and import and import... also there are differentiation between FW (as you quote foreign domestic workers) and FT (which recently mostly are sub-par and displacing locals PMET) LASTLY... no need genius to know... 2 things that definitely untouchable 1) POLITICS 2)NATIONAL SECURITY (which they are starting to mess around)... Let's not forget our FT policy gating has failed terribly... and the countries these FT are from are not really saints (can't blame them too... coz they are brought up in a dog eat dog environment) ... cannot contemplate what will happen once they are in SPF (we can reference their home countries police force as a benchmark, even their own pple distrust them!!!!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 lucky i never vote for PAP. those that voted, i blame you. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 ok lar...pinoy xmm oso can but i hope they dont open their mouth. Once they open mouth i will luff like no tomorrow! Their accent very irritating wan...either puke or luff! Sori mum...sori sirrr! Licence please! aiyoh....one decal 5bhp....nb...like that illegal mod liao! knn. pinoy xmm don't open mouth then how am i supposed to put my cock in? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 1.8 for Dip holders.....O n N levels holders starts lower that is if they are accepted into the force! U think this lesser qualified youngsters wont take it up if their pay starts at 1.8? Has the starting pay for this post caught up with inflation?20 yrs ago...it was about 1.2 for an O levels holder and it barely increased 20 yrs later! When it comes to wages, inflation doesn't count... at least not to the people at the bottom. The top will continue to increase their own wages to be higher than inflation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Neost 6th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 I am in no position to comment if the starting pay for mata nowadays is reasonable or not. They may be grossly under-paid given the kind of work they do and the hours they have to put in during the course of their work. They are not like typical civil servant working in office. Times up, off PC, packed up, go home. They are like our civil defence personnel. Fire fighters cannot fight fire half way and pull their hoses and fire engines back to station because is time to change shift. So, I think mata also the same....you can't abandon your duty half way thru. Hence, the hours put in could be erratic and long. One way to solve this could expand the volunteer cops scheme. Instead of paying just allowance, why not pay the volunteer cops close to hourly market rate and allows older Singaporean to join in as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 1.8 for Dip holders.....O n N levels holders starts lower that is if they are accepted into the force! U think this lesser qualified youngsters wont take it up if their pay starts at 1.8? Has the starting pay for this post caught up with inflation?20 yrs ago...it was about 1.2 for an O levels holder and it barely increased 20 yrs later! The entry salaries of our officers depend on their educational qualifications. Newly appointed Senior Police Officers would enjoy retirement benefits with the introduction of the new INVEST plan. Under the plan, the officers would receive an additional monthly contributions of 11.75% of their monthly gross salary into their INVEST Retirement Account. This contribution will start from the 1st year of service and will increase to 17.75% on promotion to the superscale grades. A lump-sum payout will be made on retirement. Entry Appointment Gross Monthly Salary Assistant Superintendent of Police $3,710.00 - $4,470.00 Inspector of Police $3,180.00 - $4,010.00 not that bad leh. fresh grad already 3+ without NS and hons. good hons with NS easily 4k. how many can get this pay for fresh grad in the pte sector. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 This is a good idea. They can get an array of PRC, ABNN, roach, Charlies and so on, like a UN peacekeeping force here. Who can have a better in understanding and dealing with their own kind. Also understand that roach polis are paid like $300/mth back home; cheap. Especially more so now after the not so excellent showing by locals in recent riots. Outsources the work, can outsource the blame too. Another eg of money well spent on polis scholars to come out with this brilliant idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 The entry salaries of our officers depend on their educational qualifications. Newly appointed Senior Police Officers would enjoy retirement benefits with the introduction of the new INVEST plan. Under the plan, the officers would receive an additional monthly contributions of 11.75% of their monthly gross salary into their INVEST Retirement Account. This contribution will start from the 1st year of service and will increase to 17.75% on promotion to the superscale grades. A lump-sum payout will be made on retirement. Entry Appointment Gross Monthly SalaryAssistant Superintendent of Police$3,710.00 - $4,470.00Inspector of Police$3,180.00 - $4,010.00 not that bad leh. fresh grad already 3+ without NS and hons. good hons with NS easily 4k. how many can get this pay for fresh grad in the pte sector. senior officer must go out chase after illegal cig seller or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 senior officer must go out chase after illegal cig seller or not? by right yes lah. even col also need to go outfield exercise right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 The entry salaries of our officers depend on their educational qualifications. Newly appointed Senior Police Officers would enjoy retirement benefits with the introduction of the new INVEST plan. Under the plan, the officers would receive an additional monthly contributions of 11.75% of their monthly gross salary into their INVEST Retirement Account. This contribution will start from the 1st year of service and will increase to 17.75% on promotion to the superscale grades. A lump-sum payout will be made on retirement. Entry Appointment Gross Monthly SalaryAssistant Superintendent of Police$3,710.00 - $4,470.00Inspector of Police$3,180.00 - $4,010.00 not that bad leh. fresh grad already 3+ without NS and hons. good hons with NS easily 4k. how many can get this pay for fresh grad in the pte sector. I don't think the problem is finding this level of officers. The problem is finding those below them........basically those who need to walk the street, chase gangsters and settle disputes between unhappy neighours. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 The entry salaries of our officers depend on their educational qualifications. Newly appointed Senior Police Officers would enjoy retirement benefits with the introduction of the new INVEST plan. Under the plan, the officers would receive an additional monthly contributions of 11.75% of their monthly gross salary into their INVEST Retirement Account. This contribution will start from the 1st year of service and will increase to 17.75% on promotion to the superscale grades. A lump-sum payout will be made on retirement. Entry Appointment Gross Monthly Salary Assistant Superintendent of Police $3,710.00 - $4,470.00 Inspector of Police $3,180.00 - $4,010.00 not that bad leh. fresh grad already 3+ without NS and hons. good hons with NS easily 4k. how many can get this pay for fresh grad in the pte sector. you arrr! we talking about o and n level holdes lei...the very men and women who have to do the dirty work! Not those that stay inside ofis most of the time! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 I don't think the problem is finding this level of officers. The problem is finding those below them........basically those who need to walk the street, chase gangsters and settle disputes between unhappy neighours. True to an extend also. If I work as mata, I also want to be ASP and hide inside the neighbourhood police post Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 you arrr! we talking about o and n level holdes lei...the very men and women who have to do the dirty work! Not those that stay inside ofis most of the time! study harder lah! nowadays most crimes are white collar in nature. brawn isn't everything. if just need brawn then i rather they just get gurkhas than pinoys or ah tiongs matas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 or maybe govt should consider putting more NSF to Mata dept instead of the army. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 or maybe govt should consider putting more NSF to Mata dept instead of the army. Got use meh? Will be just fishing in the same pond. Then NS will have less cheap labour for NDP ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 (edited) How to recite national pledge if they are not part of the "We, the "Working" Citizens of Singapore"? First line already picha lobang, meaningless liao. Might as well sing justin bieber song instead, maybe will have more feeling. Here let me help ... They are here as 'working' citizen not born citizen .... Edited May 5, 2014 by Picnic06 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic May 5, 2014 Share May 5, 2014 study harder lah! nowadays most crimes are white collar in nature. brawn isn't everything. if just need brawn then i rather they just get gurkhas than pinoys or ah tiongs matas. if every singaporean study hard...then all become managers, ASP, Lieutenant and Politician! U sure we are that big enuff to have 3 millions PMEs? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...